We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a business conference in this hotel with a very large group of attendants of which most stayed in the hotel as well. What stood out for me was the staff, they went to great length to serve you. As I am a coffee addict, one of the waiters was so kind to provide me a can of coffee which I could take into the conference room to get myself a cup of coffee during the presentations. Also compliments for the cook who prepared my lunch when I showed up for lunch way in advance, as I had to leave the conference early. He even prepared some warm dishes for me. Everyone was very flexible when I requested anything besides what has been arranged for. All in all a great experience! Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    1,058
    233
    79
    39
See reviews for
431
1,334
131
414
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Viking put us here for our pre-cruise night in Amsterdam (we also added an additional Pre-night) and it was a great location. Not only is it just a block from where you embark onto the Viking ships, but it is also very close to Central Station and old Amsterdam. It shows that this hotel works closely with the river cruise industry, as check-in was smooth and flawless. The rooms are clean and typically European-chic. We had a beautiful view of the harbor and enjoyed our stay very much. We had drinks and snacks in the bar area several times, and the service was very good. We would opt to stay here again, even if we were not on a river cruise.

Room Tip: If you are unhappy with your room, kindly inform the staff and they will do as much as they can to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The room was commodious, bed comfortable, couch seemed made of foam blocks. Desk and lobby ersonnel courteous. Food in major dining room was tasty, plenty of choices, and terribly expensive. The smaller restaurant had far fewer options, and service personnel were not attentive. Several times, I provided the service my party required. Hotel advertised shuttle service to town center, but the information does not state that van service is very limited because of a small van, apparently only one van. My party and I wanted the convenience of that shuttle, but during our visit it was not available to us. Such a large and highly regarded hotel should have better transport service than that or else advertise that only very limited shuttle is available. The view from our room overlooked the bay and the city. Nice! Bathroom fixtures and space met our expectations. All in all, the Moevenpick Amsterdam earned "average."

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We didn't choose the Moevenpick. Our stay was booked by Viking River Cruises. We didn't know what to expect and were a little concerned that the location might be good for accessing our upcoming cruise but not within walking distance to the city. It was both. The staff was exceptional, especially at check-in (wish I knew his name). We arrived early after a long flight and were able to upgrade for a minimal cost and get our room right away. Money well spent! The hotel passed our top three requirements for any place we stay - clean, comfortable, and location, location, location (those three "locations" count as one!). Although we didn't "pick" the Moevenpick, we would have.

Room Tip: A view of the river is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TomJoHudson,
We hope you had a most enjoyable river cruise and sincerely thank you for your contribution on this site. You were pleasantly surprised by our hotel , service and staff. Compliments have been shared with Robert already, who checked you in.
Should you wish to find cleanliness, comfort and a quiet location; it would be our pleasure to assist you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All hotel employees are well trained, courteous, and helpful. The property is well appointed and very clean, a sincere thanks to the hotel cleaning staff and household services. It also appeared that emergency equipment is in use. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ronald L,
We are excited to find out we met up to your expectations and more.
We put a lot of emphasis on our service and quality, and are happy to see this pays off.
Your opinion, comfort and safety are our top priority.

We look forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at Moevenpick and found location good. Shuttle to central station if you didn't want to walk. Had a couple of small problems which were solved within 10 minutes. Couldn't believe how quick they turned up at the door. The beds were a bit hard but the room was a good size and the towels in the bathroom were better than any hotel I have been in. Really enjoyed stay in this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Gilbags,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
It is good to learn you had such a lovely stay in our hotel and would consider to stay with us again.
Our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered.
We look forward making your next stay a flawless one.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The only downside is that the breakfast was very expensive. Otherwise a great overall hotel. Close to the centre of the city but far enough away that it was nice and quiet. Shuttle to centraal was a definite bonus.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jmagder,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy to learn you had such a satisfatory stay in our hotel. Good offers including breakfast many times can be found on our own website or via the (online) Travel Agencies.

Please stay with us again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.