We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely NOT City Centre- Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings up to 30%
Ranked #45 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely NOT City Centre- Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The name of this hotel is a lie. It is absolutely not City Centre and should not even appear when searching for hotels in city centre in Amsterdam. Very inconvenient to everything. Shuttle to train station is always overbooked and unavailable. Front desk manager very uncooperative. They have a sign right outside the front door which tells you how to get to the "city center" which is at least a twenty minute (not six as they proclaim) walk.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel which is in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    1,154
    256
    86
    43
See reviews for
486
1,459
137
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is so elegant and no need to evaluate the movenpick hotels all over the world but I had a bad experience with one of the staff while Ian trying to book a seat on the shuttle bus to the city center..I know it's 10 minutes walking from the hotel but he was so rude to tell me so..no eye contact while I Am talking with him, he was busy doing some work in the computer..he could say give me a moment and I'll be with you rather than this. Front disk staff are very friendly,smiley and helpful. I asked for a toiletry kit cause I had a short notice before traveling.. Very quite rooms and so clean

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good hotel but not completely WOW so thats why I rated it 4/5. It has a good location about a seven minute walk to the city center. Beautiful view depending on the location of your room. Parking is very expensive and the hotel restaurant isn't that good, but we did encounter a staff member that made us feel home.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good clean hotel. Great decor in rooms.
Service in restaurant a bit slow but ok otherwise.
Receptionists very robotic, reading from a script.
No spare UK adaptors for plugs available at reception either.



  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was clean, quite and comfortable. The conference/meeting rooms were large clean and comfortable and the meeting room staff was very attentive. The restaurant food was excellent food with an awesome breakfast offering. Would stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights prior to a going on a cruise. Very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Free wifi. We got the 48 hour pass for the tram (bought them from the concierge) and found it very easy to get around.
The Passenger Terminal Amsterdam is right next door, we wheeled our luggage down the sidewalk. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we stayed in a junior suite and arrive from 9 in the morning after the end of our cruise and we had a pleasant surprise and allowed to enter our room which was ready. very nice room with a living room and main bedroom with extra large bed. We could visit the executive lounge almost any time of the day serving refreshments and from 5-7 afternoon refreshments, alcohol and snacks. What we did not like is that the hotel and almost everywhere in Amsterdam is that they do not pay attention to cleanliness.
When you pay 240 per day you expect at least to have a clean room. We tried to use the nespresso machine in the room and if u try to move the machine you could see how dirty it was. The couch in the living room have never been cleaned before we enter since we saw that somebody was cleaning and cutting nails leaving the necessary traces. Overall a good experience but too expensive and dirty

Room Tip: nice views from junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#35 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.