We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Times Hotel to your Saves list
The Times Hotel
Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One night stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and nice this hotel was for the price and location. The reception staff was very pleasant and efficient. Special note: there is an elevator, but if you have a large bag, be prepared to lift it up and down a few stairs as you navigate from the elevator to your room.My room was very clean and cheery and compact in size but perfect for my quick visit to the city center in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    126
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
30
111
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend to celebrate my b-day. The hotel location is really good, you can take #2,5,9 trams from the Central Station to get there only after 3-4 stops. This is a very small hotel, which is friendly and the manager is a really nice and funny Lady. She helped us to solve some problem, which occurred during our first night and she was extremely helpful, which we do appreciate. I can suggest this hotel not only because of its great location, but because of the helpful management.

Room Tip: Room number 453 is a small, but a good one, but the view is not a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is just amazing. Had a room for 4 and I must say that was very good value for money. The rooms was spacious, very clean and very quiet.
I would like to outlined the fact that the staff was very very nice and always keen to help. Was my first time in This hotel and for sure it won't be the last.
BRAVO

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Could not have picked a better location alongside the lovely canals that wind through this beautiful city. The staff could not have been more accomodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Arrived early morning Saturday and were offered a room without having to drop our luggage and return. The room was more than adequate for an overnight stay or longer, clean, warm and modern with tea and coffee making facilities, although we preferred taking coffee in the lounge overlooking the canal . My daughter and I were in the city for 2 days for the Christmas markets, wonderful atmosphere day and until late at night. We were gobsmacked as we walked out onto the street at night with the beauty of the homes all lit up and the bridges!! We took a cocktail cruise which is not to be missed to take in the central canals. Baggage store was a big advantage at the hotel as we weren't leaving the city until late on the Sunday.
For a comfortable stay with hospitality at its best and central location, The Times Hotel cannot be beaten for value for money!!
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Times Hotel was excellent.. great location right on one of the many canals and close to everything. Great room, small however we felt like we where in Van Gogh's room as the whole wall was the painting of his room :) They offer breakfast for a fee we ate out, there's so much to see and do in Amsterdam you just want to get out there...
We had a few drinks out the front with a little platter and it was so relaxing after riding bikes around all day.
The Black Bike's where great we tagged along with a few other bike tours and found our way around very easily. Great atmosphere great customer service and all round awesome experience. Van Gogh's Museum and Anna Frank Haus are a must. Red light district is a definite... The Times will definitely see us back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Times is in a great location - no question. But the rooms are very small - and the pictures on the website are misleading at best. Cramped is the best word to describe them. We felt one room had basicailly been made into two. The shower/bathrooom areas are very basic and tired. Overall we felt the whole place could do with some rennovation. Staff also not that friendly/helpful, and prices pretty high for what you get.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Times Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.