We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views over the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views over the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely spotlessly clean room with wonderful views. The staff were very helpful and friendly and whilst, sadly, I don't remember the name of the young woman serving in the bar, she has to be singled out for faultless service. The hotel is rather a drag out of the centre of town which made going out in the evening a bit of a chore and I would have preferred a more central location as our time in the city was limited to 3 days. We ate in the bar on two evenings and can only say that at best the food was average. We didn't avail ourselves of breakfast as the price appeared somewhat expensive. Overall a good experience

Room Tip: As for a room on a higher level to get the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    958
    214
    70
    37
See reviews for
380
1,214
128
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is fantastic.
Excellent staff & rooms although it is quite a walk from the city centre.
There is a free bus at the hotel that takes you into the the centre every half hour although you still have to walk quite a distance from where it drops you off.
If your happy to get taxis into the centre or a a 20-30 minute walk then this is definitely the one for you.
We booked it on lastminute.com and got a triple room including flights for £600.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

a clean, modern hotel which is perfectly situated for walking into town. Nice views of the canals or the city from most rooms. Staff were very helpful and service quick. I stayed here with a large group for a conference and the food was excellent with an extensive choice. I would recommend for a conference venue but also as a central hotel for a city break.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here on business for a couple of nights. The rooms were of an excellent standard, clean, comfortable and with great views over the canals and shipping. The hotel rooms are quiet, whilst the hotel itself has a very good restaurant (Silk) and a nice bar area. Staff are very friendly and courteous. The hotel is about a 20 min drive from the airport, or a 10 min walk from the train station which links directly with Schipol. A further 5 minutes walking will take you into old Amsterdam. Overall a very impressive stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lindfield-Hedonist,
We are more than pleased to read we have made your business stay a stay meeting up beyond your expectations.Your positive comments concerning our excellent standard of comfortable, clean and quiet rooms, good Restaurant and courteos and friendly staff are much appreciated.
We look forward making your next stay a flawless one again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For the price, this was certainly a bargain. Our room had a spectacular view of the city and waterfront, impeccable, comfortable bed and bathroom, and all hotel common areas are impressive and generous. We walked with our heavy suitcases from Central Station, and it was very doable (about 10-15 mins). Afterwards we learned they have a free shuttle from the hotel to the station, so we took that to explore the city for the rest of our stay, given it was winter time and winds can get quite icy by the waterfront. You do have to book it in advance, as it leaves every half hour and has only 8 seats (it seems a hotel of this caliber should have a larger van, but what the heck, it's free). We didn't do the breakfast buffet, as 22 euros seemed a bit excessive, but we did order room service breakfast for 16 euros one day and it was absolutely awesome: we could've both ordered just one, it was that generous (we're not very heavy breakfast eaters, mind you). As other reviewers have noted, you do have to make a 100 euro deposit during check-in, so keep that in mind. Also, it seems the restaurant is quite good, though we didn't have a chance to try it.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor: better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Pablo C,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed and more than positive feedback with us.
Your comments can be very helpful for our future travelers. Please be informed special packages including breakfast many times can be found on our website or via the (online) Travel Agencies.
Please feel free to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice modern hotel, close to Amsterdam central station, located in a newly developed area next to the river. We came by car and could park at P&R Zeeburg; the tram stops in front of the parking, and it's only a few stops to the hotel. Very convenient, and very cheap (normally parking in Amsterdam is very expensive, the hotel parking is some 40 Euro's per day, we now paid 2 Euro's for a weekend). We had a room on the 11th floor with great views on Amsterdam. It's about a 10 minutes walk to the central station and from there you can enter the city centre. Alternatively you could also take the tram in front of the hotel, or the hotel was also providing a shuttle service. The interior design is modern and stylish. We fully enjoyed our stay and will probably come again.

Room Tip: Enjoy the views on the city from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear BrusselsBassie,
We are happy to read your stay in our hotel has been such a pleasant one, and you valued our modern facilities and convenient location.
Anytime your plans include Amsterdam we hope you will stay in our hotel again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed this hotel what I saw of it. It was refurbished to a very high standard with my room offering some spectacular views of the river. The room was spotlessly clean. I thought the breakfast was a bit expensive so didn't try it but if it was like the room and the rest of the hotel, then it would have been of a high standard. The hotel is about a ten minute brisk walk from Central Station so was very convenient. I wish I had stay in Amsterdam longer then I would have had time to enjoy more of its facilities.

The only (very small) negative was that the room was not available until 3.00 pm but I was able to leave my belonging with the conceige before I checked in and afterwards which was very helpful. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for the 18th Floor overlooking the river. Lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Chestertim,
Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback. We are happy to read you valued our high standard of room design, great views and spotless clean room. Although we do our utmost to give our guests an early check in, this is not always possible due to occupancy and availability.
We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay and make it the most enjoyable experience again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.