We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Freeland Hotel to your Saves list
Freeland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOCATION!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I researched SO MANY hotels!! I finally settled in this hotel after reading the reviews. (Thank you to all who take the time to do this). We didn't want to dump all of our money in lodging so we chose this hotel. It is for a minimalist: comfortable bed, clean rooms, shower and even a hairdryer upon request. ( please return to the front desk!). The staff was accommodating and helpful and SO HAPPY to help in any way. Walking to ANYTHING (museums, Anne Frank house, red light, FOOD) it's right out the door. I am afraid of heights so my family enjoyed watching me climb the stairs and descend in the morning. I know the other reviews talked about the stairs. My comment: the stairs are characteristic of the Netherlands, if you have no other adventure during your stay, try the stairs!! ☺️. Don't let the stairs scare you away from your stay unless you have a physical impairment.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    101
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
20
58
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week and it was brilliant. Our room was nice and cleaN and the staff were very helpful. Beware of stairs you need to be fit.We had lovely breakfast every morning included in the price and meet the famous cat. Everything was in walking distance it was great value .We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean hotel, with friendly and helpful staff. The size of the rooms are in Amsterdam standards. They use eco friendly bathing soaps which are the best I've ever tried!!!! Breakfast is very plain, but tasty. The hotel is very central located with transports 3 min away. They don't have an elevator so if you have heavy luggage ask for a low level floor room.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

The staff were GREAT! SUPER friendly and helpful. The hotel was priced well considering how centrally located it was. The area was clean, safe and steps from restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Loved this area. The room was awful. It was small, and probably the closest I've ever been to a jail cell. I was given a room on the first floor despite reviews suggesting against it. (I was traveling with a terribly heavy suitcase, and the idea of lugging it up those nightmarish stairs was not an option.) The room was located right next to the bathroom in the lobby and lets just say the walls were alarmingly thin. For the brief time I actually spent in the room, the sounds I heard from the bathroom were haunting. Great staff and location, however prison like rooms. I so wish this wasn't the case because I really loved this location!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and do posses claustrophobia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Good location at Leidseplein with 1,2,5 trams with a further 3 mins walk. Simple and cozy rooms with the basic facilities. Wifi is good. Good value with a simple and decent breakfast. No lifts though so you have to carry your luggage up but I was on the 2nd floor but no issues for me.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furtwangen, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I stayed in this hotel to save money, as i was staying alone and almost all the time out of the room , so it didnt matter that much, but the room was small, the prices were high, the breakfast is ok, the service is fine, and the location is really good, other than that really safe hotel

Room Tip: Free tee and coffee in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We just came from lovely dogs friendly freeland and trust me everything from check in until checkout was excellent.Also very good location.We had lovely dinner in Eat at Jo's just opposite side... Amazing too... Hotel highly recommended and we'll be back in the summer for sure.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.