We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice hotel in great city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tot 30% korting
Ranked #39 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a nice hotel in great city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This is a very nice hotel and a good choice for anyone who wants to stay in Amsterdam. From the first when you see the hotel from outside looks very elegant and yes it is.
We stay here for two days in a double, breakfast included room.
The staff was very polite and always happy to help as for any question we have and especially the employ at the concierge. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the main train station but if you want you can walk there it is just a 10 minutes by the sea walk.
The room was great with a breath taking view to the sea. The bed as I have already said it is a double one not two twins together like some other hotels do.
The breakfast was very nice and has everything we ask for.
Also the free Wifi is a plus and have very good speed.
I must write something about the parking and help travellers by car like me.
The hotel hasn’t any parking itself but there is an underground municipal parking in front of the hotel but it cost 48 Euros per day. I believe that there is a lot of money so I can give you another much cheaper option.
At the Amsterdam there are the P+R parking that cost 8 euro per day and also they give you, for how many you are, tram tickets to and from the city centre.
The nearest P+R parking is the Zeeburg and by tram No 26 it is only 3 stops to Moevenpick.
Just do not forget to validate your tickets at the tram because if you don’t you lose the discount.
A nice to see Amsterdam is the 7 euro daily tram ticket; if you buy one you will remember my words.
The Moevenpick Amsterdam is a great hotel with great employs and, this is my opinion, isn’t very far from city centre and i believe that in the summer staying at this hotel will be the best choise for a stay at the beautiful town of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,218
    886
    184
    64
    39
See reviews for
324
1035
119
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend and had a really great stay. 15 mins away from station but nice walk along the river, impressive hotel nice and clean with friendly staff, the room was modern and a great view over city. The beds were so comfortable, free drinks and snacks between 5-7 in the executive lounge was different and restaurant well worth a visit. Breakfast excellent, mini bar package was okay but considering paying for it having only 2 beers and no spirits wines etc was not great. Turn down service on a night with swiss chocolates was a nice touch, would stay again even with the walk to the town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Stayed at the Moevenpick hotel over a weekend in January 2011. Excellent hotel, service and accomodation, We stayed at a junior suite on the top floor and really appreciated the view from the room and the special touches, such as the complimentary mini-bar and bottled water. The room included a buffet breakfast though access to the executive room. This was one of the better breakfast buffet's that I have enjoyed over the years. In summary this was my first experience with this Swiss chain of hotels and I was very impressed. Had a small initial concern given the location, which was somewhat isolated, but this turned out to be no issue at all, as the hotel was within a fifteen minute walk from the Central Train Station which felt absolutely safe and secure even when accomplished late at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review, we were delighted that you choose Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre for your weekend stay and that you had a pleasant one.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I booked the Movenpick on lastminute.ie as a "top secret hotel" (wasn't too hard to figure out which hotel it was though) at a great rate. The reasons I chose it were the overall good TA reviews, modern design, spacious rooms and great views. I was very happy with my choice.

Pros:
* polished and efficient reception staff,
* spacious, clean and comfortable room with sitting area, sufficient storage and good and plentiful lighting,
* great views from the room (ask for a higher floor),
* comfortable bed with good linen,
* flat-screen TV with a good selection of channels,
* very nice and clean bathroom (although the toiletries provided are limited),
* no noise issues,
* free shuttle to/from the central train station (needs to be pre-booked).

Cons:
* location wise, it is not in the thick of things; thus a little bit of a hassle getting into the historical centre (via shuttle, tram or long-ish walk) and there is a lack of restaurants nearby. Having said that, a walk from the hotel to the train station on the promenade in a nice weather is great and takes only about 15 min.

Overall, a great place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

First we stayed here after a 10 hour flight from Toronto in September 2009.

Everything is modern clean the people are friendly and helpful. The views are stunning the breakfast was amazing.

Coming from Canada we were expecting a small room being in Amsterdam and all, but to our surprise our room was huge! The bathroom had not only the combo shower/tub, but also a stand alone shower. The walk home every night was great breezes coming off the river were wonderful to cool you off from the club. Even if you don't want to walk there is a bus and tram stop steps away from the front doors of the hotel.

The only down side to this hotel is the prices have now gone up since we last visited Amsterdam we would love to stay there again but would not be able to afford it.

But if you can afford it and want a no worry vacation I recommended it highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Hi, just a quick review, we stayed here for one night in November 2010.

We read a few reviews that said it was only a couple of minutes away from centraal station, and so decided to walk. First point is take the back (riverside) exit, as it leads you out onto the main road, and then if you look right you can see the movenpick. I would stay that with a suitcase, I would definitely consider a cab, as it is more like a 5 to 10 minute walk over cobbled streets and felt a little far.

The room itself was fine, I liked the hello Mr and Mrs Jones message on the TV, considering I was there with my girlfriend. The room was modern, and the bathroom, safe etc... was what you'd expect from a 4* hotel, and for the price was fine. There was a subway less than five minutes away, and we got room service which was nice, and the price was reasonable.

Overall, was a good price, and very nice hotel, only issue was the location, as it wasn't perfect for visiting the 'dam, however i think is actually a hotel for cruise liner visitors, as it was actually above where you would board the ship.

Thanks for the pleasant one nights stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I booked this hotel online to stay for three nights with my two friends.when we first arrived the man at the receptionist desk was very rude and didt want to give us the price which was given to us online and also wanted to charge us a hundred euro deposit per night even do there was nothing about this on their website.he then agreed to charge 50euros per night.every thing was off a high standerd after that untill I left my personal identification card in the room when I rang up they wanted my credit card to charge me to send it back in the post to Ireland they also tryed to say that it was illegal to send it back.he then said he would send it to my local police station if i filled out a form and it got charged to my credit card.i was a paying customer whats the price of a stamp ?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to share such detailed comments. We sincerely regret the hassle you have experienced when staying in our hotel.

Regarding the deposits, it is custom for hotels and also our hotel to ask for a cash deposit or a guarantee (authorization) for potential extras on a credit card when a guest checks in. With a credit card we authorize 50 Euro per night and a cash deposit is 100 Euro per night.

Such valuable belongings as an identification card can not be sent by regular mail, therefore we offered to send the card to the nearest police station by registered letter. Sending the card by registered letter is more expensive than a stamp and, as we are not liable for the loss of the card, we asked you to pay for the shipment. Sending the identification card to the police office makes it less convenient for you, but in this way we are sure that the right person receives the card and can identify him/herself on receipt. We do our best to make it as secure as possible for our guests.

I hope to have sufficiently informed you.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.