We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel from the 13th of december untill the 16th..beautiful room as stayed in the Cord Suite..breakfast was nice although could be better by having a wider variety of foods..had room service which was a brilliant service..staff very friendly and helpful about how to get round the city from the bus stop outside the hotel..overall 10/10 for everything

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    494
    91
    27
    21
See reviews for
97
434
48
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in 4* for four nights it was 10 minute bus journey from Central Amsterdam with bus stop outside hotel. We stayed in 3rd floor, room which was very modern with glass shower cubicle in room & separate toilet. Bed was comfy & large with complimentary toiletries & hair dryer provided.
There was a film crew at hotel & unfortunately came up to our corridor and were noisy but reception moved us straight away with choice of rooms, we ended in honeymoon suite which was excellent separate lounge & massive jacuzzi. The reception staff were extremely pleasant & helpful. Only minus is price in restaurant €18 fir breakfast... Really!! Think they're taking advantage of people who don't want to leave for dinner which is a pity, make it more reasonable & more people will use it!!! Don't expect great views our rooms overlooked railway depot but weren't in room often & curtains closed at night. Only other point would be to keep maintenance up just some marks on walls could easily be touched up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a 3 star room since we got a good deal. A little far from the city but we knew this and it was fine since its so easy to get the bus plus the hotel rents bikes for cheap (although you have to fifty euros for deposit). Breakfast and dinner here were too expensive for us. It rained when we were here but in the summer it would be great to use the outdoor pool. The hotel is decorated nicely and is clean. We were almost never there since we were out all day sightseeing so just weigh up if its worth the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

By the title one may get the impression that there is no other like it. In whole lot of aspects is correct. Let us see:
1.- Well connected. If you go East, the hotel itself is located, literally, 8 minutes away by bus (bus stop is 20 meters away from the hotel entrance. Take 48) from Central Station Amsterdam; by bicycle 15 minutes, and walking at an ease pace 30 minutes, and from there there's a whole world of connections using all sorts of means of transportation; and if you go East to Schipol Airport, across the street from the hotel, there's the bus stop to take 48 to the train station, that is two bus stops away from the hotel. Then you walk for about a minute, go inside the train station and in 30 minutes tops, you will be in Schipol. It's perfect!!
2.- Accommodations. Very good. Neat, clean, not overloaded with stuff. Comfortable, nice and well decorated. The restaurant is simple but beautiful. With nice and heavy wooden tables, and an excellent bar. Rooms, again, as the hotel, simple but nice. Price wise also very good.
3.- the Staff. This is in my opinion, were the strength of the hotel resides. As it should be in any organization that aims for high quality standards. The main characteristic of the professionals that work here, is the sweet kindness with which the greet and treat a passenger. They are great.
Here I have a moral obligation to mention some of them because they definitively make the difference, and there names are: Marieke van Eijk, front desk manager. She is fantastic!! With a capital F. A problem solver with lots initiative. Distinguish with a world of class and style. You come in and if she is there, you don't want go anywhere else. Christo van Ast, bartender. He is a class act. Personable, friendly, excellent in conversation but never uninvited, discreet, with initiative and a truly GENTLEMEN. Laura Wesseling, food and beverage. She is a sweetheart, exactly as the definition says: kind-hearted, nice, sweet, great person, fantastic personality, lovely to be around and just a great person. Common aspect of this fantastic human beings: they are Excellent professionals committed and interesting, open, service orientated, and very friendly.
Finally my only hope is to come here again, stay at this very same hotel, and enjoy this fantastic city, and the world that it has to offer and above all it's fantastic people. I wish you all a merry merry Christmas, and an excellent year 2014.
PS: Message to the owners, you have a great team here.

Room Tip: Take the ones facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my friend for 2 nights in November.

The hotel was really easy to get to from the airport - we got the train from the airport to Amsterdam Sloterdijk(3 euro 75 cents) which was a ten min ride. We then got the number 48 bus to the bus stop in front of the hotel which was 10 mins (the name of the stop in front of the hotel is Hempoint). We actually found the location of the hotel really good due to the efficiency of the bus's. The bus's are every ten mins throughout the day and the hotel is only located 10 mins on the bus from the centre. We got a 72 hour bus/tram/metro ticket from the tourist info centre at the airport who are really helpful and the cost of this ticket was only 18 euros!

At the hotel itself the Staff were on the whole friendly and helpful. We stayed in the 4 star part of the building on the top floor which was abit of a trek having to go up 2 lifts to get there! The room was clean but had a bizarre layout- with the toilet on one side of the room and the bathroom on the other. Beware when travelling with friends- the bathroom is see completely see through- we found this very bizarre considering we had a twin room and it was uncomfortable not having any privacy even though we are friends!! The beds were comfy and I did get a good night sleep due to it being quiet.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again although I would probably stay in the 3 star rooms as i don't think the 4 star was worth it or worthy of being a four star room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel offers very good services like large breakfast, fast WiFi, safety. Thanks to the 48 bus the connection with the city center is easy and quick (not more than 10mins, bus runs every 10mins). 2,80euros a single ticket but you can buy 48/72/96/120 hours tickets at your arrival in the center. 64euros per night, double room, breakfast included is a great value.
Good quality buffet breakfast. Spacious room.
I recommend it and I would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My 1st visit to amsterdam and we stayed at the Westcord Art Hotel. Rooms were spacious and my husband and I felt comfort within our room. We asked for a smoking room and got a non smoking room. Big fail as my husband is a smoker. We visited the Cafe in the lobby every night for coffee. Enjoyed the company of our waitress Laura. She was friendly and provided us with great service every night unlike the rest. The heating system in the hotel is exceptional. Bus routes are convenient. Overall was a nice stay with some hiccups (care not to mention).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.