We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Would be perfect other than the cost of breakfast.
Charming staff, ideal location, brilliant views from the upper floors.
Easy walking distance from the Centraal Station. A tram ride or cheap taxi fare into the city centre.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,051
    228
    78
    39
See reviews for
424
1,326
131
408
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Movenpick City Center provides comfortable accommodations with an excellent on-site bar and dining. It is conveniently located near Central Station, the major transportation center to get around Amsterdam. Have stayed there 2 years in a row prior to a river cruise and just love it!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with very helpful staff. Views are great but a ten minute walk to the train station or busy centre. Good variety for breakfast but it was self service. The staff were great with my 9 year old son. Good for the family.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear 414carolinav,
Thank you for sharing your positive review with us.
Your kind compliments have been shared within our departments for motivation.
Should you prefer not to walk please be informed we offer a free shuttle bus towards the Central Station (advance booking recommended).

Thank you again and kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our stay at Moevenpick was a great pleasure and we are fully delighted by the service given. Highly recommended.The hotel is very central and they also give shuttle service to Central Station if you like.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Bengu K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us about your positive experiences.
We are delighted as well to have been such an enjoyable part of your memorable time in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 3 days here before getting on our River Cruise. It is right down by the water front so very close to where the boats dock. Our room was on the 19 th floor with a river view. We took full advantage of using the Executive Lounge both for snacks and drinks. The breakfast they serve is wonderful. You have a huge choice of hot or cold foods. Our breakfast usually held us until about 2 or 3 in the afternoon. Then we chose a coffee shop or small restaurant for a lunch from the many places available on the streets of downtown Amsterdam. The late check out time of 2 pm allowed us to go straight from the hotel to the dock where we board the Bragi.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a Jr. Suite or Executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dianne D,
Thank you very much for your positieve and detailed feedback regarding your 3 day stay.
We hope you had a pleasant boat cruise and trip back home. It is good to see you enjoyed the benefits which come included when booking an upgrade. Please contatct the hotel directly for more information.

Anytime you decide to rediscover Amsterdam, please visit our hotel again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel, rooms on the upper floors are excellent with great views. Well worth the upgrade. About 15 minutes walk to main areas. Staff in bar are a bit unfriendly. There is a taxi rank outside the hotel which is convenient.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear 246saeedr,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to learn you took advantage of booking an upgrade which supplied you with great views. Our apologies if our service has not been of the same standard in all departments, extra attention will be shared within our teams.

It would be our pleasure to assist you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Before joining our Viking River Cruise we stayed two nights at the Movenpick. Modern decor... friendly staff... great service and an excellent view over the port made our stay memorable. The Concierge was always on hand to make recommendations for us and also made the bookings when time was tight. Just a short walk of around 15 minutes gets you into the city centre from which you can access transport options... canal cruises and a range of other tourist attractions. Mind you... watch the bicycle footpaths! They are VERY busy... and motorcycles use them too! The people at Movenpick were happy to see us after we made a private booking... and 'sad' to see us go. They really do make you feel that welcome.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kevin M,
We are happy to read you received a warm welcome upon arrival and felt valued as our guest.
Hopefully your river cruise has been a beautiful experience as well.
Indeed, be aware of the bicycle and scooters in the city of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back, very soon.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.