We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE PLACE - DO NOT STAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dam Hotel to your Saves list
Dam Hotel
Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #298 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE PLACE - DO NOT STAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked for 2 nights online to stay at Dam Hotel. The took an extra 210 euro out of my account without even telling me. They said this charge was incase I didnt turn up after booking online. They had nothing on their website about this extra charge. After I turned up and paid for the full accommodation, they did not return my 210 euro. Didnt even mention they had taken it. It wasnt until my card kept declining and I checked my account that I realised they had taken the 210 euro. When I confronted them at reception, they said they will return it in 7 days. (What was the point in getting it back in 7 days when I was leaving the country the next day!!) So demanding for it to be returned, they said they had done the transaction and returned the money into my account. IT WAS NOT RETURNED. After more confrontation, they said it might take a few days for the transaction to go through. Over a week later, back in my own country thousands of miles away, I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY 210 EURO. THEY SCAM YOU. DO NOT BOOK HERE. BE WARNED!!!
Also the rooms are TINY. Barely any space at all. We had to take turns opening our suitcases because of such little space. They say free wifi available, BUT IT DOES NOT WORK, Only on the first floor, but every other floor, the wifi does not work. WORST PLACE TO STAY, TERRIBLE SERVICE, TERRIBLE RECEPTION.

Room Tip: Just don;t book here at all!!! BE WARNED
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    31
    24
    50
See reviews for
8
38
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here in june 2013 for 3 nights. Don't expect a big or luxurios room, but a and clean room. However we had a room on the 4th floor and the view was amazing. If you also consider the very reasonable prices, the fantastic location and the good staff, this hotel is absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading reviews and seeing pictures we were dreading the 2 night stay.

check in was after 2pm however we arrived at 10am and they had no issue letting us into the room earlier....

room had been bleached ... very clean tidy appearance

basic room, fantastic location (2 mins for EVERYTHING), very well priced!

lost our key paid 10E for a replacement which was refunded once we found the other one.

reception reasonably ok staff - done there job.

all in all really good find!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from a fab weekend away in Amsterdam. Stayed at the Dam Hotel, and booked through booking.com. We went for the cheap option so wasn't expecting luxury, especially after reading the bad reviews.

The hotel was easy to find, only a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Train Station. The location was great - very close to Dam Square, shops, bars and red light district.

There were building works going on when we were there (April 2013) but they only worked during the week, not at weekends and it started about 8am. Nice early wake up call! ;)

We arrived in the morning but weren't able to check in until 2pm so they let us store our suitcases in their locked storage room. The building we checked into wasn't the same building as where our room was though, so we had to walk a few doors down the street to get to our room.

Our room was on the 5th floor - there was a lift but you had to walk up one flight of steep stairs to the first floor before getting in it so wouldn't recommend it to anyone with difficulty walking!

We found the room to be basic, but clean and comfortable. There wasn't a lot of space but there was a big cupboard and a desk to put your stuff. The heating was working fine.. we had to turn the radiators down as it was on full blast! Nice big window to let in the air (although not a nice view lol) Bed was really comfortable and there was plenty of blankets.

Room had its own bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. All clean. The water was very intermittent though - took ages to get hot and then completely cut out mid shower!! That happened every day we were there but water came back on after a minute or so.

Our room was next to the lift so found it was quite noisy every now and again but I took ear plugs for when I was sleeping so didn't notice it as much as my partner!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We are quite laid back people and only really needed a place to sleep as we were out and about most of the time.

I would recommend the Budget Dam Hotel to anyone in need of a good location, clean basic accommodation at a low cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#235 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#278 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#239 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#217 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#213 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dam Hotel

Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.