We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and attentive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I were very impressed with the Swiss-run Movenpick. The rooms were stylishly decorated and many offered stunning views of the harbor/city. The breakfast buffet was tasty and ample. We used the concierge service several times, and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. We also used the shttle service to the nearby Central Train Station, where we easily accessed the tram and bus systems. We appeciate their commitment to sustainability.

Room Tip: #806 has great view of harbor, train station, and city
See more room tips
Green Features: Practices reflect strong commitment to sustainability
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    1,016
    220
    73
    38
See reviews for
403
1,281
128
396
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Second time staying at this hotel and I liked it as much, maybe a bit more, than the first time. Main plus points are the spacious room size, spotlessly clean, super-size comfortable bed, sound-proofing, coffee/tea making facilities, controllable air con, great views over the river and city, and fast wifi. Didn't have the breakfast (too pricey) but did enjoy the bar for drinks in the evening. My main consideration for a hotel is quality of sleep and this hotel is one of the best I've had in Amsterdam (been visiting this city for over 30 years). Negative points are the hotel's location relative to the heart of the city -- it's a good half hour walk and the normal room cost. The hotel could improve its shuttle service to better offset its location but because it seems to cater primarily to cruise ship passengers who are mostly bussed around, so perhaps they don't feel the need to enhance their shuttle service. When I can get a decent price, I'll always consider this hotel (but then I do expect to walk in Amsterdam!).

Room Tip: High floors with views overlooking the city as well as the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here with my boyfriend on our second trip to Amsterdam and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.
The staff were so friendly and helpful & saw on my passport it was almost my birthday so left some chocolate in the room with a card for us which we thought was a nice touch.
The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean and the views from our room of the city were amazing. The bathroom was really modern and the bed comfy.
We felt the decor of the bedroom needed a touch up but nothing serious and that is the only negative thing we could think of to say!
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station so not the most central location but we really enjoyed the walk into the centre as it is such a picturesque place and didn't use transport once!

We were really impressed by the hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my second visit to Movenpick amsterdam and another fantastic visit.
I stayed here 2 nights on business and booked an executive room with breakfast included.

Check in was a bit slow as there was only 1 person serving and a lot of people looking busy. I had the same problem with checkout even though I had tried to use the express service for executive rooms.

The room was great, up on 20th floor with amazing views, free minibar etc. breakfast was good although I didn't try the restaurant for any other meals. Couldn't fault the service in the bar or anywhere else in the hotel.

Fantastic location and some good offers if booked in advance or through Expedia etc. would definitely return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear dazzoh11,
Thank you for your trust and for choosing us for your second visit to Amsterdam.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay including all benefits whoch come included while booking an Executive Suite. Our apologies for any inconvenience for the waiting time at our Front Desk. We are implementing a fast elegible check in, depending on your booking and conditions. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly for receiving more details.

It would be a pleasure to assist you in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great value visit for a well located hotel by the water and city centre.

Myself and some friends went in July 2014. nice tranquil room, well equipped tv, wifi etc and comfy for 3 of us. it was a neat room with twin beds together and a single under the window.

Nice bar with great range from tea to booze. Chatty staff meant I was able to go down on my own comfortably as my lot one morning were an hour late! We didn't properly try the food apart from one drunken room service order at 3AM of sandwiches and Pringles etc! This service was prompt and friendly.

Hotel included a gym which my friend visited and loved. We were only visiting a long weekend so had little time in the hotel but loved every minute. We felt the breakfast deal a little pricey for what we would have eaten of it but it looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kirsten W,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive and detailed review concerning your stay last year!
We are pleased to learn we made your stay such an enjoyable one, and you received a friendly and prompt service form our staff throughout your stay.
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back, maybe for a longer duration : )

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ideal for the business or leisure traveller. A well designed and managed Swiss hotel on the water in Amsterdam. A short walk or free shuttle bus ride to the centre. Large comfortable rooms with a great view of the city and harbour (ask for the upper floors 15th up).

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear CH-traveller-2012,
Thank you for sharing such friendly and positive comments with us.
We are delighted to read you found our hotel ideal for both leisure and business purposes, which is defenitely correct. Should you opt for having a comfortable room with splend views again, please do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very private, with stunning view for the city - the food experience is a high point!
The hotel service is impeccable. I highly recommend the hotel in Amsterdam and for other places they are established.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Patricia F,
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel, we are truly happy we have made your stay such an enjoyable one. Your compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We look forward assisting you in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.