We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming modern hotel - great breakfast buffet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings up to 30%
Ranked #45 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
stigs17
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Charming modern hotel - great breakfast buffet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed two nights on the 16th floor.

Pros: Gorgeous rooms are congruent with the elegant lobby. Met with welcoming letter from hotel GM, a very nice touch. Comfortable beds, modern furniture, stylish artwork and a (small) plasma TV highlight the room, which is also a good size for Amsterdam. Great views of the harbor from almost any floor. Breakfast buffet was superb, with an impressive variety of hot and cold items. Away from the main road, there is no exterior noise to contend with. Oversized, well-lit bathroom with a large mirror, good shower pressure with immediate hot water. Top-quality toiletries, as one would expect here. Two fast internet PCs in the lobby with free internet and printing services was definitely appreciated. Nice card insert concept upon room room entry to activate lights; this energy preservation initiative should be adopted in North America. For a fast meal, there's a Subway restaurant about 200m east of the hotel.

Cons: Key card given upon arrival to room did not work. After 36 hours up and a long flight, this was annoying. Office chair and sinking sofa in the room were not terribly comfortable. Quality of staff is hit and miss, though the front line staff are evidently well-trained. Most working the breakfast were cold and indifferent. Upon check-in, they will try to sell you upgraded rooms; I felt the Glengarry Glen Ross 'ABC' mentality was pervasive here, and somewhat deceptive. For example, rooms with a "fully stocked bar" actually receive two cans of coke and two Heinekens for the entire duration of your stay, which is worth about $5 U.S., so be warned. For non-Europeans, you will find stepping in/out of the elevated shower rather awkward, but get used to it in Europe.

Unsure: Hard to assess the effectiveness of the soundproofing as I never saw anyone on my floor.

Overall, a pleasant experience with a couple areas for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to share such detailed comments. We sincerely regret the inconsistency of service that you encountered during your recent stay with us. Normally our mini bars in the Suites or Executive Rooms are stocked with 2 beers, 1 cola light, 1 coca cola, 1 orange juice, 1 apple juice, 1 water and 1 sparkling water. Unfortunately this was not the case during your stay. Luckily it did not influence the rest of your stay with us.
This valuable feedback strives us to further improve our quality and consistency of service and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to demonstrate it on the occasion of your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    1,139
    253
    86
    41
See reviews for
480
1,448
137
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My family (husband and three adult children) and my friends family ( 9 people in total )stayed in this certainly 4 stars hotel..
Most of the tripadvisor members have pointed out the spacious rooms , breathtaking view , sumptuous breakfast and of all them are right !!We enjoyed all these services in a bargain price , since we have made our four rooms resrvation two months in advance and we had a '' stay 3 nights and pay 2 '' breakfast included!!
The problem is the hotel policy related to staff unfriendly attitude !!
Every member of the staff was in her / his position to help you , but the majority of them were so stiff and cold !!
Another problem was the issue with the card : they blocked in our Mastercard an amount 50% higher than the payment , in advance , for security reasons !!!
That means , in our case , two thousand euros !! this was outrageous!!
As far as parking , I appreciate info in Movenpick site about the parking area close to the hotel , beacause the hotel parking is very expensive.
The breakfast area is too small for such a big hotel , always crowded .The staff were trying their best to keep it clean and fill empty plates .
The distance from Central station is 10 minutes walng and Dam square 20 minutes walking .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We chose the Movenpick after looking through dozens of hotel and vacation rental choices. Don't know how some of the others would have turned out, but we were very happy with this choice. This was somewhat of a compromise in that we were thinking about staying in one of the canal front hotels in the center of town, but decided ultimately to go for a more modern room with the accompanying amenities.

It's only one tram stop away from the Central Station, and the trams run quite frequently. We never waited more than a few minutes. While you can't just walk out of the hotel and be on a busy pedestrian street, you also don't have to put up with the accompanying noise and congestion.

We paid about $150 per night for a pretty good sized room, one king and one sleeper sofa. Free wifi was a plus, but our deal didn't come with breakfast, which would have been nice. There's a hotel shuttle service to the train station, which we took advantage of when we left, as we had some bulky luggage.

Room was nicely furnished with modern touches throughout. A pleasant place to rest your head after a long day out in the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siam Rep
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

when i arrived, the room was never vacuumed and there were hair from the previous guests in the bed. the drinking glasses were filthy. and they made me wait for it to be cleaned instead of being given a different room. very unprofessional.
on a rainy day they run out of umbrellas. my key card did hardly ever work and i had to do runs back to the lobby all the time.
on sunday the whole lobby of the hotel was transformed into a huge storage area. very ugly. the staff was definitely not very courteous or helpful. higly unprofessional.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We would like to apologize on the less than satisfactory housekeeping issues as well as the lack of courtesy you experienced from our staff.

We have reported the hair to our linen company. It does not come from a previous guest however the clean linen should have been better checked by our housekeeping personnel. The hotel was booked to capacity during the period of your stay which explains that we could not offer you an alternative room at the time and had to request a room attendant to check the room. All umbrellas were indeed already in use due to the bad weather, we can have up to 800 guests in the hotel and do not keep 800 umbrellas.

Concerning the luggage, the hotel had to face an unusual request for luggage storage from an unusual amount of early arriving guests as well as guests not leaving Amsterdam right away after checking out. We do apologize for the inconvenience, luggage have been moved to a banquet room at a later stage, the hotel tries to satisfy all requests for storage, even on busy days, and that day this resulted in an unsightly scene in the lobby. We have taken the needed measures to prevent that in the future.

We have forwarded your comments to the staff with regards to your appreciation on service in general although we would value a more detailed description on their lack of courtesy. On a last note our magnetic cards get deactivated in contact with mobile phones or magnets, sometimes in wet environments, which could explain why you had to re-activate them.

Hopefully this answers your comments, please do not hesitate to contact us on your next stay, we will make sure to make up for this negative experience.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, merseyside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

great hotel by the port terminal15min walk from central station. they offer mini bus pick up and drop off to and from central station..geat breakfasts.good bar. located in a quiet area. rooms are good, clean and comfy. staff are very friendly.
amsterdam is amazing. would visit again and stay here

amsterbikes are located below the hotel and are great for guided bike tours and hiring

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the malms
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Very modern .. good bathroom, spacious, .The best thing about this Hotel are the views.
We stayed on the 16th floor and had fantastic views of the Port, cruise ships sailed past the window and one docked below us. At first you think the hotel is too far out but it is only 1 stop on the tram takeNo 26 just outside central station direction UBORG. Trams run late... Staff polite. free internet in the reception. It was nice to get out of the hustle and bustle of the City and enjoy this hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

stayed for a weekend at this modern and stylish four star hotel with an almost perfect location (not in old town and a little bit away from the main sights) - only one tram stop away from the Amsrerdam Centraal train station (or 10 mins walk). The hotel is located right at the ferry terminal for cruise ships and from high floors offers a panoramic view of the city and at the docking cruise ships. The modern medium sized room had a king sized bed and a sofa was elegantly decorated and contained coffee making facilities. Immaculately clean, high quality toiletries inlcuded two good sized packs of bath salt. Nothing to complain about, attentive service ate the reception, you also receive LH miles for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#35 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.