We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BickersBed Guestrooms

Save Saved
You added BickersBed Guestrooms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BickersBed Guestrooms
Grote Bickersstraat 23 hs, 1013 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Bickersbed with our three adult children for 3 nights. We were asked to contact Maria by phone on arrival to airport or central station and we were promptly met by her at the apartment. She was helpful and friendly. The apartment was perfect for us, we were given an extra bed as we were 5. The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean, the beds particularly comfortable. There is unlimited free internet access, which is a bonus. This is a nice area with easy access to central station and just two minutes from the charming Haarlemmerdijk and Haarlemmerstraat with its quaint shops, delis, cafes, bars and restaurants. There is also a nice supermarket where you can buy everything you need, although we only had breakfast in the apartment.
It is particularly suited to a family or two couples who know each other, as there is not much privacy between the two apartments (upstairs and downstairs).
I would not hesitate to stay at Bickersbed again next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
masnou
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

we stayed in Bickersbed, in the appartments close to the train line, as one of the advisors say.
Our appartment was excellent: small but tidy and very clean.
It has a kitchen (IKEA)-livingroom, a bathroom with shower and a big bedroom with a very confortable bed.
The area, the JOOrdan neightbourhood is safe, friendly and cool.
there are some restaurant around.
It about 20 minutes walking from central station. We did the way walking with luggage and its easy to find. Its a relaxed stroll along a shoping street.
The appartment is realy cool and we stayed as at home. It has free internet outside the room and there is no problem to use it at all.
We arrived late at night (around 1 am) and the owner was waiting for us....
to sum up: a perfect stay and we will return again

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

do not recommend if you are on business trip.

The house is right next to train line, literally touching the raised platform.
It says there is a wireless, but you can not access it!! When I complained, I was given 15m cable left outside of my room without any comment. I assumed it meant to find the router myself and wire the cable to my room. Well, cable is just way too long and you loose connection.

To make it worse, I was told more than a few times to call from the station which I did. But you still have to wait outside of the door for a while.

I was in newly added (?) apartment. It is clean but has no place to relax, either tiny bedroom or tiny kitchen. Both are clean but you do not want to stay too long.

I changed the booking from 4nights to 2nights within 24 hours of booking. Although it was last minute and there were no reservation anyway, I was still charged for cancellation fee.

  • Liked — city
  • Disliked — price, service, location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

Myself and two friends stayed at Bickersbed for 3 nights this August. The website is good and shows the property how it is - although it forgets to mention one thing! Bickersbed has two rooms, one upstairs and one downstairs. They are not completely separate from each other so if you went as a couple you would have another couple staying upstairs.

As you go in the house there is a small dining table (shared between both rooms) and two sets of stairs - one down to a small kitchen and the downstairs bedroom and one up to a small gallery kitchen and the upstairs bedroom.

We stayed in the downstairs bedroom but had a peek in the upstairs one which was much nicer. The downstairs one is quite dark and only has 2 small windows which look out onto a house (we had a very nosy woman peering in at us one day!).

The upstairs room is very light and airy and had a great curved bathroom - ask for this room if you can.

The lady who met up was very friendly and told us lots about the area. The actual area of the house is nice and quiet and away from the hussle and bussle of the city. You are about a ten minute walk from Central Station and about fifteen minutes from the red light district. I would recommend the area as we felt safe walking back at night and it was not full of tourists.

If you eat at the pub on the corner and order a special sausage sandwich - be prepared for a raw mince burger!!!! My friend ordered this as she didn't know what it was!!!!

Overall I would say that Bickersbed is a good place to stay. This is my third visit to Amsterdam and its the best place I hace stayed so far. It would be great for a group of 4 people as you would have your own private house.

Explore the area around the house as there are some great boutiques and nice bars and restaurants which are not touristy and offer good food.

Hope this helps you to decide where to stay!

  • Liked — Great decor, very clean and excellent location.
  • Disliked — Room was a bit dark.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book the room upstairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BickersBed Guestrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BickersBed Guestrooms

Address: Grote Bickersstraat 23 hs, 1013 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bickersbed is situated in an area named 'Bickerseiland' in the historical center of the capital Amsterdam. The area is very famous for his history of old shipping warehouses and is less then 10 minutes walking from the central station. It is an unspoiled area of Amsterdam close to the Jordaan and the Haarlemmerstraat, a trendy and diverse neighborhood with an art house cinema, galleries and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your BickersBed Guestrooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickersbed Guestrooms Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BickersBed Guestrooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.