We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely view of the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely view of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Modern stylish hotel. Large rooms with sofa and tables. Big comfortable bed and crisp white bedding. Fridge and good size tv. Good bathroom. Courtesy bus to train station good idea to book in advace as it goes every half an hour and only holds eight passengers. We walked from the station to the hotel bon arrival as everyone said it wasn't far on hindsight I would have taken a taxi as it is a long way dragging suitcases.

Room Tip: I think all bthe rooms are similar. The higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    878
    191
    62
    33
See reviews for
356
1106
121
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel works for a staging area for cruise boats/ships. It is crowded and has the feel of a large ocean going cruise ship.

The room was adequate in size, but not very clean. The breakfast was quite large with lots of choices, but as mentioned, had a “herd” feel to the buffet. The "swarm" effect is not very appealing in this respect.

The location is good, if you want to spend a day in the city.

We don’t have much to say about this hotel. If we were booked there as part of a cruise package, we would stay. But we would not choose this hotel as our independent choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear txorig,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your conments but regret to find out it did not completely meet up to your expectations. During high season and in peak hours, it can indeed get busy at the several departments.
Our apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.

We look forward welcoming you back anytime your plans bring you to Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not a bad hotel. Bed was pretty comfortable and the room was clean. Pretty small room. We had to pay extra city tax for the room after booking through Hotwire.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from Centraal station. Just make sure you keep on the main road and.

Nice view on the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Royi S,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is good to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
You may be interested to know, our hotel offers one of the largest rooms in the city of Amsterdam :). On your confirmation with your Travel Agent you can find what is included in your rate, and excluded such as the city tax.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were booked by Viking into the hotel when we came off the river cruise. The hotel is very modern, the shower was exceptional and the room had plenty of space. I wished we were there more than two nights. The breakfast buffet was included and if was exceptional. The staff, from check in to check out were friendly, helpful, and very professional. I wish I could have stayed longer

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BlackLabMom_13,
We hope your river cruise with Viking has been a lovely one, thank you very much for sharing your positive hotel feedback regarding your stay. Your compliments concerning our friendly, helpful and professional staff are much appreciated and have been shared within our teams already.
Please feel free to stay with us again for a longer period if your travel plans allow you.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great time! Hotel was amazing! Great facilities and bar! Had a great time in a fantastic city. Didn't have good in the restaurant but room service was great too. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! I can't wait to book again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ryan M,
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your Haloween weekend in our hotel, and had such a great time with us as well as the city of Amsterdam.
Thank you for recommending us, we hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What is there to say but amazing !? Staff, hotel, bars, location and complimentary shuttle bus to dam square all absolutely brilliant. Thanks again for our friendly warm and welcoming stay. Will definitely be coming again :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Leighukleeds,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review with us, regarding an amazing stay in our hotel.
We are proud to learn you appreciated our facilities, warm and welcoming staff.
Our free shuttle brings you close to the Central Station ;) from there the Dam Square is indeed at a walkable disctance.

Please contact us directly for your next stay to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City is centrally situated on the harbour Area of Amsterdam just a short stroll to the City Main Station, is very handy to the River Cruise Vessels cruise terminal , and the canal cruise boats harbour. A great place to relax and wind down with friends and family. The well presented and professional attitude of their staff makes the Movenpick Hotel a pleasent stay for any concerned traveler. Great rooms and facilities and also good variety of food available at the breakfast bar every morning catering to all nationalities (or so it seemed to me). My recommendation is to ask for a room overlooking the harbour. Our room was 1123.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the aspects of the city but our room was 1123 facing down/up the river looking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear wazzaw123,
We hope your boat cruise with Viking has been an enjoyable one, and we are delighted to find out your stay in our hotel met up to your expectations (and more!)
Your compliments concerning our professional and kind staff have been shared within our teams already.

We look forward to make your next stay a memorable one again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.