We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness....not really” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Body worlds: The Happiness Project

Body worlds: The Happiness Project
Damrak 66, 1012 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 900 8411
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Body worlds: The Happiness Project like an insider
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal...
Ranked #42 of 556 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Gunther von Hagens’ BODY WORLDS: The Happiness Project in the heart of Amsterdam tells the amazing story of our own body and the impact of happiness on our health. More than 200 anatomical specimens of real human bodies show the complexity, resilience and vulnerability of the body. Join the 40 million people around the world who have already seen the exhibition and been on this fascinating voyage of discovery through the human body.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Happiness....not really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

An exhibition using bodies and body parts plastinated by Gunter Von Hagens. Hard to believe that these are real human bodies, but that is exactly what they are. Whole bodies plastinated and formed in various positions to explain how happiness affects the body and mind.
It's graphic but the bodies donated by unfortunate individuals do not look as real as I expected. The exhibition is interesting and probably worth seeing once.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    200
    59
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super exhibition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Totally amazing exhibition! Wonderfull to have this as a permanent attraction in Amsterdam. It is truly amazing to see what is underneath the skin, it was an eye opener. The staff was really helpful and the location is so easy to find. We were visiting for about two hours and we took an audio guide with us. The audio guide was helpful. Unfortunately we were not allowed to take pictures, otherwise we would have taken so many. Tickets might be a bit expensive but it is totally worth it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Absolutely a must see attraction for everyone visiting Amsterdam. The human body stripped back in an informative and sensitive manner. Over 200 human exhibits displaying the intricacies from full body models to individual organs. Explanations clearly displayed in Dutch and English. Many families visiting and children looked as fascinated as the adults. All based on the premis that being happy encourages good health, thus it being called "The Happiness Project". Was deeply impressed by this exhibition and seeing the affects that poor health can have on your body was a real eye opener. Am a fairly squemish individual and would avoid watching surgery etc on tv, but this exhibition had no such affect and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wonders just what makes us tick and how our attitude to life can affect our health. Absolutely fascinating and beautifully laid out.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

While visiting Amsterdam we noticed this exhibition was on and my friend had visited the exhibition when in Manchester which she said is a must.
We visited the exhibition and it truly is fascinating and informative, it really shows how the body works and some of the things that we don't get too see but I suppose some people like me have a curiosity about with regards to the results of a stoke on the Brain, smoking on the lungs, tumours in the body etc.
To see the body literally stripped down to show all of the major nerves etc is unbelievable and gives you a new appreciation for how delicate and fragile the body is something we all forget from time to time.
There are embryos/babies featured in the exhibition and I appreciate that for some people this may be upsetting so a warning really for people going to the exhibition.
Not an exhibit for everyone but for those who have a curiosity for the human body it is a must.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Happiness Project has to be the highlight of my visit. It's not gory or morbid and truly fascinating (and has made me really think about health choices)!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Body worlds: The Happiness Project also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Body worlds: The Happiness Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Body worlds: The Happiness Project, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.