We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay - DO NOT get a taxi to hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay - DO NOT get a taxi to hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for an extra long weekend recently. We made the BIG mistake of getting a taxi from Central Station, as I had previously emailed the hotel asking how much it would be and they stated about €13, so that was fair enough when I added on the train fare from the aerport to Central Station. However, the taxi man charged us €25!!!!! for less than a 10min drive, so DO NOT on any account get a taxi. As previously stated on this site, the hotel has a bus route directly outside which brings you to and from Central station in 10mins. You can walk to the city centre, but it is a long enough walk and more than the 20mins quoted on this site. If you are use to walking, grand, if not, get the bus (No 48).
The reception staff where grand, efficient, dutiful but not warm and friendly. The bar staff on the other hand go out of their way to be friendly and polite and chat to you. We had a lovely night watching the opening ceremony of the Olympics in the bar. Snack food was reasonably priced.
Room was nice. The toilet being separate to the shower/bathroom was a bit disconcerting and an issue if you needed to go to the toilet late at night. There was too much light in the bedroom, so we had to block up all the areas emitting light (front door, lights on step to bed) and because of this it was quite difficult to get from the toilet to the bathroom late at night. Other than that the room was lovely, air conditioning worked very well and room cleaning was efficient.
Amsterdam itself was a great spot. If you are from another Euro country you won't find anything cheaper than at home and I actually thought, that my home country, Ireland, was a bit cheaper for snack food. Would go back again, but with a hotel that was nearer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Deae Sue035Dublin,

Thank you very much for your extensive review on Tripadvisor.
I am very sorry to read that you have been overcharged by a taxi driver. A maximum of EUR 13,- is a fair rate. EUR 25,- is too much!

All your comments will help us to continuously improve our service and facilities.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    535
    101
    36
    26
See reviews for
75
390
46
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here on business. I was genuinely surprised by how pleasant and well run the hotel was. It takes the concept of boutique hotels, with quirky style and modern twists and does it very well on a large scale.

The coffee room, restaurant and terrace are all well run and have plenty of room for the visitor to use. The wi fi is excellent and free, something of an added bonus to anyone, but particularly to the business traveller who has become fed up of paying extra because you need to connect with PC, ipad and phone only to find each is a separate charge at some establishments.

The rooms are great, with all the modern fittings one could require save one, and this is my only criticism of any substance, there are nowhere near enough sockets to plug in phone, PC etc. Why not put a socket either side of the bed for phones at least? A desk in today’s business market with only one socket? This is such a silly oversight.

Overall brilliant “ on the edge of town” option at exceedingly good rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Viscount57,

Thank your very much for commenting on your recent stay!
We will defintiely take your comments along.
It is pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, our services and facilities.

we are looking forward to see you again!

Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was provided with a comfortable twin room for a solo traveller - on the sixth floor (608) within a no smoking section of the hotel. there were tell-tale marks by the side of the bath and on the side table to the bed that illustrated not all guests respected the no smoking rules for no smoking rooms. But there was odour and the room was clean.

Getting to the hotel was very simple - bus 48 from Amsterdam Central. Departs about every 15 minutes from about 200m in front of the railway station and after a trip of about ten minutes, sets down at a stop in front of the Westcord Art Hotel. And while the stop is across a duel laned road - it wasn't difficult to cross, even with luggage. There are quite a few ticket options for the bus and tram netwook - each linked to a time limitation. I bought tickets for an hour (2.70 euro) and 24 hours (7.50 euros), but 48 hour and 78 hour tickets are also availabe - and from the reception desk.

My check in experience was good - a queque of only three - within five minutes I was in my room. The bath was welcome following all of my cycling! I recommend hiring a bike to explore Amsterdam. It's cheap, traffic is respectful of cyclists and you get to cover a lot of ground - and it's flat!

Initially, I thought the prices in the hotel were a little high - but having eat out and in - it's about the market rates. You could eat at a MacDonalds if you want that price - but I noted that even at these fastfood outlets, prices were a lot higher than in Britain.

I found a local outlet for the Dutch leading supermarket within a six minute walk of the hotel (towards Amsterdam) and was able to buy water, beer, fruit and snacks for refreshments for my days out at the art galleries.

