We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsenhuis

Save Saved
You added Prinsenhuis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prinsenhuis
Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Katy, Tx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Mandarin room on the ground floor - great no steps. Very clean, comfortable bed, great view of the canal. Edwin had wine, beer & cokes waiting for us. The location was wonderful just a walk away from the Rijksmuseum, the canal cruises, hop-on hop-off bus and on the same street as the Anne Frank museum. All the restaurants Edwin recommended were delicious, especially Fyra - best meal in Amstedam and the steakhouse Piet de leeuw.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in Tea Leaf the first time in 2011 and without hesitation selected it for our second visit in 2014. The location is superb for sightseeing, no need even for a public transit card to get around.

The location is generally very quiet, although I can certainly sympathize with guests who were disturbed by noisy parties nearby.

Our favorite evening entertainment was to watch the private boats and sightseeing boats traveling slowly down the Prisengraf Canal from our easy chairs in the living room.

Room Tip: Travel light: there is no lift and the authentic Dutch architecture features narrow, winding stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

first time in amsterdam, 3 of us stayed here in the green apartment. Nice spacious, clean apartment, couldn't fault it at all. Amazing bagel shop on the corner. Very good supermarket also around the corner. If we decide to visit amsterdam again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for my daughters 16th birthday and the apartment could not have been any nicer, it truly lived up to our expectations. The location was wonderful and the owner gave us fabulous reccomendations for area restaurants!
I would recommend (and have already done so!) this place to everyone!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are really sad to be leaving this review, as our first impressions of Prinsenhuis were really good and it seemed just the kind of place we had been looking for in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, all this was shattered at around 10.30pm when a group of lads in the upstairs apartment started playing music really loud (like we had a nightclub directly above us) and shouting like morons. We just wanted to go to sleep after a long day travelling, so promptly packed our things and checked into somewhere else. We returned today to hand over our key and speak to the owner, who was moderately apologetic, but I wasn't convinced he gave a hoot really - we'd paid in advance and that was that. A real shame, as if it weren't for a bunch of idiots I reckon we'd have really enjoyed our stay, but I guess with this type of accommodation it's always a risk as to who else is there at the same time - as a result we would think twice about booking an apartment in the future, particularly somewhere like Amsterdam, where despite reported efforts to clean up the place a bit, gangs of marauding British halfwits still seem in abundance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hadn’t finished unpacking before starting to plan another stay in this stunning canal house apartment. Every detail has been thoughtfully seen to in terms of design and convenience, with so many extra individual touches. Unrivalled view, enchanting ambience and a bath tub to die for! Even a balcony & very near local transport. Best place for experiencing Amsterdam, but it’s really so fantastic, you won’t want to leave the place!

Room Tip: For a canal house, stairs not so steep that you can’t choose room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Mandarin apartment for 2 nights. It is a great location, overlooking the picturesque Prinsengracht canal (same street as Anne Frank Huis). A lovely escape from the busy centre but still close enough to everything. Apartment very well equipped and with nice extras such as complimentary wine and beer. Much better value for money than staying in a hotel given the space and canal location. Great nearby cafes for breakfast and friendly bar/restaurant a few doors along.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinsenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhuis

Address: Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinsenhuis is a newly renovated 18th century monument canal house, and home to some of the most beautiful and exclusive apartments in Amsterdam. The location is the famous Prinsengracht, situated in the heart of the old city centre. Guests can choose from a number of fully equipped 5 star apartments, provided with everything they need to live and work in luxury. Each apartment offers sublime views over the Prinsengracht canal and picturesque traditional Dutch houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Prinsenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsenhuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.