We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Save Saved
You added Quentin Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #281 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Budget friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice location close to the Leidesplein. Easy access to many sights including the Rijksmuseum. Prices are fairly cheap and as such the rooms are small. I think I had one of the cheapest rooms - #26. Not a great room. Right on the street and next to the reception so can be very noisy. Shared bathrooms and shower are 1 floor up. Single bed is very small and if you are over 6 ft (as I am) you will not fit length wise on the bed and may struggle with the width. There is a sink in the room which is handy for a quick wash up and to brush your teeth. Staff are very friendly and if all you intend to do is spend minimal time in your room then this budget option could be a good choice. Just try and avoid room #26.

Room Tip: Avoid room #26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    86
    121
    65
    84
See reviews for
36
144
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel - we booked over New years so paid just under £400 for 3 nights.
Excellent location - walking distance from all main areas. We had booked a smaller economy room and requested 2 rooms next to each other. We were greeted by a polite lady - checked us in to rooms next to each other - thank you!
The rooms were small but were exactly what we needed - clean, very comfy bed, all essentials.
Hotel is decorated lovely, staff are polite, rooms are clean, comfy and for the price we paid over New Years in a city centre hotel I think Quentin hotel was brilliant. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Perfect location for visiting many of the sights, canal tour stops outside! Right on the fantastic tram system which is well worth investigating as can just hop on & off for 2 days for about 12 Euros, great value and with so much to see, saves your feet from a lot of walking! Quiet rooms, even though just behind a busy square. Staff so helpful and friendly. Breakfast leisurely and a good start to the day. Its a typical old Amsterdam house so some rooms are small, but comfortable and warm (we were there in December). Would use again as so convenient and staff made it a pleasure to stay there, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed with some friends for three nights in three rooms. Basement rooms smell of damp and one of them was like an oven. The room I stayed in was small but ok. Biggest issue was with a small frame I still manged to scold myself in the shower as it's so small it's easy to hit the tap to hit (very hot)

Room Tip: Higher rooms recommended due to damp smell in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I choose this hotel cause the reviews were pretty good when I made the reservation! Well I couldn't disagree more! Really tiny rooms, bathroom practically unreal.... Are you kidding? You call that a three star hotel? I booked through booking.com and asked for 3 double rooms and 2 double rooms with single beds... They made the wrong reservation... The beds are so small that you can't fit! We had only a towel each instead of two as stated in the information! I called and they told me there was a hair dryer in each room... Well that was not true! The only good thing about this hotel is the location! Right in front at the bus to go to the airport and very close by almost all the main attractions!! So if you are not peaky I recommend it otherwise choose some other hotel!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there on November 02nd for a one nighter in Amsterdam. I have to say, the price of hotels/hostels in Amsterdam generally is really expensive and this was one of the cheapest we found. It was around 90 euro for one night for a twin room. Upon arrival we were given a key card for our room (room number 7) and after going back to reception to say that the key card wouldnt open the door, they had to let us in with their master key. Each time we needed to be let in, they had to use their masterkey to let us into the room! Yikes! Then the size of the room was quite small but the worst part of it was the window! There was a window, but it opened up to a courtyard that was absolutely tiny, so the amount of light getting into the room was zero. But the worst part of the room was the continual noise coming from a boiler or some electrical thing in the hotel. I swear to God, it droned on every 60 seconds and would last 5 seconds at a time. This went on throughout the night. This meant that we couldnt open the window to let in some air because the noise of this "yoke" was way too overpowering. Avoid room number 007 at all cost, it might be James Bonds' signature number but there aint nothing glamorous about this room!

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms in the basement (rooms 1 to 12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Some say that you get what you pay for, right? Ok, me and my friends paid for a triple room, but one of us had to sleep on some kind of camp bed!

Didn't pretend too much (it's quite cheap if you consider the location), but just 3 standard beds and some decent daily cleaning!

Next time we'll choose a youth hostel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam’s grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep.The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information.The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.