We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most expensive hotel per square meter I have ever visited!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Quentin Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #282 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most expensive hotel per square meter I have ever visited!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although i agree that the location of the hotel is really convenient, as it's walking distance from the city centre and museums, and i certainly think that the accommodation would be totally appropriate for Eur50-60 per night. But having paid Eur 250 per night for a 6m2 room where i could touch the walls with both hands at the same time was quite shocking.
The rooms are equipped with mere basics such as water glasses. There was not a sign of a kettle! The ironing board was so tiny that was nearly impossible to use and even then there was no place to put it! There is also no breakfast included and the one provided at additional cost although tastes OK is far too expensive for what it is. So my advice would be to go to this hotel only if you travel for pleasure (not business), have lots of spare cash and really like tiny spaces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Comments from our guests are extremely important, allowing us to identify our strengths and highlight opportunities for improvement.
I am so sorry to hear your stay with us was so disappointing.
I appreciate your honesty and would like to take this opportunity to address all of your concerns.

I completely understand your disappointment in regards to bed situation but the layout of all our Economy rooms is indeed compact.
I apologise that we were unable to offer you other room options, due to the hotel running at very high occupancy during your stay.
We are currently already working on a full refurbishment of all rooms in the hotel as well as updating our rooms with new bedding, amenities and equipment.
Thank you also for the feedback regarding the pricing of our breakfast, such valuable comments are much appreciated.

I will look personally into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel services.

We hope that we can restore your confidence in us and look forward to welcoming you back to Quentin Amsterdam some day in the future.

With best regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    97
    133
    79
    99
See reviews for
42
157
43
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm County, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

II booked four rooms, (for myself and staff) for a trade fair (IBC) at RAI and this hotel had a link on their web site which I assumed was some sort of recommendation, which it definitely cannot have been. I was informed on beforehand that we got tripple rooms. Though I did not expect the rooms to look like dormitories, Only beds and no space in between.

Rooms were not clean - there was a bad small of dump, probably from moisture from leaking bathrooms. My room was on the 3rd floor so it was not from the channel. I even got bites from something(bug ?) Once back home all my clothes went straight into the washing machine. Be advised not to put your cloths on another bed or on the floor. Incidentally the floor was covered with a wall to wall carpet with wholes in it. The handle for the cold water fell of and was not replaced during my stay, despite my reminders. So I had to turn a tiny little screw in order to shower.

The positive; Reiksmuseum, van Gogh Museum are only 10 min walk away, Service staff is friendly and maintenace staff invisible and the breakfast is ok.

My advise book here only if all other hotels are full!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us.
We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel services.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your valuable comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel sets on a very pretty place on the canal and you are right by the place to get the canal tours. The breakfast was 12 euros and was only bread, rolls, tea and coffee. We went for a 5 minute walk (with my 83 year old mother) to an awesome tea room/restaurant called Greenwoods where we sat by the canal and had a full breakfast for 9 euros and my son had an omelette breakfast for 10. The room had major flood issues in the bathroom. Other rooms did too. The tiles were not sloped correctly and the water poured all over the floor. They cheerfully gave us extra towels but you needed 2 floor towels per shower. The triple room had folding bed that kept falling down. The second time they fixed it, it held. The room was clean, most of the staff was friendly and helpful. One of our two nights was not quiet. I think there is a bar or something and there was door banging, calling out, etc. For the price, it is a good deal and we loved the location.

Room Tip: If you don't like to be bothered, stay on a weekday or get a room that is not over the front doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Our second visit to Amsterdam and hoped we had chosen well. Room 24 was on the ground floor "inside" of the hotel. Our window looked out onto the inner tube which meant no proper daylight and curtains had to be closed 24/7 as other inside windows could see in. The heat in our cupboard of a bedroom was almost unbearable. A large ceiling fan did help and had to be left on all night. The window could not be left open as there was a continuous loud noise which we think was boiler firing up supplying hot water. Clean linen on beds and towels changed daily. Dusty skirting boards.Tiny wardrobe and no drawers. Staff efficient and friendly. Good breakfast in a small breakfast room which could be very busy as more guests than tables.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel and ask for room on outside/ canal side of hotel and book the best one you can as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Amsterdam has the highest concentration of people per square kilometer in Europe, so don't expect a big room. I chose this hotel because it had an elevator since all the stairs in Amsterdam are quite tiny. This is in a quiet area near the museums and overlooking the canal. The room is very basic, but there is an elevator and reliable wifi. The staff is so nice. When I checked in, the manager asked me what I wanted to see and gave me a map, marking off all the places I wanted to go so I could plan my itinerary. Be sure to visit one of the ticket and tour kiosks to buy your tickets ahead of time so you don't have to stand in line. Also, take a day to go on a tour of the windmills, clog-making and cheese factory so you can experience life outside of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

When you look for a Hotel by the city map, the reviews or the pictures, you try to choose the best, We were very lucky with this election. The location was perfect: in a walking distance to everything but in a quiet street. The decoracion was really nice, the place was very clean the service ,everithig was better than expected for the price we paid...The triple room with canal views, the room 210, was really homelike.
No cupboard , only hangers in the room...Enough for a short stay..

Room Tip: quiet street,close to everything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.
Booked two single canal view rooms - got 2 doubles, 1 that looked out onto the roof and back and one the canal if you stood on tip toes. On check in the receptionist tried to charge is £138 instead of £101.Luckily we had printed confirmation with us.
No explanation as to why we didn't have the rooms we booked (later enquiries revealed that the rooms we had booked were "having maintenance".
One room on third floor was small clean but looked onto roof. One room on 4th floor, very very tatty. `no plug socket except the one up on the wall with tv. `Unless you want to stand on a desk and doing your hair or have your mobile hanging swinging on charge, its not very good.
After half an hour or so I was presented with a mobile and adapter to plug multiple things in. So I climbed up and duly plugged it - it didn't reach so had to balance on various things.
The room on floor 4 needs gutting. There are a number of light bulbs over your head on the bed - you might get quite a burn if you wanted to read in bed etc. The towels are little bigger than a tea towel so take your own. There was lots of rubbish out the front of the hotel.

The only good points to hotel is the location, mins walk from the tram and the staff were very helpful.

Would I return - unless they spruce this hotel up and clean it - def not! It as 3* - how I dont know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam’s grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep.The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information.The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.