All in all, the Westcord Art hotel provided for a comfortable stay, I found the staff to be respectful and helpful - and the hotel location to be in a reasonably good location.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back overlook a lido. Rooms to the front overlook an industrial zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Relentlessvoyager,

Thank you very much for your kind words and extensive review.
As all reviews, yours will help us to improve our services and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel advertised a triple deluxe room with three twin beds and we booked and that is what I paid for. But when we got there all we got was a double room with a double bed and a sofa bed which had been made up. This was disappointing since we were three grown up women who did not at all want to share a bed and we all paid equally for a hotel bed. Also the photos of the room had shown a sofa so we expected to be able to use the sofa for sitting.

We of course went down to the reception to complain about our accommodation. I told the lady in the reception that we had specifically ordererd a triple deluxe room with three single beds.

A copy of the room describtion on Hotels.com website:

"3 twin beds. 21 square meters (226 square feet). Pool view. Desk. In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Cable TV. Pay movies. Multi-line phone. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Shower/tub combination. Handheld shower. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Soundproofed rooms. Air conditioning. Climate control. Smoking rooms only."

The reception lady said that there was no such room in the hotel. But that the double bed was in fact two single beds on one frame. I pointed out that this is not what they advertise where I booked the room and she just went on saying that this was the way it had to be. So I told her that the hotel would really have to change the room describtion on the Hotels.com website but still they haven't. Finally she offered to have a single bed put into the room but that the sofa had to be removed. I of course was not happy about losing the sofa but asked her to bring an extra chair to the room so that we would have three chairs.

When we got back to the hotel in the evening we couldn't believe what we saw. The sofa was still there in the room and what they called a bed was in fact a very uncomfortabe foldable bed which had been stuffed into the room so we could hardly get around it. I actually cut my leg on it while walking passed it. The person which had been sleeping on the sofa bed was really upset about this arrangement and wanted to leave the hotel. So I and the third one went back into the reception and complained again. We would have to make do with this arrangement until the morning after but were offered a quadruple room the next day. That one had one double bed in the main room and then there was a smaller room with two single beds (not on one frame) but no night stands. So one of us took that room and used the other single bed for a night stand while the other two made do with the double bed. Our sleeping arrangement caused two of us to lose a lot of sleep through the whole trip.

When we had arrived at the hotel the lady in the reception asked for my credit card. I didn't know it then but she actually made an authorization hold on my credit card for about 600 Euros if I remember the amount correctly. I had gone on a daytrip to Utrecht when my credit card was denied authorization because the hotel had used up my authorization limit without notifying me either beforehand or afterwards. I just found out because I called my bank to find out what the problem was with my credit card. The reception should really notify customers that they are to make such a large hold on a credit card.

The hotel was the worst part about the trip, we had a lot of fun and really loved Amsterdam but I doubt that any of us will ever book a room in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear DoraOsk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
I was very dismayed to read your comment.
We will naturally check the descriptions on the website with our partner and make sure all information is correct.
Please be so kind to send me an e-mail with your contact details so I can contact you directly in person. My e-mail address is benjamin.tam@westcordhotels.com.

Thanks in advance,
Best regards,

Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked with 12 friends 6 rooms. We were lying on different levels and it took more then one hour for checking in. The breakfast was not included in the price. They promised us a reduction of 2,5 Euro on a total price of 18 Euro's, but didn't received. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Beer-Engel,


Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry to read that we were not able to accomodate you all on one or two floors.
This will definitely be discussed with the department head involved.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stood here on our recent trip to Amsterdam, the value was good for the cost considering that other comparable hotels closer to the city center were 2 or 3x the price.. the rooms were pretty roomy and the staff was friendly. The bus stop is right outside the hotel so its not a big deal getting into the city center which is like a 5-10 min bus ride away.. if you want to you can walk , it will take you about 20 mins.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Danny1011,

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.
Good to read that you have enjoyed your stay!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is good overall. The only negative is the location, which is quite far from the city center. You'll need to take a ~10 minute bus ride, but the bus does run to and from Centraal Station pretty regularly. Free wifi is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Dkirsch78,

Thank you for your short but clear comment!
Good to read that youhave enjoyed our free WIFI.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
2.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Restaurant, Lux...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
3.5 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#54 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#107 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
#139 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 48, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.