We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mozart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mozart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic hotel amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very basic hotel. It's OK for a short stop and you need just a bed at night to sleep in. The bathroom smelt very badly of cheap "coconut" soap. The wi-fi does not work on the 2nd & 3rd floor and you have to go down to reception to use the wi-fi. As a gesture of goodwill from the receptionist, she offered me a free coffee for the inconvenience. The breakfast is lousy! Just cereal and cold buffet of cheeses and meats, but no toaster, so you can't make toast!!
The only thing good about this hotel is the location. Just off Prinsengracht and close to canals and main shopping street. The owners of this hotel are Chinese and they showed no warmth to the guests at all. Felt as thought they just cared about taking your money without giving any warm service or welcome at all. They need to change their attitude. The working staff, however, are better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    82
    122
    79
    75
See reviews for
32
142
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice location, polite and helpful staff. Room was clean, quiet and small. The room cleaning was done every day. The bathroom was very small. The sink was very small, too, and mounted very close to the WC, in such way that It was almost impossible to wash the face without wetting the feet, too, from the water that felled on the floor. For hand and face washing It was easier to use the tap of the bathtub. The lift was very slow and sometimes you had to wait for 4-5 minutes until it arrived, not because of the traffic.

Room Tip: It's a 3 star hotel, but I would consider it as a 2 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hotel Mozart is a decent choice for the money, but not impressing. The location canal-side and proximity to trams is fine, but the reception-area (with “restaurant”) is dull, and the rooms are very plain and have no working desk. Generally they are ok and clean, though the waste basket in my bathroom had not been emptied, and the cover to the power outlet went to the floor, when I pulled the plug for my PC. The door to the corridor doesn’t give much noise isolation, but at least there was very little activity in the corridor so no problem in my case.

Reception service attitude was somewhat lazy. The wifi on my floor didn’t work, so I complained in the evening. “The night man will look at it” was the response. The next morning it still didn’t work, and the wifi on the floor below, which I sometimes could catch with my PC, but not my Iphone, was gone as well!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Spent four nights at this hotel last week. Its a budget hotel and you basically get a value room that is small and compact. It is clean however it is in need redecoration. There is daily maid service with fresh towels. We did not stay for breakfast, it did not look inviting and was not good value from what we seen. Cold meat and cheese etc.

There was complementary wifi throughout the hotel. There appeared to be a mixed crowd of guests and maybe just chance that we experienced very noisy visitors. One particular problem that was more concerning, the maid did not close our room door after cleaning, we spent the whole day out not knowing our room door was left open. This did warrant a complaint to reception who assured us she would speak with the maid. That said overall was a pleasant stay.

Location of the hotel is perfect, just out of the centre, 4 stops on the tram, a 72 hour tram card was €16.50 and worth it. Took about ten minutes to get to central station. The area is full of bars and restaurants that were really competitively priced giving lots of choice, then all the usual high street fast food and coffee houses.

If you are looking for a clean budget hotel in a good location with free wifi then really would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed there for two nights during business trip. Simple, clean rooms, big window, standard bathroom.
Breakfast buffet.
Close to everything, 15 min walking distance to Red Light District, 5 min walking distance Leidseplein

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

loved it!
not your favorite 5 star hotel! but this hotel has a good price, very polite employees and they are very generous!
The hotel is clean, and the rooms are cleaned two if not three times a day!!
loved it and i would go back again!

Room Tip: try rooms on 1st floor because the ones on the fourth need an elevator, and the elevator is a turtle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is a good hotel for valuable price. Great location, close to Ledseplein and some tourist attractions.
Everything was clean, the staff are very kind.!.! I
We were satisfied, it is a great accommodation in Amsterdam.
I recommend not to have breakfast in the hotel. There are plenty other choices by 2 minutes walk.

Only the WIFI wasn't working properly and walls are very thin :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mozart Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.