We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the hotel and Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I loved the hotel and Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my second trip to Amsterdam but first stay at the hotel. I really enjoyed the conference and stay at the hotel. The location was absolutely perfect. It is nowhere away from the major city attractions, even on foot. The concierge was super helpful and the rooms were very clean, modern and bright.

Room Tip: They will accommodate requests for a certain view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Progressive (as are the Dutch in general). It was evident that there were many policies in use and recycling, as well as energy efficiency, is a priority.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    910
    206
    66
    34
See reviews for
367
1,153
125
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed earlier this year and found the whole experience to be excellent.

After travelling for 26 hours from Sydney, we arrived at 7.30 am. The reception staff were very helpful and understanding. They checked us in but as a room was not ready at this time, they stowed our bags while we went sightseeing.

The hotel is not in the heart of Amsterdam but they offer a short shuttle ride which takes you to Centraal Station.

On our return, we went up to our room which was clean and very nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable too. Any requests we made of the staff were taken care of promptly and with a smile.

Breakfast was the usual hotel affair, which was fine with us. The staff were so incredibly friendly in the dining area. They also attend to your every need.

This was my first time in Europe and the Movenpick went a long way to making it most memorable. We would love to return to Amsterdam and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is located close to Centraal Station with a very good free Shuttle Service (takes 3-4 mins). Check-in was fast and efficient. Spacious Room was clean and in good condition. Bed offered an excellent night's sleep. Lots of UK TV programmes - not just news programmes. Plenty of lifts so no long delays waiting for a lift to come even though hotel was full. Breakfast Buffet was very extensive and attractively presented with good quality products. Joanna Kessler was very helpful in getting our Flight Boarding Passes printed after doing an online check-in. The Irish Concierge/Shuttle Driver gave a lot of useful information about checking in at Schiphol. All staff were ready to help at all times but these two were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors looking towards the city
See more room tips
Green Features: Certified by Green Globe. Has dispensers on bath/shower for Shampoo/Liquid Soap. Energy saving devices are activated by key card. Towel changing is at guests request.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is a solid modern block on the waterfront. No gabled dutch charm here, the location is also less scenic than a centrally located hotel. However, good views on upper floors are to be had (we weren't unfortunately). The upside to it being a modern block on the waterfront of course, is much more space in the room with excellent sound insulation, ensuring a good night's sleep and almost no passing traffic noise - something I'd trade for charm and traditional architecture any day.

The website is also very clear and honest about the location - it's a 10-15 minute walk to the Damrak, the same from Amsterdam Centraal. There is a complimentary shuttle to the train station and an incredibly efficient tram running every 8 minutes or so from right outside the hotel, again to the station. The hotel is also the closest to the river cruise terminal, so there are tour groups staying, which can be an interesting dynamic.

The Movenpick chain has its roots in Switzerland and it shows. Everything went like clockwork for us from check in to check out. The room was spotless, cozy and very well fitted, with a huge bathroom; the staff were very friendly and efficient. The TV network was extensive with something for most nationalities. An earlier wifi complaint caught my eye - on the lower floors we had a steady clean signal and it was complimentary (you just had to log in each time, not exactly a chore). I also was grateful for the comfortable king size bed, something rare in europe, and especially in the crowded tourist centres.

An example of the attention to detail? The external door from the room to the corridor was solid, insulated and tight fitting meaning no sound intrusion. It always drives me crazy that even in upscale hotels, every sound from people passing by in the corridor can be heard in the room.

