We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in the basement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mozart Hotel to your Saves list
Mozart Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay in the basement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I was unlucky and had a room in the basement. There was constant sound of running water, noise from over head and you can hear your neighbors in the hall way. That being said the staff I dealt with were helpful and spoke English. Location is awesome. Great place to stay if you just want a place to sleep and aren't a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Our room was awful, tiny, doubtfully cleaned, horrible paiting, terrible electricity connections, etc. The toilet had no cover, etc. Two things were good: The internet connection and the location, the latter close but not "in the middle" of the fun parts of town. The story about out car was also bad. They said that if we parked in an outside place (not disclosed) we could ask for it and have it in 20 minutes. When we asked for it (by the way, we left a day early despite the non-refund policy, we were just so sick of the hotel), they indicated that we could have the car in ... two hours!!! So we went out for some shopping and when we came back the car was there ... except for a small detail. It was another car!!!!! Do not come to this hotel, wifi is everywhere and many others have similarly good locations. I almost forgot: Completely useless staff.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Despite all the negatives about the hotel (not worth listing again as most other reviews have covered the main issues), the location is worth noting. We bought tram passes at the airport and used it once - to get back to the airport! Was a minutes walk from restaurants, pubs and a 'pub crawl'. Museum square was a short walk at about ten minutes away, which was also where we found the nearest supermarket or anything remotely like a newsagents. If location is your priority and you aren't worried about quality then here is a good place. I do feel a little cheated though, it was not worth what I paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As this was just a base it was ideal, fab location to see the majority of the city, especially by foot. Room was basic, could of done with the curtains and nets washed. Didn't eat the breakfast as it didn't look appealing, but others were eating it, so it couldn't of been to bad. Had trouble accessing the free wifi, but hey that's nothing major.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The room we were put in was noisy and we had to swap rooms at 2am because the air con was so loud. I was 30 weeks pregnant and I asked for some water or a biscuit at reception one afternoon and they pointed me in the direction of an expensive vending machine. Some young lads were staying at the time and were very disruptive. Reception didn't help with this. The lift stank of weed. The rooms were basic. Not great.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I don't even know where to start. They placed us in the basement at first where the bed was pushed up against the wall and there was a tiny walkway beside the bed. The window was a small hole in the top corner. If there was a fire, my husband and I would have been trapped. If you suffer from claustophobia you would have been a goner. There was dirt and scuz all over the walls, obviously the walls hadn't been cleaned since the opening day. The hallways smelled like sewage. We complained and they acted shocked to hear how terrible we told them it was while we were left wondering how many people before us had just gone thru the same thing. They moved us, but not till the next day. The second room was just as bad as the first but there was an actual window. When I looked out of it, there was a camera nearby pointed at the window. I was not thrilled at all. The bathroom had mildew all in the cracks and on the shower head. There was lipstick stains smeared across the walls of this room. It made both of our stomachs drop even upon entering the building each night. We seriously thought about just leaving and paying any price we had too for a CLEAN room, but this being the last stop on the trip, we ran out of money. Upon leaving, they took our key, and didn't ask any questions such as, how was your stay? The people working there should be ashamed because they must know how terrible it is. The one and only positive of this place is the location. But all in all... wouldn't you rather walk a few extra blocks in order to not lie in bed at night and hope that you do not get bed bugs or worse???????? This was probably the worst hotel I ever stayed in in my life and a terrible way to end our vacation. Luckly, the city is beautiful and we could stay out of it as much as possible. We paid a lot of money to stay in this place and I feel like I should get every cent back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is basic and if your not fussy go for it. People think it's cheap but upon booking they overcharged us and would not refund us until we arrived which was 6 months after booking. Upon arrival there was no safe place to store luggage till rooms where ready. At 2pm we arrived for check in and told to wait as it was not ready finally after an hour we were given the key only to go to a room that was not ready and the maid was alseep in the room next door! Service in the hotel was awful staff were rude blunt and unhelpful. Rooms were dirty but bathrooms clean.
Hotel is better than a hostel but not what three girls are looking to deal with!
On the bright side the location of the hotel is ideal. Central to everything and not too noisy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#260 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#128 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Mozart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing