We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than adequate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel one night on a long layover. As described many times before the hotel is a little isolated from the "action." So, if you want to be in the middle of the action perhaps look elsewhere. This also meant the shops and places to eat were limited. That said just 100M or so down the street were a small snack bar and also a Subway restaurant. The Subway was open at 9AM, so we used that for breakfast rather than the high prices at the hotel.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

The rooms were ample and well appointed. Perhaps the only thing we noticed was a slight musty smell. A nice view of the waterway. Not sure what the noise level might have been if a large ship were docked at the terminal next door.

Overall, not sure I would rate it a 4 star hotel, but it served our purposes well and I'd stay again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    894
    201
    63
    34
See reviews for
363
1,128
123
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a week-long visit to Amsterdam, so over the course of 7 days I got a pretty good understanding of this hotel.

First...location. A lot of commenters rightly say it is a little isolated. If you're staying either pre or post cruise, then there is no better location for you. If you are there to see the city, you will have a fine location using this hotel as a base, but you will not be in the heart of the action. A 10-15 minute walk gets you to the central station which is the uppermost end of the Centrum (Amsterdam's central sector). Alternatively, the hotel does offer a free shuttle which you can take to the central station or there is public transit. I did not take either as the walk wasn't bad at all, but it is an option for those who simply can't stand an extra 10-15 mins walk.

If you're wanting to spend more time in areas like museumplein for the Rijksmuseum etc., Jordaan, or De Pijp, then this hotel could be a little far removed for you. For me, it was fine because I like walking over every square inch of a city, so I used the tram only once, but I can understand that many people like to be within 10- 15 mins of everything. If this is the case, then you'll be frustrated with the Moevenpick's location.

But not being in the heart of the action can also have its benefits. It's extremely quiet, there are not too many groups of drunk partiers staying in the hotel and there are some nice walks to other parts of amsterdam which you probably wouldn't see if you were located in the Centrum, Utrechtsestraat, or De Pijp areas.

There are one or two restaurants within a 10 minute walk (including one Jamie Oliver restaurant), but for more selection you will have to travel to other areas of the city. The good thing though, is that there is a tram stop not far from the hotel so you can easily use public transit to go to farther neighbourhoods for shopping, sites or restaurants.

The hotel itself is as you would expect of a Moevenpick - clean, minimalist, modern, efficient. The service is very good - very pleasant and helpful staff in all areas - front door, concierge, desk, restaurant/bar and housekeeping. The food is a little hit and miss. I had the breakfast every morning which was pretty decent (but expensive). A good selection of items in the buffet - both hot and cold options. Food was of pretty decent quality, well prepared and regularly refilled and fresh. I also ate in the bar for lunch/dinner a few times. The menu is not huge, so choices are somewhat limited. I had a burger, caesar salad, and club sandwich, which were all fairly average. Really though, unless you have to eat at the hotel, you should probably get out and sample some of the great spots for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the city (try Tisfris near Rembrandt house for lunch and Sluizer in Utrechtsestraat for dinner - both great).

The room was pretty big for a european hotel, with a decent amount of closet space for clothes. There was also a nice little mini fridge for guest use. The king bed was comfortable and pillows were really good. The bathroom was a nice size, although the counter space was pretty tight. Our room faced west, so we had a great city and water view. Wifi worked flawlessly and was nice and fast.

All in all, it is a good hotel, better than average, but it's somewhat isolated location could detract from your Amsterdam experience. If I go again, I will try to find something in a different neighbourhood, but failing that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms facing west have great river/city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Brad L,
Thank you for sharing your detailed and positive review regarding your stay in our hotel.
It is good to hear you did appreciate our quite location, while it is still easy to reach all interesting sights in town. You may be interested to know, besides our more limited choice in our Silk Bar, you can choose to have dinner in our Silk Road Restaurant should you decide to stay in the hotel.
Thank you again for your informative feedback.
Next time you decide to stay with us again, please contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Viking booked us at this hotel for our per cruise hotel and two day stay in Amsterdam. Hotel room was huge by European standards, more what one expects in the States. We had a fabulous view of the activity in the port but quiet room due to great windows. Breakfast at the hotel was extremely generous and everything you could ask for and then some. We ate dinner one evening one evening in the hotel bar/ dining room on first floor and everything was great. Hotel and wait staff spoke English. The walk to the central station was not bad, probably not the safest at night but we bought tram tickets to get around the city and it stopped right across the street from the hotel. Only negative was if you want the flavor of being in Central city, this was not it. You probably got more for your money here, so the trade off is yours! I posted photos from our room window overlooking the port.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Gstflorida53,
We are delighted to learn from your (more than) positive feedback you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel and hope your boat cruise met up to your expectations too.
Our quiet but still easy to access location gives you splendid views and peaceful nights.
Should you plan your next visit to our country, we look forward making your stay a most comfortable one again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night and booked a Standard King room with a request for a higher floor. They duly responded with a room on the 17th floor which had an amazing view and felt very modern and clean. I arrived for check-in an hour early which was no problem for them, and from the point I arrived, every staff member I spoke to was really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The €15 Room Service Continental breakfast the next morning was lovely, I couldn't finish it all! My only tiny disappointment was the distance from the hotel to the city centre which isn't the prettiest walk, but otherwise I really enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear lizkiwi,
Your kind feedback is much appreciated, thank you very much.
We are delighted to read you were pleasantly surprised to receive the room of your liking, and received a friendly and helpful service from our staff. You may be interested to know, the local authorities are putting effort in making the walking routes attractive, for example besides taking the bridge near the water there is an optional walking route underneath the viaduct decorated with pieces of art.. please ask our Concierge for more details should your next travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close for cruisers and quick 10 minute walk to Central Station. However it is isolated, you can't walk to restaurants easily. It is dated, not very clean. The toilet in my room had some dark buildup at the bottom. Carpets are not clean and in general housekeeping is poor. Breakfast in morning is plentiful. Bar was understaffed both nights, but food was good. I think it is very expensive for what you get and location, would not return.
Views from rooms are spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear ellenStateCollege,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is good to hear you in general appreciated our facilities but at the same time it did not meet up to your personal taste.
Our apologies for the level of cleanliness. This has our top prioritity and immediate action will take place to prevent this from re occurring.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made reservations at the hotel in one of the bidding websites as part of our honeymoon.
We sent an e-mail before our arrival with some basic questions and never got a reply.
When we arrived we found out that the hotel - that defines it self as located at "city center" is actually in a 20 minutes walking distance from the center. Moreover, the hotel only had non smoking rooms, the staff was very strict and unwelcoming, and the shuttle, that was suppose to take us to the train station, only took us half the way.
The room was nice, but cold most of the time, the window hardly opens and the wi-fi was bad.
Over whole, it was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Einatfi,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and a late congratulations again on your honeymoon. We deeply regret to hear our hotel and your stay did not meet up to your expectations, and you did not receive a reply to your questions. Please feel free to share more details directly with us, as this is defenitely not our style and signature. Useful information before traveling can be found on our website. You can also find the reason why, unfortunately, we are not able to take you to the Central Station by shuttle (due to the constructions on the back side of the Central Station).
Should you reconsider to visit our hotel again, please do not hesitate to contact our staff personally. We are all happy to assist you and make your next stay a most enjoyable one.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an extended trip through Viking Cruise Line. It was a convenient location to the pier but if you are not cruising I would not recommend this location. A better choice would be closer to the bus and tram station. As I recall there's a Double Tree in a convenient location. It's very difficult to get to the front door of the hotel if you are walking. We were dropped off by the Viking bus and had a difficult time figuring out how to reach the front door. The bus was on a different level than the hotel.

The breakfast at this hotel was amazing. No one could match the spread they dish out every morning. The view from our room facing the piers was amazing. Absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Facing the piers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Gigi-alaska,
We hope your river cruise has been a beautiful one and thank you kindly for your contribution.
It is good to hear you in general enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast buffet and great views. We regret you found our location complicated to find.
Anytime you have the chance to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact our staff for any assistance and care you may need.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.