We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsenhuis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prinsenhuis to your Saves list
Prinsenhuis
Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Mandarin apartment for 2 nights. It is a great location, overlooking the picturesque Prinsengracht canal (same street as Anne Frank Huis). A lovely escape from the busy centre but still close enough to everything. Apartment very well equipped and with nice extras such as complimentary wine and beer. Much better value for money than staying in a hotel given the space and canal location. Great nearby cafes for breakfast and friendly bar/restaurant a few doors along.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in Mandarin apartment for two nights, because we considering our baby stroller. From lots of wonderful reviews in Tripadvisor, i'd expecting will find pleasant stay here. And my expectation was fulfilled!

Started 1 week prior our arrival, the owner Edwin emailed us to inform many routes to get Prinsenhuis. And when we arrived late at 10 PM, he welcomed us to directly enter the apartment and took rest, without bothering the administration.

The apartment itself as described in many reviews here, so i won't write much. It's beautiful, clean, and excellent view to canals. Kitchen is great, unfortunately i didn't have a chance to try it since our stay was short. But i didn't have the shower problem, my shower is fine and perfectly satisfying to use it.

Overall, my stay is excellent, and i definitely will choose this apartment again in my future visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: For family with young children, best to choose Mandarin Apartment because stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked the Tea Leaf apartment because it had a balcony.

It didn't disappoint. And I am quite fussy.

Prinsenhuis is right next to a canal, and within walking distance to the main shopping area. It's about 100 yards to the tram stop to take you to Central Station (turn right out of the apartment, right again, and the stop is about 50 yards along in the middle of the road).

There is a beautiful view from the apartment. We enjoyed sitting by the large windows watching all the boats.

The front room is very big, plenty of space. TV (with plenty of channels), handy iPod dock.

The kitchen is well appointed - four gas rings, microwave/grill, large fridge/freezer, Senseo coffee machine, plenty of utensils/pots/pans etc (kitchen scissors would have been handy). All very clean (in fact it all looked new). Complimentary wine, beer, coke, Senseo pods.

The bedroom is a bit on the small side but cleverly designed with lots of storage and a good-sized safe. The double bed is very comfortable, the linen is lovely, pillows good quality. The room is very peaceful - no noise at all. Off the bedroom is a small balcony with two chairs, handy for a quick smoke.

The bathroom is a good size, with toiletries (shampoo/conditioner/shower gel), hairdryer and towels provided.

The whole apartment is beautifully decorated and finished to a very high standard. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and I shall recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

There is a supermarket (turn right out of the apartment, right again and it's on the right) so you can eat in if you like. There are limited restaurants in the immediate area (unless you want to pay EUR20 for a main course) but there's plenty of choice for half that price in the main shopping area.

There are a few wrinkles, but none were serious enough to warrant anything less than 5*. The steps up to the apartment are, as others have said, VERY steep. Choose Mandarin if that might bother you. The bathroom door doesn't close (and even if it did, there would still be quite a wide gap between the wall and the door), and the shower is absolutely dire. It is impossible to control, it squirts water all over the place, and in order to get any water on you at all, you have to perch in the corner of the bath and pray...!

The towels are far too small. Also, the sofa bed was extraordinarily uncomfortable. I suggest the owner should spend a night in this place - sleep on the sofabed and try to take a shower! Given the rest of the place is so impressive, I am surprised that this hasn't been sorted.

Room Tip: Choose Mandarin if you don't do steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in the Mandarin room and we loved it! The apartment is huge with a living room, a kitchen, washing machine and a bedroom. The decoration is tastefully done.

The apartment is just next to the canal (great view from the living room) and it has a nice courtyard. It is also within walking distance to most places.

You'd feel like you're living in Amsterdam, rather than being a tourist.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just left the Mandarin apartment at Prinsenhuis after a week's stay - work/holiday combo. Great facilities as others have said, but the best part is feeling that you are living in Amsterdam. Clear large window that you can see and hear the life of the city around you from in the background - the tinkle of all the bicycles, the clear bell of the tram at the end of the street, the smooth movements on the canal. Not that you have to, I had the curtains pulled open as well as the window when I was working at the desk! It is a superb apartment that you can make your home for the week- the location is a six-star bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great location, nice apartment. We stayed in the Mandarin. I think next time we'll try the upper apartments. We stayed for Amsterdam Pride in August 2011 so this review is late. All our sights were within walking distance or a short tram ride away. The owner is very gracious and the parade was at our feet. We felt very much at home and felt like a part of Amsterdam culture.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in the Tea Leaf apartment during the week of the Pride festival. It was a perfect choice and provides an excellent view of the canal parade without battling the crowds for a seat. The apartment itself was perfect. Lots of space, nice kitchen and private (small) balcony overlooking the gardens.

Owner/Manager was very responsive and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: In Amsterdam, apartments always have very steep stairs. The higher the floor the steeper the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinsenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhuis

Address: Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinsenhuis is a newly renovated 18th century monument canal house, and home to some of the most beautiful and exclusive apartments in Amsterdam. The location is the famous Prinsengracht, situated in the heart of the old city centre. Guests can choose from a number of fully equipped 5 star apartments, provided with everything they need to live and work in luxury. Each apartment offers sublime views over the Prinsengracht canal and picturesque traditional Dutch houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Prinsenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsenhuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.