We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & clean but very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mozart Hotel to your Saves list
Mozart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    109
    153
    81
    84
See reviews for
44
182
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was an excellent location and well placed to view Amsterdam. The images seem like it would be a nice budget 3 star to stay at! Tram nearby and canals just outside we pictured a nice break. We were however very disappointed with the quality of the hotel. Rooms are small, we were placed in the lower floor with a view out of the window that was just full of bird mess and rubbish, the Tv and electrical cables/ plugs connecting lights were in poor state of repair and seemed dangerous. We asked to change room and were able to do this only the next day as it was fully booked. Fair enough but we did not sleep at all peacefully. After spending one night in this awefull room we were hopeful that the subsequent room would be better. Unfortunately the second room was not a great deal better. Not too clean and mattresses was old and uncomfortable to say the least. Will not be staying here ever again and hope no one else has the experience we did. Amsterdam was lovely place otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is o.k. if you want a cheap deal and use the room just for sleeping, showering and the toilet. As others have advised, you can spare booking the breakfast, better take something in the city. My single room in the basement was simple, but clean, and room service was well done.
The hotel is conveniently located for tourists, not too far from the city center, and even closer to the museums. There nearby tramway quickly takes you to many points of interest in the city. Nice restaurants nearby.
Service attitude is low, better not expect too much. The staff were friendly. They once asked me to pay 50 cents for printing out a single page (boarding pass), which I thought showed bad service attitude.
I might book again if the price was favorable by a clear margin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed in the Mozart Hotel for four nights in August 2013. The room was on the small side but we still had plenty of space, it was clean, quiet and I found the bed very comfortable. The location was great, a few minutes to the tram stop ,Prinsengracht' and close to everything else you'd want to see. From reading previous reviews I had the impression the staff would be unfriendly but we found them to be very helpful, nice and attentive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again! Remember that Amsterdam is a tourist city and the hotel prices are steep in areas like that! You can't expect a 5-star hotel for what the Mozart Hotel costs and in my opinion the value is very good for a hotel in a big city.

Room Tip: Our room number was 106 and I found it to be completely quiet and peaceful during the night and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

hotel is hard to find.
Do not leave your money or belongings lying around as you will never get it back even upon asking from the staff. Very rude to not get back regarding on lost item too! Not worth the money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel. In my mind this is maximum a two star hotel. There is no service at all. The room is quite small. The mattress is very hard. Lighting is insufficient. Luckily it is clean enough to spend a night. Location wise, the hotel is very far from the train central station. However, the hotel offers a quiet and peaceful stay by the canal. The best way to access to the hotel is by tram. It's around 15 mins by tram. Actually the city is best to explore by trams. it is wise to buy a GVB card which allows you to hop on/hop off the trams as often as you want. Watch out ! on the room booking. There are rooms in underground level. Make sure you get away from such room. There is no window at all. Especially In summer, the room will be very stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#244 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#283 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#79 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#198 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#87 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#75 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mozart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.