We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Underloved” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders

Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders to your Saves list
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Ruijsdaelkade 109 hs / Gerard Doustraat 8, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Underloved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

We stayed in location 2 for three nights last week.
My biggest problem with the apartment we stayed in was the smell. The bedroom itself wasnt too bad but the communal areas smelled rancid.
The apartment was very basic. The bed was uncomfortable and the bedding was questionable. The shower was unimpressive and there was no toilet roll.
However, the location of the apartment was good (not far from the Anne Frank house). And there was no checkout time on the day we left.
As someone has said before me, this wasn't the worst place in the world but for the money you could stay somewhere much nicer.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

All right, here is my bizarre history with Alexander's Apartments Amsterdam.

We stayed in location 3-- 10 of us, which we were told would be good for 2 apartments. The prices are pretty high, considering what you're getting--real Dutch housing. That means the stairs are steep, the water isn't hot until you turn the heater on, etc. When we got there, there was clearly not enough space for 10 people in 2 apartments, so AAA was nice and gave us one more apartment for free! We liked that. However, the place was just nasty-- the pull out beds werent clean, there werent enough sheets, the shower didn't work in one of them. After 1 day, we adjusted and sucked it up. However, for the price, we could have stayed someone nicer for sure. Also, the guy who showed us in was really sketchy, and he didn't show us how anything worked. That made our first night crappy.Still, they were accommodating, and someone came quickly to fix the shower that was broken, etc. I wouldn't do it again, but it wasn't the worst place ever.

  • Liked — Where it was
  • Disliked — The dirtyness and the oddness of the apartment in general
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Although the flat was clean and the guy who showed us round was very pleasant, it was most disconcerting to find all kinds of junk in the cupboards, including all the kitchen cupboards filled with food that looked as if it had been left behind by permanent tenants who had been thrown out in a hurry! The toilet/shower was matchbox-sized with a sink the size of an egg cup. The area was OK, supermarket round the corner and a good cafe just up the road, around 15 mins. walk to the centre. The place looks pretty awful from the outside (boarded up bakery underneath) and the notice on the door of the flat advised us not to allow people in who claimed to be "friends" but would actually be out to fleece us!!
It would have been nice to relax, but there wasn't so much as an armchair to sit on (just dining chairs) and the beds were too low to relax on comfortably. Most of the dining table was taken up with the most hideous artificial flower arrangement I have ever seen!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

There are four different locations of alexanders apartments. I stayed at wittenburgerstraat.

We were a family of four in Amsterdam for 10 days. Budget was our main concern. Alexanders is very cheap, we paid 1100 euros for ten nights for a 2 bedroom apartment (although the second bedroom is a tiny single bedroom). The kitchen has recently been remodeled, the bathroom was fantastic. The bedrooms and lounge were a bit tired tired, but very clean. the washing machine was broken for the time we were there, but there was a terrific laundromat down the road. I went there twice and met all the locals. The website is woeful, and the staff pretty slow to respond to emails, but persevere because it is a good deal.

The location was lovely. On google maps it looks like is on a major highway, not a bit. Just a local road. you are on the edge of central amsterdam, about 20 mins walk from central station and 20 mins from dam square, but it is such a lovely walk it doesn't feel like too much of a chore.

There is a butchers downstairs, a small supermarket open till 10 everynight a couple of doors away, a small art gallery down the street, a couple of quiet bars, and lots of trees.

If you are in amsterdam for a while and budget is a serious consideration you are not missing out on anything by staying here.

  • Liked — lovely leafy area, lookingout over the canal from the kitchen
  • Disliked — too much furniture
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I was travelling with 4 friends and we booked this apartment pretty much last minute on the net and wasnt sure what to expect.
We got to the address and was met by Melanie who showed us around up stairs and gave us all the hot tips on where to go for breakfast, drinks, shopping, etc, she was very helpful and friendly and we were all very impressed by the service, she is lovely.
we stayed here for 3 nights, it was a great size for 5 people, and in a great location, about 10mins from central station in a quite part of town near a large market, supermarket, heaps of cafes and bars, and the heineken brewery. also the tram stop is only 5mins walk from the apartment.
there is a kitchen and 2 dining tables so it is easy to cater for yourself, though the selection of cafes in the area are wonderful and cheap, as it is not a main tourist area.
overall we had a wonderful stay here, and would love to stay for longer here next time we come to amsterdam!! would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

Just came back from spending four days in Amsterdam - we booked the Alexanders Apartments because there was a group of us traveling and we wanted to have our own base in the city and something a bit different than a hotel. It cost us approx €750 for three nights from Thursday to Sunday (3 nights).

When we arrived on Thursday morning we made our way to the Apartment - the outside of this particular building was a bit rough looking (the Alexanders Apartments are located in several different buildings across Amsterdam), these particular apartments were located over a closed-down bakery which is covered in graffiti. We were meet by Melanie - who showed us to our apratment on the second floor... the entrance hall and stairs was fairly dirty- rubbish and leaves had obviously blown in from the street and the paint was peeling. The Apartment we were shown was not featured on their website and was off a much lower standard than those shown. It was quite an old apartment, with dirty blue carpet and chipped walls. The kitchen and bathroom were quite new - it was the bedrooms really which let this property down. The beds were old, the furniture was old and rickety and despite booking for seven people the apartment had just two double bedrooms and one tiny single bedroom.. (which had a pile of dirty laundry in it!) which meant that four people were expected to sleep in one double room - two on folding beds.

We were obviously fairly disappointed - we are all 24/25 yr olds, used to travelling and staying in 2 star accomodation throughout Europe - we weren't expecting the Ritz but we were fairly annoyed to be shown an Apartment which was of a much lower standard than that depicted on their web-site. We were told by Melanie that there was "another reason" why that particular apartment didn't feature on their website.. but I would have my doubts!! However, what could have been a bit of a disaster was soon righted - we voiced our concerns to Melanie who was very polite, helpful and lovely to deal with. She said that there was an apartment downstairs which had three proper double rooms and after she checked that it was available we were shown that Apartment - which was much better laid out - (smaller kitchen and bathroom) but bigger rooms, freshly painted and had bright wooden floors. This Apartment was quite nice - and Melanie was very helpful - she even cleaned the apartment as it had not yet been done and when we returned a few hours later the apartment had been cleaned and the stairs hoovered and so on. After our initial hiccup we had a nice time in our clean and functional apartment - however, be warned.. there is quite a difference in standard (but not price!) between some of their Apartments!!

  • Liked — Being able to hand around as a group - as opposed to individual hotel rooms
  • Disliked — The difference in standard between two same priced Apartments.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

Reasonably priced, very functional.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders

Address: Ruijsdaelkade 109 hs / Gerard Doustraat 8, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.