We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%
Ranked #47 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

stayed here 3 times at least. it's always very busy due to it's location so sometimes hard to find a room - i've had some discussions with the front desk about that. the rooms are very nice. clean. great bathrooms. the beds are a bit stiff. my room had a nespresso coffee machine- loved it. Great breakfast - one of the best IMHO but expensive (i think 25 EURO). I love their bar.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    1,203
    268
    92
    49
See reviews for
536
1,504
139
473
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location: there is a tram stop outside the hotel about 100 meters away. You have to take this line to get to Amsterdam central station where all the other lines are. So not bad

Room: ok room but I upgraded to superior room while I was checking in. Bed was comfortable and pillows was good. Everything else was clean.

Service: I expect friendly and good service for these hotels so nothing special.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel within reasonable walking distance of Amsterdam centre. Breakfast very nice and varied, however a bit pricey at 25 euro per person. We had a sofa bed for 3rd person which was not very comfortable but other than that very pleasant and quiet room. Staff were pleasant and helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived in Amsterdam 2 days ahead of our packaged tour of Europe and wanted to stay at a hotel that's near city centre and within budget. The hotel is within walking distance from the Central station - I would say 12-15 mins with luggage in tow. We got to the hotel by noon before the check-in time of 3pm. The receptionist was very understanding in trying to get us early check-in, as our three children were tired from the overnight flight to Amsterdam. After waiting in the lobby for an hour we were able to get one room early so the children can get some rest. We got the 2nd room by 3pm and all was well. There is free shuttle service to the Central station but as mentioned earlier it is definitely within walking distance from city centre. The only thing to be mindful of is the cyclists have right of way and you stand a better chance of getting hit by a cyclist than by a car in this beautiful city. The rooms we got aren't big compared to North American standard but enough to fit 2 double and a sofa beds.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the water offers a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Quality of service ++, modern and very clean hotel, confortable rooms, helpful staff, pleasant bar, nice views from the upper levels.
Location slightly uncomfortable : walk to the center not that nice.



  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasebo Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check is was quick and easy. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The location made it easy to explore the city and catch public transportation. Value for the money, excellent.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Moevenpick is a gorgeous hotel. It's contemporary style, spacious w/fantastic views from the room. They have 2 nice restaurants. It was around the water but not the best location unless you want to be close to a cruise line or the train station. Amsterdam is trying to change their image especially the red light district, which is good. There is a lot of culture to explore. Canals everywhere. Careful on a weekend. The canals get so crowded. There was some smoking of cannabis in cafes which floats in the air out into the streets. If you have allergies to smoke move quickly. I am sure I will go through Amsterdam and after a few years when more changes have taken place I may go back.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#36 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.