We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for city and airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient for city and airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and have never been let down. We have stayed in both the 3 and 4 star rooms and were really pleased with both. It's a short bus ride to the city (bus is very regular) and an even shorter ride to the train station for the airport.(get the train at Sloterdijk Amsterdam and get the 48 bus). The breakfast is a continental buffet which is good and filling with plenty of choice if a little expensive. My tip is to take a short walk towards the city and have breakfast at Beans and Bagels great shakes and BLTs. Rooms clean and the beds are really comfortable!!! All in all a really good hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    520
    100
    27
    22
See reviews for
108
466
49
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel where you can stay near to the city centre. Receptionists where friendly, rooms were clean. Negative in the rooms is that there is no real cupboard for your clothes, which is okay, if you don't mind keeping things in your bag, if you don't stay too long.
Breakfast buffet is quite expensive with 18 Euro ( if you order it the day before it costs 15 Euros). We had breakfast in the restaurant a la carte for about 10 Euros, which was also nice.
Positive is that you can go by bus to the centre of town/ central staion in 10 minutes - the bus stop is in front of the hotel! But pay attention: this bus is number 48, not 22 which is mentioned in the description of the hotel ( there you have to walk a little bit longer, which is not so nice with luggage!)
I would recommend this hotel for a city trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here weekend of 9th August and had a fantastic time. Didnt use the pool but they looked fab. Pool terrace was lovely to sit out in. Hotel bar and restaurrant fab. We ate in the hotel twice and it was very very nice. Only qualm we had was that the barman (bald head and glasses with a moustache) we found quite cocky and arrogant. We paid for our meal and even had to ask for our 10 euro change which we thought was a bit off.
Rooms great, lovely and clean and the bed was so comfortable. All in all we would come again, great place, great hotel minus the guy at the bar!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in the deluxe double room in the 4star part of the hotel.

Upon arrival the staff were brilliant, offered us nice cold water as it was a hot day, as we were early, we were able to freshen up and left our luggage whilst we headed back into the centre.

The bus stop is right outside the hotel and is a short journey to the centraal station, we also walked into town one night completely by mistake which took approx 30mins at a slow pace.

The hotel it self is lovely, nice artwork on the walls and the trim we had was lovely and big. Didn't hear any of the other guests whilst in our room, even though you could here music etc when walking down the hallways, so insulation must be great.

We didn't use the pool, but had a view from our room and it looked ideal to cool off in after a hot day trekking round A'Dam.

On our final night we celebrated our wedding anniverssary in the restaurant and the hotel kindly gave us some champagne to celebrate with, which was much appreciated.

All in all the hotel is ideally located if you want to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam centre, but close enough to come back to during the day for a break.

We will definitely be back......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights, the staff were very helpful, although they did charge a deposit to my credit card without telling me, which was a shock when I saw it, but it was returned once I checked out. The hotel itself is great, clean and comfortable but is about 10 minutes by bus from the centre. It isn't too bad as the buses are regular in the day (every 15 minutes) and every hour after midnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed in a single room and it was ok....breakfast was good and room cleanliness great.staff was really nice.... Location is horrible very far from everything. U need to take 2 buses to get here and at night you are screwed only one night bus every hour or so or pay a 40 euro taxi ride from the train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. This is really two hotels joined together by a covered glass walkway. One is a 3 Star while the other is 4 Star. I understand the 4 Star has bigger, better appointed rooms. I opted for the 4 Star and was not disappointed. The room met all my expectations. The bed provided a good night's rest, the furnishings were either new or well maintained and the bathroom was ultra-modern. Breakfast too was very good and there are decent bar and dining facilities too (although we went out into Amsterdam centre to eat). There is a big outside pool too (heated I think) but I did not use it. Overall very decent and at a reasonable price too. Only slight negative is that it is some distance from the nearest rail station, being in between Sloterdjik and Central stations, and on a limited bus route (no problems if arriving by bicycle or car though). Taxi to the Damrak or Leidesplein is 10 minutes and 15 Euros (approx).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.