We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, plain inside, no wifi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mozart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mozart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice location, plain inside, no wifi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hotel Mozart is a decent choice for the money, but not impressing. The location canal-side and proximity to trams is fine, but the reception-area (with “restaurant”) is dull, and the rooms are very plain and have no working desk. Generally they are ok and clean, though the waste basket in my bathroom had not been emptied, and the cover to the power outlet went to the floor, when I pulled the plug for my PC. The door to the corridor doesn’t give much noise isolation, but at least there was very little activity in the corridor so no problem in my case.

Reception service attitude was somewhat lazy. The wifi on my floor didn’t work, so I complained in the evening. “The night man will look at it” was the response. The next morning it still didn’t work, and the wifi on the floor below, which I sometimes could catch with my PC, but not my Iphone, was gone as well!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    74
    117
    67
    72
See reviews for
32
143
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Spent four nights at this hotel last week. Its a budget hotel and you basically get a value room that is small and compact. It is clean however it is in need redecoration. There is daily maid service with fresh towels. We did not stay for breakfast, it did not look inviting and was not good value from what we seen. Cold meat and cheese etc.

There was complementary wifi throughout the hotel. There appeared to be a mixed crowd of guests and maybe just chance that we experienced very noisy visitors. One particular problem that was more concerning, the maid did not close our room door after cleaning, we spent the whole day out not knowing our room door was left open. This did warrant a complaint to reception who assured us she would speak with the maid. That said overall was a pleasant stay.

Location of the hotel is perfect, just out of the centre, 4 stops on the tram, a 72 hour tram card was €16.50 and worth it. Took about ten minutes to get to central station. The area is full of bars and restaurants that were really competitively priced giving lots of choice, then all the usual high street fast food and coffee houses.

If you are looking for a clean budget hotel in a good location with free wifi then really would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed there for two nights during business trip. Simple, clean rooms, big window, standard bathroom.
Breakfast buffet.
Close to everything, 15 min walking distance to Red Light District, 5 min walking distance Leidseplein

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

loved it!
not your favorite 5 star hotel! but this hotel has a good price, very polite employees and they are very generous!
The hotel is clean, and the rooms are cleaned two if not three times a day!!
loved it and i would go back again!

Room Tip: try rooms on 1st floor because the ones on the fourth need an elevator, and the elevator is a turtle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is a good hotel for valuable price. Great location, close to Ledseplein and some tourist attractions.
Everything was clean, the staff are very kind.!.! I
We were satisfied, it is a great accommodation in Amsterdam.
I recommend not to have breakfast in the hotel. There are plenty other choices by 2 minutes walk.

Only the WIFI wasn't working properly and walls are very thin :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good Location for local trams & buses to and from the airport. Local coffee shops! Polite staff. Clean Bathroom but toilet had a stench of urine! .Small room. Walls could do with some paint! a bit grubby!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel was in a great location to explore the city. Room was small, with good size ensuite. Room was very clean, with towels and sheets changed every day, had tv, telephone and hairdryer. could hear some noise but nothing major Budget, no frills for good price. if you are looking for good value for money, this hotel is ideal. would stay again

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room with a view to get a bit more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mozart Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.