A great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ikelmay,
We are truly happy, pleased and proud to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in every aspect, and you felt the Swiss care and eye for detail. Our modern and well isolated building just outside the busy heart of the city gives you peaceful nights and splendid views.
Your overall positive comments have been shared for encouragement and motivation within our teams already.
Please feel free to stay with us again, anytime your next plans bring you back to explore Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were booked at this hotel by our cruise line and were thrilled with our accommodations.
Located on the waterfront, it was about a 10-15 minute walk to Amsterdam's city center, or jump on the tram across the street and go one stop to the city center. The rooms were very spacious with beautiful views of the city and harbor. The breakfast in the hotel, while a bit pricey, was fabulous with so many choices that there is certainly something for everyone and kept you going throughout the day.. There a comfortable bar off the lobby with a nice assortment of pub food.
The concierge staff was welcoming and attentive. Be sure to buy your tour tickets as well as museum tickets (Van Gogh museum,...) before leaving the hotel and avoid the long lines ( and they are very long!)
This is a definite choice for us for our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear MSW625,
Thank you so much for sharing your (more than!) positive feedback, we are thrilled you found our hotel so lovely and your stay such an enjoyable one.
Your compliments concerning our delicious breakfast, good overall facilities and spacious rooms are much valued and have been shared within our teams for motivation already.
Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a great time at this hotel. We had a cosy room on the 20th floor with a nice view even if we were a little bit disappointed by the view wich is not directly on the city center, you will see the harbor and railway and the nice little island (photo).
The room is clean and nice arranged and really quiet. The bed was really comfortable !
The breackfast was delicious too with a nice buffet.

The hotel is a little bit far away from city center and with the cold wind it was hard to come home after a long day walking in city center but it's still okay by foot.

Room Tip: If you can, choose an executive room between floor 12 and 20 to enjoy a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nicolas H,
Thank you very much for sharing your review with us regarding your stay this month.
We are happy to have made your stay such a great one, and are enouraged by reading you found our rooms to be spacious and clean, and our beds comfortable. Our delicious breakafst may be the perfect start for exploring Amsterdam. You may be interested to know, tram 26 brings you just in front of our hotel.
We look forward assisting you next time you stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Came to Amsterdam for a weekend of sightseeing plus a conference on Monday and Tuesday. Terribly mixed review but I have to say I just can't look forward to coming back.

PROS:
* Clean, nice rooms
* Comfortable bed
* Great hotel bar & restaurant on ground floor
* Great view out of train yard and harbor
* Staff all very helpful and friendly
Nice welcome message on tv when arriving

CONS:
* TERRIBLE internet (room 1215). Slowest I've seen in over a decade, and they're also the first hotel I've seen in ages who charge you for internet -- 35 EUR for three days. Amazing how they dare given how bad it is. I called the front desk for help and the guy said "Oh yeah, sometimes it's fast, sometimes it's slow." But it was never, ever even usable in the four days I was here. Just loading TripAdvisor to write this review today took almost five minutes, and TripAdvisor is usually rather fast. I couldn't do any video, certainly no videoconferencing, and it made even email extremely difficult. As I have to be able to have decent internet to work, it was a decidedly terrible experience to come for a working trip.
* It's NOT City Center! They should call this Moevenpick Harborside, as to get to the city center you have to walk fifteen minutes down a large road, then cross under the road through a tunnel or the main train station, then walk a bit further across Amsterdam before you get anything close to the city center. We wanted a hotel in the center of the city and were disappointed.
* I arrived on Saturday afternoon and having been on the road for almost three weeks needed to do a few shirts of laundry. The guide in the room said they would do laundry on Sunday "for an additional fee". The guy at the front desk said that was wrong, no laundry at all on Sunday. Okay.
* Very few room amenities -- no snacks, no shampoo, no conditioner, not even any water.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor with a room but beware -- terrible internet and not city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Charlie_Ballard,
Thank you for sharing your more than extensive feedback with us.
We sincerely regret to find out we did not meet up to your expectations at all, please accept our apologies. We understand the importance of a decent working WIFI, please allow us to share with you we have started to replace all Wi-Fi access points in our hotel for a brand-new Wi-Fi set-up which meets the demands for a fast growing mobile market and more improvement on IT is scheduled in the 1st quarter of 2015. We hope this improvements may encourage you to stay with us again in a near future. More useful information concerning our location can be found on our website, unfortunately this did not meet up to your expectations.
We hope to have an opportunity to make your next stay a comfortable one.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.