We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lots of steep stairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Titus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Titus to your Saves list
Hotel Titus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 74, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, lots of steep stairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of February. We could walk everywhere from this hotel which was very convienient. I wouldn't recommend walking to the central station though, get a taxi, it was only 8 euros! We stayed in a triple room which was clean and all we needed. The hotel smelt faintly of smoke but it was bareable and nothing like the rest of Amsterdam. The stairs were the thinnest and steepest I've ever seen in my life which can prove a problem when you've got heavy cases. Luckily the nice man on reception carried it for me. The breakfast was quite good and just what we needed. Overall I would recommend staying here if just looking for a bed to sleep on and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    63
    34
    25
See reviews for
18
51
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having stayed here before and having had a good experience i knew it would be reliable. although we were put in a room at the back - which was fine, but we had some issue with being given 2 single beds (on wheels) rather than a double. it would've been fine having 2 singles, just not on wheels (as they seemed to move further and further apart throughout the night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Easy to walk everywhere from this location .friendly staff;clean.Good to make the reservation before ,private room with canal view.Only for sleep is fine.I recommend only private room.The tram is 2 min away by foot.The same is the bus for airport ( nr. 197 ,every 15 min. 4 euro and something ,red color ) .They provide free maps with the main sites on.
Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Not at the lower level,private room with private shower ,view to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can recommend Hotel Titus - they keep the place very clean, very friendly helpful staff and the breakfast is nice. I was on the fourth floor of the second house in a two bed room with its own shower and bathroom and it was so lovely looking over the canal and the houses. The rooms are very basic but I was there to sleep and to enjoy a good cheaper place. Great location and super deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for four nights during a two month trip around Europe.
It's a very convenient location, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and a tram stop which takes you right to Centraal station. We were looking for somewhere cheap and centrally located where we could sleep and store our luggage, and this hotel met those needs.
The only issues I had was the stairs. I have heard that many houses in Amsterdam are quite narrow but high, which would explain the stairs. The steps are quite small and the staircase is very steep, making it very difficult to walk up and down with luggage. We couldn't hear any other guests, but the heater in our room made a loud ticking noise all night, even though we didn't have it on, which was a little annoying, but that's the worst of it.
Overall, if you're looking somewhere basic, cheap and convenient (and don't have a fear of stairs :P) I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are quite strong and fit, probably should avoid this hotel if you are bringing suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#160 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#275 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#108 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#267 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Mozart Hotel
Mozart Hotel
#261 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#221 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Titus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Titus

Address: Leidsekade 74, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Titus 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Titus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Titus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.