We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, dirty rooms, Dangerous plug sockets (via extension leads from high up on the wall)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quentin Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, dirty rooms, Dangerous plug sockets (via extension leads from high up on the wall)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.
Booked two single canal view rooms - got 2 doubles, 1 that looked out onto the roof and back and one the canal if you stood on tip toes. On check in the receptionist tried to charge is £138 instead of £101.Luckily we had printed confirmation with us.
No explanation as to why we didn't have the rooms we booked (later enquiries revealed that the rooms we had booked were "having maintenance".
One room on third floor was small clean but looked onto roof. One room on 4th floor, very very tatty. `no plug socket except the one up on the wall with tv. `Unless you want to stand on a desk and doing your hair or have your mobile hanging swinging on charge, its not very good.
After half an hour or so I was presented with a mobile and adapter to plug multiple things in. So I climbed up and duly plugged it - it didn't reach so had to balance on various things.
The room on floor 4 needs gutting. There are a number of light bulbs over your head on the bed - you might get quite a burn if you wanted to read in bed etc. The towels are little bigger than a tea towel so take your own. There was lots of rubbish out the front of the hotel.

The only good points to hotel is the location, mins walk from the tram and the staff were very helpful.

Would I return - unless they spruce this hotel up and clean it - def not! It as 3* - how I dont know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    115
    182
    107
    134
See reviews for
52
219
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location, clean, average breakfast, no A/C, amenities and service need simple improvements (our 3 bed room had no cupboard or any other equipment to help us organize. This is not a hotel room but a dormitory. We were given only body-towels and one day none at all! After complining we got the full set. However only one hook in the shower to hang all up?)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

No stream in the shower. Water won't got down in the toilet and also not in the shower- resulting in daily flooding in the bathroom with not enough towels to cope with it. Service was bad. Overall bad experience. Would never come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am very and pleasent suprised about this hotel. it is clean and it has a best location in amsterdam.all major atractions in the city are i cca 1 km around this hotel.it is also cheep for amsterdam. Service was very professional and helpful. Room was clean and decent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was an inexpensive hotel about 20 mins walk from Central Station but once you are at the hotel you are close to the Canal Cruise of my choice and also within short walking distance of the Museum Square.

Small, narrow room. Clean bathroom.

Adequate and a good deal for a quick overnight stay.

Free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Second time staying at this hotel even got the same room. Hotel is still as good as it was when I was here the last time. Staff were always happy to help and really friendly. Room was clean and also the bathroom, would recommend having more towels and toilet roll for the bathroom but everything worked fine. Staying here in July its very warm at night and we had to sleep with the window open but this didn't upset our stay. Hotel is located right next to leidseplein square were there are loads of bars and restaurant, and you can get trams 1,2, and 5 to central station.

Over all I would recommend this hotel to friends.
But I think I would try out another hotel the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

About 15 of us stayed here on a stag do.

The rooms were all decent and clean and comfortable.

Some of us had shared bathrooms but this wasnt too much of an issue.

The rooms were of a decent size.

All rooms in Amsterdam are quiet small but these were above average.

The hotel staff were friendly and informative.

I tried to stay here again after but it was booked up.
But i would look to stay here again when visiting Amsterdam.
It is in an excellent location just 1 minute from Leidseplein Square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#251 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#244 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#250 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#109 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.