We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time at The Times Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Times Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Times Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Time at The Times Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Times Hotel was excellent.. great location right on one of the many canals and close to everything. Great room, small however we felt like we where in Van Gogh's room as the whole wall was the painting of his room :) They offer breakfast for a fee we ate out, there's so much to see and do in Amsterdam you just want to get out there...
We had a few drinks out the front with a little platter and it was so relaxing after riding bikes around all day.
The Black Bike's where great we tagged along with a few other bike tours and found our way around very easily. Great atmosphere great customer service and all round awesome experience. Van Gogh's Museum and Anna Frank Haus are a must. Red light district is a definite... The Times will definitely see us back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    107
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
29
92
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Times is in a great location - no question. But the rooms are very small - and the pictures on the website are misleading at best. Cramped is the best word to describe them. We felt one room had basicailly been made into two. The shower/bathrooom areas are very basic and tired. Overall we felt the whole place could do with some rennovation. Staff also not that friendly/helpful, and prices pretty high for what you get.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The positives are the lovely friendly staff and the great location. You are made to feel welcome and all the major sights are walking distance away.
However, i found the rooms to be cramped and a bit dirty really. There was a seal missing from our shower door so the bathroom became a swamp. They could also do with putting a Hoover around the room!
I was also disappointed with the price of a bottle of water from the hotel- 5 euros!
All in all, a good stay in what could be a lovely boutique hotel- just need to make a bit more effort with the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great for our purposes. We like smaller hotels that are updated, modern, and friendly. This met the bill! This was a last minute booking for us the night before we left Europe. We stayed at an awful hotel in Amsterdam earlier on our trip and during that period, we walked by the Times and it looked interesting. We walked in, made a reservation and it turned out to be a great experience. I only wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed one night at The Times Hotel before setting off on a river cruise. Absolutely loved the location, quaintness and cleanliness. We arrived early in the day and they front desk gentleman kindly took our bags, showed us where the washroom was and then we set off to discover Amsterdam. Upon returning mid-afternoon, our room was ready. The rooms are on the small side but plenty of room for two women with a suitcase each. Very good location and we walked everywhere. The breakfast was perfect for what we required with great coffee machine. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and if I'm ever again in Amsterdam would certainly book it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A 10-minute walk to Centraal Station. Just on the outskirts of the Jordaan neighborhood on a canal, easy walk to a number of sights (Anne Frank House and some great small museums) and shopping. Major tram lines running just a few blocks away for other sightseeing. Grocery and self-serve or drop-off laundromats within walking for those staying more than a few nights. Hotel common areas and room clean & kept up nicely. Many rooms face canal. Had a room that faced into a very small interior courtyard. Good size room with a queen bed, desk and a large wardrobe to stash luggage, hang clothing or store on ample shelving. Definitely not your standard, cookie-cutter type hotel rooms - fun wall murals and you can see the old canal-house features in some of the rooms - mine had 2 very tiny steps that led up to the area where the bed was from the bathroom. Cable tv w/ plenty of English channels. Lots of light with big windows (although be careful if you have toddlers and open the windows for some fresh air as the windows are very large and fairly low to the ground). Very large bathroom with a full size tub/shower. Stairs from lobby up to rooms are not overly steep like other hotels in Amsterdam, but The Times has a reliable elevator which is great for when you need to get your luggage up or down from the room. Breakfast additional charge so skipped it, but plenty of places to get something to eat nearby. Front desk staff pleasant enough. Soundproofing not the greatest in between the rooms, but it's a renovated canal house - not a Hilton - so it should be expected. There is a coffee house (Amnesia) next door to the hotel, but you'd hardly know it was there. The customers coming and going throughout the day and evening are pretty quiet, unlike some of the other coffee houses in the Red Light District. Overall, nice stay and I would book at The Times again and recommend it to others headed to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Times Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.