We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsenhuis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prinsenhuis to your Saves list
Prinsenhuis
Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unclean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked a romantic weekend at this apartment only to be so disappointed that we relocated to a different hotel. The apartment had not bee cleaned properly with dirty kitchen utensils and spilt food on the oven hob. In addition, there were a number of pubic hairs in the bed.

Furniture was also ripped and torn and the bathroom was not as described on the website, there were no "luxury" toiletries and the bath had been removed.

We were also surprised by the apathy of the owner when this was highlighted to him.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwinblok, Manager at Prinsenhuis, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Trip advisor user,

This is a false review. Please read the dates the review is posted and the date the guests stayed. The difference is 5 months. If it was really dirty the guest would send in the review not 5 months later.

The review is from Andrew Wright. He is a manager with Deloitte UK. You would expect that employees of such a componay would have certain ethical standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here with two small children, wasn't sure about the stairs at first but not a problem overall. The owner was very helpful, had our interests and needs at heart and kept a well stocked kitchen giving peace of mind knowing we didn't have to rush out for the essentials. Also really helpful with baby stuff. Ideal location, short walk to the town centre but far away enough from the more 'eccentric' end of town. Would definitely stay here again. There is also a large market nearby

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Mandarin room on the ground floor - great no steps. Very clean, comfortable bed, great view of the canal. Edwin had wine, beer & cokes waiting for us. The location was wonderful just a walk away from the Rijksmuseum, the canal cruises, hop-on hop-off bus and on the same street as the Anne Frank museum. All the restaurants Edwin recommended were delicious, especially Fyra - best meal in Amstedam and the steakhouse Piet de leeuw.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in Tea Leaf the first time in 2011 and without hesitation selected it for our second visit in 2014. The location is superb for sightseeing, no need even for a public transit card to get around.

The location is generally very quiet, although I can certainly sympathize with guests who were disturbed by noisy parties nearby.

Our favorite evening entertainment was to watch the private boats and sightseeing boats traveling slowly down the Prisengraf Canal from our easy chairs in the living room.

Room Tip: Travel light: there is no lift and the authentic Dutch architecture features narrow, winding stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

first time in amsterdam, 3 of us stayed here in the green apartment. Nice spacious, clean apartment, couldn't fault it at all. Amazing bagel shop on the corner. Very good supermarket also around the corner. If we decide to visit amsterdam again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for my daughters 16th birthday and the apartment could not have been any nicer, it truly lived up to our expectations. The location was wonderful and the owner gave us fabulous reccomendations for area restaurants!
I would recommend (and have already done so!) this place to everyone!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are really sad to be leaving this review, as our first impressions of Prinsenhuis were really good and it seemed just the kind of place we had been looking for in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, all this was shattered at around 10.30pm when a group of lads in the upstairs apartment started playing music really loud (like we had a nightclub directly above us) and shouting like morons. We just wanted to go to sleep after a long day travelling, so promptly packed our things and checked into somewhere else. We returned today to hand over our key and speak to the owner, who was moderately apologetic, but I wasn't convinced he gave a hoot really - we'd paid in advance and that was that. A real shame, as if it weren't for a bunch of idiots I reckon we'd have really enjoyed our stay, but I guess with this type of accommodation it's always a risk as to who else is there at the same time - as a result we would think twice about booking an apartment in the future, particularly somewhere like Amsterdam, where despite reported efforts to clean up the place a bit, gangs of marauding British halfwits still seem in abundance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinsenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhuis

Address: Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinsenhuis is a newly renovated 18th century monument canal house, and home to some of the most beautiful and exclusive apartments in Amsterdam. The location is the famous Prinsengracht, situated in the heart of the old city centre. Guests can choose from a number of fully equipped 5 star apartments, provided with everything they need to live and work in luxury. Each apartment offers sublime views over the Prinsengracht canal and picturesque traditional Dutch houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prinsenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsenhuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.