We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, no thrills!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quentin Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, no thrills!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Came here with two other mates, the room itself was quite modern, with a nice wet room, it wasn't cleaned though as it still had women's bobby pins and a belly button piercing still in there when we checked in.
The location is great, 20 minute walk from the red light district.
Don't bother with breakfast, ham cheese and bread, no pastry or hot items, awful coffee!
It was good enough for three lads to crash in after a days drinking and smoking, wouldn't take the mrs there though!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    105
    152
    94
    112
See reviews for
45
190
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turkler, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Economic Rooms are so small, no sleep because of elevator engine noise in this hotel. Prices seem reasonable but if you can't sleep, it doesnt't mean anything. Receptionist, the lady with glasses and red lips, she was extremely rude. She shouted us. The hotel policy is just taking money, no service, no hospitality...You can find any other hotel in Amsterdam. Please don't waste your money in this place.

Room Tip: avoid from this hotel......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last thursday to sunday.. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by a very friendly man who worked on the desk. We were given our room key and everything was sorted very quickly! Gave us a map and reccommended where to go and not to go. Room was very small but we were hardly there, its only for sleeping in! So didnt mind. Very clean room and bathroom. Fresh bed sheets and towels. Over all i thought this hotel was worth the stay and would visit again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Booked via booking.com. Toilet was blocked. Did not resolve issue and had to use public toilets despite paying for en-suite. The hygiene and cleanliness is probably the worst you will come across in the developed world. Booking.com did not help with a solution apart from writing apology letters.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room was so small. Of course, the hotel is in a former canal house so I expected the rooms to be small, but the bed and pillow were extremely poor quality and the room got very little light or fresh air because it looked onto an alley. The staff were polite but not particularly helpful and there were some days that housekeeping didn't come to my room. On the positive side, the bathroom, although basic, was very clean and the shower had good water pressure. The location is also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
The tiny room was dirty, stains on carpet, peeling paint and a terrible smell from the damp, unventilated bathroom. We complained and were moved to a different room - dark and dirty in places but a clean bathroom (shower, sink and toilet in 1.4m x 1.5m!) with immaculate towels and bedlinen.
The room was noisy. We could hear people talking in the next room and the noise form the lift machinery made it difficult to sleep.
The emergency exit route (a very steep staircase) remained blocked by building materials and rubbish (see photo) for the three days we were there so the chances of everyone getting out in a fire would have been slim.
The staircases are very steep and would be dangerous for small children and the elderly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while backpacking around europe. I found the staff really friendly and helpful and we had no problems. The room was very small but was to be expected for the price we paid and we made it work with our 2 big packs. The location is great and really close to the main city. I would stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam’s grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep.The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information.The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.