We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freeland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Freeland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freeland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We booked two rooms here in November, a double and a small single. The rooms were well furnished, clean and functional. The stairs upto the rooms were extremely steep but nothing to worry about if you are even half fit.

Nice touch tea and coffee available on the landings

Breakfast was a wee bit weird, hard boiled egg, bread and some cheese with orange juice with tean and coffee. The breakfast room is in the cellar and a wee bit snug.

Staff all very helpful and of course speak excellent English.

Next to the boisterous Leidseplein with the centre easily accessible by tram

There is a superb bar across the road called Lux I think, which is great for a nightcap

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    85
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
53
69
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Freeland for 3 nights from new years eve.
I must say although the stairs were a abit steep it was clean and tidy to a good standard. Very safe area.

Staff- EXCELLENT and v v helpful. Extremely welcoming.
Noon check in was just great!
Thanks to Bart, Pascale, Noorudin and all the other lovely staff we met even the lovely lady serving us breakfast.

we stayed with our 10 month old baby and I have no complaints. All questions were answered by staff, microwave and fridge available for use.

Location- awesome!!!
2 minute walk to main shopping area and food places etcetc
25 mins short walk to Dam Square though shoppinh street. Or tram is just 2 mins away.

One bus straight from airport to hotel which was perfect- €4 per person!!!

Highly recommend to anyone. Would and will most definitely stay again.
Excellent value for money.

Thank you Hotel Freeland :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I recently stayed at Freeland Hotel and could not have been happier. While the room was a bit small, and breakfast is the same each day, neither was a problem and was more than made up for by the accommodating, helpful and incredibly friendly staff, clean rooms and great location. The hotel is within walking distance from all major attractions and conveniently located to good night spots. I have never felt so comfortable and welcomed at a hotel and would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam. Also, as a solo woman traveler, safety is one of my main concerns and I never felt uncomfortable walking to and from the hotel at all hours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Noon check-in a godsend for those who want to shower and rest for a bit after travelling. Location means that everything is within easy reach. Coffee and tea facilities available, which is surprisingly rare in this kind of hotel. Admittedly, I got a bit of a deal for my stay, and probably wouldn't have thought it quite worth the full price.

Room Tip: Lower is better, I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great traditional Dutch hotel. Owners are really nice and helpful. Room nice with great view. Very close to all main places only a couple of minutes walk from leidesplein. 3 minutes from bus stop to airport only 4 euros each. Great bar opposite and loads of reasonable restaurants near by. No lift so be prepared for steep stair climb if on upper floors but we had no problem carrying big suitcase up and down. Would return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel freeland is a nice & cozy hotel located at the heart of city of Amsterdam. The owners were very friendly & accomodating. This is a perfect hotel for a short stay & i would recommend it for young couples . Staircase might be narrow, yet it didn't bother us. Breakfast was nice coz we love peanut butter & jelly & tea for breakfast. Yet i miss some fruits for breakfast. Anyway, it's a great hotel @ the heart of the city!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

everything is perfect with this hotel. it's owner Pascale is very friendly and helpful. All hotel staff is welcoming and friendly. It is very close to everything you need to see in Amsterdam. We went everywhere on foot (Dam square, museumplein, leidseplein, vondelpark etc.) Rooms very very clean, well decorated and light. Though the room was small, it had enough storage. It was everything that we needed. The price is affordable and it was definitely worth our money. I would sure stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in sunflowers. it was quiet and on the first floor. i would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.