We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsenhuis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Prinsenhuis to your Saves list
Prinsenhuis
Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Just came back from a great weekend in Amsterdam. Prinsenhuis has an excellent location, minutes away from the tram station, bakery, restaurants, shops.... Even if you decide to walk, you are literally minutes away from Museumplein, Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum, or the Dam Square if you are going in the other direction.
We stayed at the Coral apartment which is on the top floor. It has a nice layout, spacious livingroom area, and great view to the Prinsengracht canal. The only dissapointment was that heavy, sliding bathroom glass door could not be closed, so, before booking, you might want to check with the owner if he fixed it. :-)
The stairs leading to the second floor are a bit steep,but you get used to it quickly. And in the back there is a small elevator for you luggage, so you don't have to carry it all the way.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anagard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Staying at the Prinsenhius is like living in the apartment of your dreams smack bang in the middle of Amsterdam. The idea here seems to be to give you the experience of living in Amsterdam, not being a tourist, and the little extras (like free wifi, a free local phone, cable tv channels and a well outfitted kitchen) achieve exactly that. I felt so comfortable and at home in the Tea Leaf apartment after only a couple of days that my husband had to remind me that we had to move out eventually.

We stayed here for 10 days, including both Christmas and New Year. On our first morning, we were met by the new owner, who let us in out of the snow, and then called by later so we could pay up front. There were only a couple of very minor teething problems - a battery missing from the phone (perhaps taken by the previous tenants) which was immediately replaced, a few minor issues with the wifi connecting with an iPhone - but overall the service the entire time we were there was exemplary. He was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure that we were happy with everything.

The building is located on the Prinsengracht, and the views from the front windows and from the balcony at the back are spectacular. There is a great coffee and bagel shop and an Albert Hein supermarket a minute or two away. It's five to ten minutes walk to a couple of very good coffeeshops, to Reguliersdwarsstraat and the Flower Market and the shopping streets in one direction, to the Museum district in the other, and to some amazing food shops and restaurants on Utrechtsestraat in yet another. As a location for enjoying the best of Amsterdam, it's very hard to beat.

The Tea Leaf apartment takes up an entire floor of an old canal house, and consists of a pretty large living room/kitchen area, a good sized bathroom and a small but comfortable bedroom which leads onto the balcony. The decor is quite lovely, and although the use of very strong colours (green in this case) is quite striking and perhaps a little much at first, it grew on us quite quickly over the course of our stay. The couch is comfortable - perfect for lying on and watching the street - and there is a bench for eating at which is quite functional. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the glasses, crockery and cooking equipment you could need, plus a very good stove and dishwasher and a huge fridge.

There is storage room galore. The wardrobe in the bedroom would benefit from some more shelves, but otherwise there is room for everything.

The bathroom is also great, with a nice design, a great bathtub, a heated floor, a washing machine and a heated towel rail which serves to dry clothes on very quickly. The only thing I disliked was the shower, which had lots of hot water but the shower head sent the water out at an odd angle. The fact that this is the worst thing I can come up with to say should be an indication of how well thought out the design of the apartment was overall.

The bed was incredibly comfortable, with soft sheets and a very warm duvet, plus a Dutch Husband pillow. The comfort was let down a little by the other pillows which were slightly thin IKEA ones, but again, this is a minor complaint.

The apartment was well heated, and we were quite warm despite the snow and freezing temperatures outside. The balcony is tiny but functional for two people, and perfect for the odd friendly smoke, even in the dead of winter. The cleaner came every three days during our stay to clean and provided clean towels and sheets, and the entire apartment was spotlessly clean.

I loved staying here - it felt like home. We will be back, because I doubt I could bring myself to stay in a hotel in Amsterdam again, or indeed anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tattoosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

It is a very nice place to stay. Excellent facilities including high speed internet. Margriet was very helpfull and supportive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTravellerInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I stayed in the Mandarin room (ground floor) of the Prisenhuis apartments over the Christmas period. This is an exceptional apartment - stylish, comfortable and with lots of mod cons (Sky TV featuring British channels, coffee maker, fantastic bath and shower to name but a few). The location is on the lovely Prisengracht canal which is very central. Tram number 16 will take you to the central station. On my stay I met the new owner who was very helpful and welcoming. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManontheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Enjoyed my stay at the Prinsenhuis. This was my first time at this location. Brick, the owner, was very helpful with any questions I had. I stayed at the Mandarin on the ground floor. Great kitchen to cook your own meals. Two tvs with satellite programming. Your own private patio. No noise.Nicely decorated. I found the place to be clean.There also was a phone and fax machine if needed. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nova201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed in Prinsenhuis while my family was visiting Holland. We selected it based on TripAdvisor and other recommendations. First of all, the location is fantastic! Very nice area and very centrally located. Our room was a one bedroom, very comfortable for our family. The kitchen is also very handy for a family and there is even a washer dryer!!! The place is exceptionally well stocked -- when you arrive the refrigerator already has items and you can suggest things to the manager via email ahead of time. Really, there are only two drawbacks -- 1. the VERY steep stairs!!! and 2. the place is just not clean at all!! We had to re-wash the dishes before we used them, the floor was dirty, and the extra blanket was smelly and dirty. I would say that you should stay here depending on what is important to you - if price and value are more important than cleanliness, this is the place for you!

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Room was not clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brickogden, owner, manager at Prinsenhuis, responded to this review, April 16, 2009
We want to respond to the review why our guest found the apartment untidy. We had just hired a new lady to clean our building and she was very nervous about getting the apartment cleaned by the 14:00 check-in time. It is true and she informed us that did not clean the wooden floors because she felt she had not enough time. We have since explained to her that it is more important for our guests to check-in a little later to a perfectly clean apartment rather than check-in on time to a not perfectly cleaned apartment. We have not had a complaint before or since about cleanliness in the Prinsenhuis, and we thank our guest for bringing this to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

This lovely little apartment building in Amsterdam is a great find. It's located along a canal, a short walk from the main tourist areas. The tram is only a 5 minute walk away.

We stayed in the Mandarin Suite (the smallest), which is on the ground floor. The suite was impeccably clean, very cute, and tastefully decorated in orange tones. There is hardwood flooring throughout. There is a full kitchen and washing machine, and a small bedroom with adjoining patio. The suite was very funky, stylish, and modern. It had a very homey feeling, which was exactly what we needed after our exhausting travels!

The staff stocked the fridge for us with orange juice, milk, and wine, and there was also coffee, cocoa, cereal, bread and jam for breakfast in the morning. If there is anything else you would like, you can inform the innkeeper, who will purchase it on your behalf and place it in the suite for you.

For the price, I don't think we could have done better in terms of accomodations in Amsterdam - the Prinsenhuis is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ProudCanadian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,006 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#64 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhuis

Address: Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinsenhuis is a newly renovated 18th century monument canal house, and home to some of the most beautiful and exclusive apartments in Amsterdam. The location is the famous Prinsengracht, situated in the heart of the old city centre. Guests can choose from a number of fully equipped 5 star apartments, provided with everything they need to live and work in luxury. Each apartment offers sublime views over the Prinsengracht canal and picturesque traditional Dutch houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Prinsenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing