We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location 1 tram stop from Central Station on the waterfront with views of the canal and station. Lovely room with king size bed, table and sofa. Funny glass swing door to the bathroom which can't be closed properly. Very deep bath with shower over which, if you have short legs like me, is not easy to get out of. Bar area very nice but expensive as is the food. Away from the bustle of the city but not far from the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    923
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
371
1,175
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is lovely. I'd emailed asking for a good view of the river because it was my husbands birthday and when we arrived they'd left birthday wishes and a bar of chocolate for him in the room. Lovely touch. Hotel has a free shuttle to the Centraal Station but it wasnt along walk and there is another route into a different area instead of the main town. The staff were friendly as were all the Dutch we came into contact with. We'll be going back in the summer.

Room Tip: Probably all rooms have a fabulous view because of the position of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was my first time visiting Amsterdam and the hotel was a stones throw away from the Central station, which was very useful and easy to find. Even though it was close, it was far enough away to be slightly out of the hustle and bustle, so we felt that we had the best of both worlds.
Our room had a small TV, fridge, iron and ironing board, large cupboards, a king sized bed, a large bathroom - with under floor heating and beautiful views over the city and harbour. The room was always very clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
The concierge staff were very attentive and gave us lots of information about areas of interest.
I would recommend the hotel breakfast, but beware of the size - it is very plentiful! The cocktails in the hotel bar were also very lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour and city. At night this is beautiful.
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual rules about towels - you don't always have to change them everyday. I like it when hotels have this as its something small that they can do to attempt to be a little 'greener'
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room in the Moevenpick Hotel was nice and mostly functional. It had modern decor, with twin beds pushed together to make a king. Some of the pros for the room were clean room, nice sheets and comfortable bed, minifridge, flat-screen TV, free wifi, and a good location within walking distance of the Central Station. The room also had a nice view and body wash and shampoo dispensers in the shower. Another huge pro was the breakfast spread, which included cheeses, fish, olives, several different breads, scrambled eggs, beans in tomato sauce (pork and beans), several kinds of sausage, many different fruits and cereals, etc., etc. Some of the room's cons were no exhaust fan in the bathroom, the water from the shower didn't always maintain the same temperature during a shower, and an odd door to the bathroom that couldn't be locked or closed completely. Still, it was a decent room in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear psychprofessor,
Thank you for your kind and positive review regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to read your stay met up to your expectations and you took benefit of all extras which come included when booking an Executive Room.
Our apologies if not all our room design has been of your liking. Please feel free to contact our staff next time you stay with us, regarding the water temperature or anything else.
We are happy to make your stay a most comfortbale one (again).

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived from a Viking river cruise from Basel and this hotel is an excellent location for those arriving by boat (or train as its 5 minutes walk to Central Station). A good business orientated hotel which may be on the limits for some travellers who want to be in the heart of Amsterdam but travel links are good and you can walk to Dam Square and other locations easily in 15 minutes. Friendly and professional reception and good concierge service always willing to help with maps an advice.We declined the offer of breakfast which wasn't included in our package and seemed pricey at 25 euros per head and instead grabbed croissants, coffee and a sandwich lunch from a good coffee bar under the rail station (where there also other restaurant choices. this suited us best as we wanted to spend as much time wandering Amsterdam as possible. Great city and we'd definitely think of staying here again if we returned.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear eddie51,
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city so much after your river cruise with Viking. As you correctly indicate, we are not in the heart of the city but easy to reach from our hotel. We offer you peaceful nights before exploring all the sights Amsterdam has to offer. Please feel free to stay with us again upon your next visit.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only place to stay, clean from top to bottom. Bedrooms amazing, with glass panel en-suite. Comfy beds central heating. Breakfast first class.5 minutes from city centre. Will go again next year.Quality and comfort 10 out if 10.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Neil P,
We are truly happy as you can imagine, to read your top scores and more than positive review concerning your stay in our hotel.
We look forward welcoming you back soon and make your next experience a flawless one again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here 1 night before taking a river cruise. Staff at check in were lovely and prompt. We had an executive level room which was modern, comfortable and spacious. We dined at the restaurant for dinner and the food was reasonably priced and good quality. Breakfast the next morning in the executive lounge was equally as good. Staff were friendly and the location of this hotel is fantastic. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Nata8ha,
Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to share your travel experiences.
We are very pleased to learn your stay has brought you good memories and you received a friendly and adequate service.
We hope to be on your next travel plans when returning to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.