We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Freeland Hotel to your Saves list
Freeland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
22
58
83
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Surely one of the the smallest single hotel rooms in Amsterdam, yet it is adequate, clean, with shower, single bed, large window, tv (difficult to operate without asking for help). Breakfasts are good value with friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic location, most sights are within walking distance. Also good option for single women travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floors require stamina and good stair sense. Very steep stairs although this is an old Amste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

On arriving I did not find the reception friendly. Was given a key and told where the room was. No other conversation offered. The steps are very steep, the single room very small, though well equipped and clean. Bathroom is of a high standard. The best part was the breakfast - enough and tasty.

I feel for what I got the price I paid was steep. Next time think I will use the amount I spent and book into something where I will get more value for my money.

Room Tip: Avoid the single room - very small. Try get a room away from the street - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Emlyn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Friendly owners and staff, free use of computer, plenty of food for breakfast (always boiled eggs, meat, cheese, bread - 3 types, can toast your own - spreads, choice of teas or coffee) very pleasant lady serving. Excellent value for a 2 star hotel, very convenient situation just off the centre and within walking distance of museums, park, restaurants, tram stop. Plenty of literature in the foyer about the attractions, and some tickets can be booked a the hotel to save you queueing. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had Room 4 at the back on the ground floor, so no stairs (which are very narrow) and no traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ok, first the good stuff. Excellent location just 100 m from the lively Leidseplein with it's many bars and restaurants. It's also where the 197 bus delivers you direct from the airport. A 40 minute journey for just 4 euros. If you're staying in this part of the city it's a good alternative to the train.
I only made it for breakfast once, but enjoyed the bread with meats and cheese and a boiled egg! All served by a very friendly lady.
The not so good stuff started on arrival when I asked to borrow the advertised iron. I was informed that it was broken, so I just hope that the crumpled look was fashionable this summer in Amsterdam. As mentioned by others, the stairs are steep and in common with many older hotels, there is no lift. I was on the third floor and now have super strong calf muscles. Not good for the elderly or infirm though.
I was in a single room, number 12, which was pervaded by a rather unpleasant aroma for the period of my stay. Had the iron worked, there is nowhere to hang your clothes (no wardrobe), except for a row of 5 pegs located a foot above where your pillow is. Very strange. Although the bed was fine, the main problem was the noise from the bars across the road. Due to the smoking ban the noisy patrons are outside till 3 am every night (the weather was nice). I got kind of used to it after zero sleep the first night, and I guess it's hardly the fault of the hotel, but don't have a street facing room if you have trouble sleeping.
I think I probably suffered from the curse of the single traveller, as a peek into a neighbouring room showed a much more spacious and well appointed arrangement. Unfortunately then, if being alone again, I would probably not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is in a rather old building. We had a room on the top floor, that means climbing 5 to 6 flights of really steep stairs. I wouldn't recommend heavy luggage as there is no elevator. Room comes complete with an old school CRT TV. Staff are friendly and the hotel has a cosy feel.

There seems to be the smell of weed lingering around the air, not sure where it is from as it is supposed to be non-smoking.

The hotel is quite a distance from the train station and near many eating places and bars. Room rate is reasonable compared to the other rates in Amsterdam and comes with a basic breakfast.

Don't feed the cat, because it is overweight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Don't expect a 5-star American hotel. This is a family-owned hotel. As far as I remember all rooms are non smoking. There is tea on every floor as well. Location is excellent! Hotels in Amsterdam are notoriously expensive, but this one is affordable. I love this city & I will go back eventually & this is where I plan on staying!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#48 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#105 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#276 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
#222 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#43 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#160 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.