We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was o.k.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mozart Hotel to your Saves list
Mozart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aachen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was o.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is o.k. if you want a cheap deal and use the room just for sleeping, showering and the toilet. As others have advised, you can spare booking the breakfast, better take something in the city. My single room in the basement was simple, but clean, and room service was well done.
The hotel is conveniently located for tourists, not too far from the city center, and even closer to the museums. There nearby tramway quickly takes you to many points of interest in the city. Nice restaurants nearby.
Service attitude is low, better not expect too much. The staff were friendly. They once asked me to pay 50 cents for printing out a single page (boarding pass), which I thought showed bad service attitude.
I might book again if the price was favorable by a clear margin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    86
    134
    77
    81
See reviews for
36
160
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed in the Mozart Hotel for four nights in August 2013. The room was on the small side but we still had plenty of space, it was clean, quiet and I found the bed very comfortable. The location was great, a few minutes to the tram stop ,Prinsengracht' and close to everything else you'd want to see. From reading previous reviews I had the impression the staff would be unfriendly but we found them to be very helpful, nice and attentive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again! Remember that Amsterdam is a tourist city and the hotel prices are steep in areas like that! You can't expect a 5-star hotel for what the Mozart Hotel costs and in my opinion the value is very good for a hotel in a big city.

Room Tip: Our room number was 106 and I found it to be completely quiet and peaceful during the night and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

hotel is hard to find.
Do not leave your money or belongings lying around as you will never get it back even upon asking from the staff. Very rude to not get back regarding on lost item too! Not worth the money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel. In my mind this is maximum a two star hotel. There is no service at all. The room is quite small. The mattress is very hard. Lighting is insufficient. Luckily it is clean enough to spend a night. Location wise, the hotel is very far from the train central station. However, the hotel offers a quiet and peaceful stay by the canal. The best way to access to the hotel is by tram. It's around 15 mins by tram. Actually the city is best to explore by trams. it is wise to buy a GVB card which allows you to hop on/hop off the trams as often as you want. Watch out ! on the room booking. There are rooms in underground level. Make sure you get away from such room. There is no window at all. Especially In summer, the room will be very stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arrived at this hotel to find we couldn't actually access the hotel because they were digging the whole road up out the front!! Disappointed we were not made aware that there was going to building work.

We were given a ground floor room right near the reception which was slightly noisy but bearable; the room itself was very basic it had everything we needed but didn't wow us in anyway.

On the positive side it was a great loa action overlooking the canal and just a two minute walk to shops restaurant and bars! There was also a tram stop very near which made it very easy to travel around the whole city.

Overall if I returned to Amsterdam I would stay at this hotel only for the location.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in june. the staff were able to resolve any problems we had and found us a new room when building work outside made it impossible to sleep. bathrooms were spotless, bedrooms were fine, nothing special but location-wise, for 2 nights it was just right for an Amsterdam city break

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 518 - 520, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mozart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.