We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fantastic location and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added NL Hotel District Leidseplein to your Saves list
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, fantastic location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

On arrival staff were found to be very friendly and nothing seemed like too much trouble. We were able to leave our bags until our room was ready. Our double comfort room was clean and had air con which was a god send during the heat wave! Facilities were adequate and we had everything we needed for our stay. Yes the stairs are steep but to be fair I think this is a plus as it is traditional for the style and age of the building! As we used a separate entrance to reception, it was as though we had our own apartment in the heart of the city. We had an enjoyable stay and look forwards to staying here again after the refurb at the end of the year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    86
    45
    17
    6
See reviews for
12
119
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. Despite the steep flight of stairs, the room was worth the climb. Roomy bedroom and bathroom. Very nice decor, comfortable bed, extremely clean and my room had A/C even though I don't think I turned it on once--I was usually out running around in the day and the nights, even in July, were cool enough that open windows sufficed. The personnel were top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. The location is a short walk from all kinds of shops, restaurants, and public transport. I stayed on the second floor, immediately off the stairs, and never noticed noise. I would definitely book here again when back in Amsterdam and recommend it to someone else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a week ago for four days. First of all the room is terribly small. The sink was faulted and when it filled up with water, we had to manually pull the topping to empty all that water.

Also the stairs are tiresome and if you have back ache like me you would find it difficult to drag your belongings into and out of the room.

The last "treat" was when we checked in we were rushed to sign in papers. One of them mentioned that this is a non smoking hotel but we didn't read it because we were tired. Other than that, there are no no smoking signs anywhere in the hotel - not in the floor, not at reception and not in the rooms. However, because we smoked one cig near the window and were "caught", we were fined and had to pay 150 euro each ("A relatively low price" according to the chinese at the reception) without even being warned first. A no smoking hotel is fine! but if the hotel *really* does not want you to smoke it could make it clear to you that this is a non smoking hotel, and hang signs on the walls. But they want you to smoke in order to earn more money.

This was a terrible hotel and I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL Hotel distri... N, Manager at NL Hotel District Leidseplein, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Faingold,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a horrible stay.
Please let us pin out a few points.

Our average room size is around 15 - 17 square metres, which is mentioned on every booking sites. Your room size was around 21 square metres (excluding the bathroom), which is very generous for an Amsterdam 3 star hotel in the city centre. You mentioned at check in that you loved the room and especially the room size. The sink is not faulted. It has to pushed once and the lid will open automatically.

The staircases in Amsterdam in typical canal houses are steep. We are sorry for this. We do not have an elevator due to the house structure unfortunately.

Regarding the fine, at check in we always mention that we are non-smoking hotel. Furthermore at the front door and general hallways, there are signs that we are non-smoking. As it might sound unreasonable that you were fined for smoking inside the room, the fact remains that you are violating the hotel rules. There were ashes on the floor and next to the window. Not only will the room / hallway smell to cigarette smokes, where other guests will find disturbing, you also jeopardize ours and the guests safety when smoking in the hotel. We take high standards regarding our cleanliness. We simply cannot sell the room afterwards to the next guests if it was smoked before.
Once again, it was your own fault that you were fined for smoking inside the room, while being informed that there will be a penalty.

Unfortunately your review does not reflect the hotel true experience. Like many other travellers are mentioning is that they love our decor, the staff, cleanliness and the location.

Thanks and kind regards,
Management
NL Hotel district Leidseplein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed with some friends in this hotel for one night, the bathroom is super small but clean.
The personnel is friendly and there is a good service level.
BUT! there rooms are very noisy... I was awake every time someone was climbing the stairs or reaching their rooms.. the worst was in the morning... Could hear every one having breakfast around 7h.... definitely good for early birds but don't expect to sleep longer that 7am...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay with my friends in this place !
Lovely design of the room that we had stayed. Also the room is clean and the staff is really helpful and suggested good plan for us in Amsterdam !
I definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The NL hotel is a cozy designed location near to Leidesplein in Amsterdam. The overall place looks warm and inviting and i am sure the upper rooms are all equipped with best accessories. I stayed in the lower room underground with a window to the street. No air condition in this room which was not told in the hotel description. The room was great, comfy bed and pillows, fast wifi and bath, but you need to decide, quiet room and no air, or noisy room from window to the street cars and people and fresh air... Overall i would definitely stat there again. But ask for top room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NL Hotel District Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Address: Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to enjoy Amsterdam and stay in one of the hippest and coolest design hotels of the city? NL-Hotel Leidseplein is a charming boutique hotel where you enjoy a personal approach by the staff and the comfort of Dutch design. The hotel is located in an authentic Amsterdam canal house on the Nassaukade and is designed by Edward van Vliet who transformed into a contemporary design hotel.The stylish design hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, which was recently declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is only 5 to 10 minute walking distance from Leidseplein, Vondelpark, the 9 streets shopping area, the Museum Quarter and the PC Hooftstraat. This makes the NL-Hotel Leidseplein the perfect spot to experience Amsterdam's turbulent life. NL-Hotel Leidseplein is easily accessible by car and public transport! Cars can be parked publically and in a nearby P&R. From Central Station, the hotel is accessible by public transport: tram lines 1, 2 and 5 bring you to the nearby tram stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NL Hotel District Leidseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nl Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NL Hotel District Leidseplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.