We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Good Place in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mississippi
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Good Place in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room in the Moevenpick Hotel was nice and mostly functional. It had modern decor, with twin beds pushed together to make a king. Some of the pros for the room were clean room, nice sheets and comfortable bed, minifridge, flat-screen TV, free wifi, and a good location within walking distance of the Central Station. The room also had a nice view and body wash and shampoo dispensers in the shower. Another huge pro was the breakfast spread, which included cheeses, fish, olives, several different breads, scrambled eggs, beans in tomato sauce (pork and beans), several kinds of sausage, many different fruits and cereals, etc., etc. Some of the room's cons were no exhaust fan in the bathroom, the water from the shower didn't always maintain the same temperature during a shower, and an odd door to the bathroom that couldn't be locked or closed completely. Still, it was a decent room in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear psychprofessor,
Thank you for your kind and positive review regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to read your stay met up to your expectations and you took benefit of all extras which come included when booking an Executive Room.
Our apologies if not all our room design has been of your liking. Please feel free to contact our staff next time you stay with us, regarding the water temperature or anything else.
We are happy to make your stay a most comfortbale one (again).

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    920
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
369
1,172
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived from a Viking river cruise from Basel and this hotel is an excellent location for those arriving by boat (or train as its 5 minutes walk to Central Station). A good business orientated hotel which may be on the limits for some travellers who want to be in the heart of Amsterdam but travel links are good and you can walk to Dam Square and other locations easily in 15 minutes. Friendly and professional reception and good concierge service always willing to help with maps an advice.We declined the offer of breakfast which wasn't included in our package and seemed pricey at 25 euros per head and instead grabbed croissants, coffee and a sandwich lunch from a good coffee bar under the rail station (where there also other restaurant choices. this suited us best as we wanted to spend as much time wandering Amsterdam as possible. Great city and we'd definitely think of staying here again if we returned.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear eddie51,
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city so much after your river cruise with Viking. As you correctly indicate, we are not in the heart of the city but easy to reach from our hotel. We offer you peaceful nights before exploring all the sights Amsterdam has to offer. Please feel free to stay with us again upon your next visit.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Only place to stay, clean from top to bottom. Bedrooms amazing, with glass panel en-suite. Comfy beds central heating. Breakfast first class.5 minutes from city centre. Will go again next year.Quality and comfort 10 out if 10.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Neil P,
We are truly happy as you can imagine, to read your top scores and more than positive review concerning your stay in our hotel.
We look forward welcoming you back soon and make your next experience a flawless one again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here 1 night before taking a river cruise. Staff at check in were lovely and prompt. We had an executive level room which was modern, comfortable and spacious. We dined at the restaurant for dinner and the food was reasonably priced and good quality. Breakfast the next morning in the executive lounge was equally as good. Staff were friendly and the location of this hotel is fantastic. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nata8ha,
Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to share your travel experiences.
We are very pleased to learn your stay has brought you good memories and you received a friendly and adequate service.
We hope to be on your next travel plans when returning to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I were taking a Viking River Cruise that started in Amsterdam and we did the Amsterdam 3-day add on through Viking so they picked the hotel. We were not disappointed in the slightest as it is a modern hotel with friendly staff that is used to lots of tourists. We arrived in Amsterdam early in the AM so a standard room wasn't available and we really wanted to get situated in a room and change before heading out sightseeing. We upgraded our room which got us on a higher floor with a water view and access to the executive lounge. It was a nice room, well appointed with a good view. The onsite restaurant was good with a nice breakfast buffet and the one dinner that we ate in the restaurant was good but my dish was extremely over salted. One of the greatest things about this hotel is that there is a tram stop right across the street and is only one stop from Central Station. I'm not a big fan of public transportation but it was incredibly easy to use the Amsterdam tram system and the concierge at the hotel will give you coaching and maps on how to get around the city. We also purchased our tickets to the Rijks and Van Gough museums from the hotel concierge which was definitely a time savings at the museums. When we go back to Amsterdam, I definitely think that we will stay at the Moevenpick again.

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a better view of the harbor and the cruise ship terminal next door. We g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Roger S,
Thank you for sharing your kind and detailed feedback with us. We hope your experiences on the boat met up to your expectations and are pleased to see your stay in our hotel did!
It is good to erad you took benefit of the extras which come included when booking an Executive room. Our staff is idneed happy to assist you with any kind of request, such as museum entrances and public transport tickets.
We hope to see you back soon in our hotel!

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago. Nice location, nice spacious room, good restaurant.
Great view from the window (see photos). 15 minutes walk to the center.
Останавливались в этом отеле несколько лет назад. До центра идти 15 минут.
Номер приятный, больше всего понравился вид из окна.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Elena S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your stay a few years ago.
We appreciate the time and are pleased you liked our location, spacious rooms and splendid views.
Anytime you decide to stay with us again, please conatct our staff directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A wonderfully modern and quirky hotel containing aching cool interior design.

Comfy beds and unconventional toilet facilities complimented with modern AV and lights.

Location is a little out of town but the number 5 tram is across the road and frequent - runs till gone midnight as well.

Breakfast was good quality but have to eat a bit to get value out of the all you can eat option - pay by the item if you are having a light meal.

Bar does good cocktails - both alcoholic and non alcoholic.

Best part of the service though was on out last day. My wife was unwell and they allowed her to stay and sleep in the room all day at no charge until we left for the airport. Offering to take drinks etc up as well if she needed it.

Superb and would recommend.

P.S. Spend a bit of time closely examining the picture of the hotel near the lifts.....eye-opening!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Andrew R,
Thank you very much for your detailed and (more than!) positive feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We are truly proud and happy to erad we have exceeded your expectations and you and your wife felt taken care off by our staff. We hope she has recovered completely in the meantime. Thank you also for recommending our hotel, hopefully we have the chance to see you in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.