We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for clubbing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not for clubbing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is 1km away from the station Sloterdijk, therefore on the way to the city center with the train from the airport. This hotel has a common reception for the 4 stars Westcord-art and the more bargain 3 star side. While the rooms and services are good (nice toilet, 24h front desk, quiet rooms), the location is a limiting factor. It is connected to the station Sloterdijk or the city center with only one bus (n48), and both aren't really in walking distance. You will depend on public transport to move around and come back. The bus ticket is available at the front desk. It is located in the center of a green area, where there aren't shops, so cannot go shopping. This hotel is also limited if you plan going out and enjoy the night life in the city center. Indeed only one night bus (348 which passes every 30min or every hour) connects the central station to the hotel. Most of the clubs are 20-30min. walking from any stop of this bus, and a Taxi will cost you about 20 euro. So if you plan to go out in amsterdam (which you should definitely do no matter how old and with whom you are!) to enjoy the night life, this hotel becomes inconvenient. Go there if at 23:00 you're gonna be sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    524
    100
    27
    22
See reviews for
109
469
49
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013.

Pros: Great, modern rooms. Comfy beds, nice pillows. Nice shower with good water pressure. Coffee and tea service in room. Warm, friendly welcome on arrival. Really nice restaurant in the hotel, with good food and fantastic service. Good, affordable room rate.

Cons: Slightly out of the way location. However, this wasn't a deal breaker. There was a very reliable bus directly outside the hotel that went straight into the city center within 10 minutes or so. Breakfast, if desired, was very expensive to add. (20 euros for breakfast crosses the line for me!). But, Amsterdam is an expensive city all around. We skipped it and picked something up in the city center in the morning.

Bottom line: Great place all around. Would stay again! A helpful note: if you need to reach this hotel from the airport, I might suggest skipping the taxi. Taxis are expensive, and this hotel is not near the airport at all. We took a train from the airport to the city center, then hopped on a bus that stopped right at the train station. This bus dropped us right in front of the hotel. Easy, and much more affordable. The hotel front desk can provide the bus and train numbers in detail.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

just come back from a 2 day stay at the westcord art hotel. Hotel is situated 10 minutes bus ride (no.48)from Amsterdam centraal rail station. Really cant fault the hotel. Located in a quiet semi commercial district of westerpoint. Bus stop is situated directly outside of hotel. Didn't eat at hotel but menus looked good alhough if on a budget dinner will set you back 35 euro and breakfast at 18 euro.
Rooms were clean, spacious, contemporary and well equipped. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
No negatives to report and would wholly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Amsterdam.
If you want a hotel that is within walking distance and close to amsterdam centre this would not be for you. But if looking for quiet location where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam then this is it. Paid around 108 euros for the two night plus a further 5 euro in hotel tax. Sat sunday nights.
Bp garage over the road if you need a chocolate or nicotene fix.

Room Tip: There is a main road in front of hotel so may be worth getting a room round the back, as could not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on our second trip to Amsterdam, we originally booked the 3* hotel, but at check-in we upgraded to the 4* instead for an extra €20 per night, and tho I can't obviously compare the two, I would definitely say it was worth the extra money. The location is quite far out of town, tho the transport system in Amsterdam is so good that this hardly makes a difference and you get the added benefit of staying in a very quiet area. The room we got was lovely, the bed was massive and very comfortable and over all our stay was lovely. Unfortunately, for me, it's just too far out of town for me to stay again, but if that isn't an issue for you I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for four nights in January 2013 for a short stay in Amsterdam.

Please be careful when booking as (due to our own lack of research) booked this hotel in the impression that the room would be larger and more modern. This was due to the four star Westcord Hotels pictures included in the same gallery as the 3star on their website!

On first arrival to the room this was obviously a dissapointment however in retrospect is a standard quality for a three star hotel. The hotel is quiet and transport links to town are made very easy with a bus stop just outside the hotel. I would recommend and GVB travel pass for the length of time you are there as this will allow you to use the bus, tram, metro + ferry as you desire. Its the number 48 bus that stops right outside the hotel and they are fairly regular (every ten mins)

If your happy with a quiet, standard three star hotel then this would be fine for your travels, however if you like something more modern/classy then try the Westcord Art (four star) or another hotel all together!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel again from 23 September 2012 for 2 nights. The first time I stayed I thought this place was fantastic with a few minor flaws which I commented on. The manager of this hotel should be commended for his hard work as well as the staff. I can say that the manager viewed my comment and on my second return amended the minor flaws.

I came back to this hotel with my mother and when we arrived after a very long trip, we arrived before the normal check in hours, so I thought we had to wait a while. I decided to let them know of our arrival and was just about to sit down thinking I had to wait, but the friendly receptionist informed me we could go up to our room straight away. Love it.

From now on this is the hotel I will use whenever I travel to Amsterdam. Its location is perfect and the price is perfect. I recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights from the 27th to the 30th of Dec. It was absolutely fantastic. Ampay at the front desk was so polite and helpful in getting us checked in and sorted. The hotel was absolutely terrific, a very short bus ride to the the city centre. We bought a 3 day transit pass for 16 euro, which was well worth it. Price was right, people were great. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.