We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #39 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent price and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My partner and I stayed at the Moevenpick hotel for two nights while visiting amsterdam. Although the hotel is slightly outside the historic centre of the city, this was reflected in the price of the rooms. We got an excellent deal, and had a beautiful room with a fantastic view of the city. We were able to hire bikes at a very reasonable price from the basement of the hotel, and found the hotel to be an excellent base for visiting the city by bike.

The rooms were clean and finished beautifully. Wifi was free to guests. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, I'd gladly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,172
    867
    184
    61
    32
See reviews for
350
1086
121
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Movenpic as part of our Avalon Waterways cruise down the Rhine. The hotel is modern and well presented and the staff efficient - we found that the hotel had booked us in to arrive the day before we actually arrived but they dealt with this very efficiently and found us a suite without any problem. The hotel is ideal for the cruise boat but being on the river it is slightly out of the city and is a stroll to the centre - not a problem in good weather but a nuisance in the wet! Like all city hotels it is expensive but we found that booking a suite and having use of the executive lounge made it good value for money.

Room Tip: Suite is worth the extra for the use of executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, today
Dear HumphreyCushion,
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding your booking with us, including the extra benefits which you took advantage of.
We are indeed located just outside the city center, we offer a free shuttle bus (advance booking needed) close to the Central Station.
We look forward welcoming you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel has a bit of a modern décor but is very clean and comfortable. They are conveniently located near the music center and the docks for both the river cruises and the ocean cruises. However, their is very little noise. It is a short walk to the main train station which is also the primary point for the embarking on a walk through old Amsterdam. The staff is very attentive and friendly. The buffet breakfast provided in the morning is fabulous. So many things to choose from; something for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, today
Dear Dennis B,
We are delighted to learn your stay in our hotel has been such a pleasant one. Our quiet modern building, siuated on the banks of the river "IJ', giving you magnificient views and offering quiet nights. Our entire team looks forward to assist you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location. We were able to walk to the town center. It was the hotel selected by Avalon Cruise Line. We came in two days early to take advantage of additional sight seeing in Amsterdam and surroundings. The hotel was busy, but very helpful. The rooms were great; very comfortable beds. Our only complaint was the breakfast. There was no choice before 8:00am for anything other than a $25.00 buffet. After 8:00 one could get a roll and croissant and drink at the bar for $7.00. We had excursions planned and needed to be ready to be picked up at 8:00.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the room that overlooked the harbor where the river cruise ships were located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, today
Dear jabdab_13,
We hope your Avalon cruise has been an enjoyable one, and would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us. It is good to read you received an adequate and friendly service from our staff despite the fact the hotel was so busy. We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service, and are encouraged to read this pays off. Otherwise we regret to hear our breakfast options and times did not match to your plans.
Thank you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mmovenpik staff are fabulous. Really made our weekend break ! Stay at this hotel and you won't be disappointed !
We stayed in a junior exec suite and were delighted with our room. The view was spectacular - even when the cruise ship arrived in the middle of the night .
Snacks in exec lounge 5-7 brilliant after a hard day trekking museums !
Breakfasts busy but brilliant range of goods to choose
We will be returning to this hotel again

Room Tip: Get to the higher floors if you cAn....the views are excellent -
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, today
Dear 121Aimee121,
Thank you so much for sharing your (more than!) positive review, we are happy to read we made your stay such an excellent one.
Compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

Please contact us directly for your next future stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fab hotel just 10 minutes walk from the train station, or, the hotel offers a free shuttle service. Rooms were very comfortable and stylish. We didn't eat at the hotel, but did have drinks in the bar which was lovely. 15 minute walk to Dam Square, we had breakfast on the way, plenty of places to chose from. Would certainly go back! Try the GloGolf just across the tram line. A giggle with the family.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, today
Dear Suzie3718,
Thank you for your kind contribution on Tripadvisor, this is much appreciated.
We are truly pleased to find out you valued our ideal location, good hotel and overall facilities.
Please contact us directly should your next family trip plans bring you back to The Netherlands, and our beautiful city.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Moevenpick for three nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the central station and the town centre, and it has some really nice views of the canal - we stayed on the sixth floor.

We had a triple room and I liked that the double bed was two single beds pushed together with separate duvets to give us some extra space. However the third bed wasn't very good as it was a couch converted into a bed and it was pretty hard and not very comfortable. Another single bed instead of the couch would have been better.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we thought it was pretty expensive, so we had breakfast in town instead. We thought the drinks at the bar were quite pricey too, but soon discovered this is a running theme through Amsterdam - it's an expensive city to drink in!

Overall we really liked the location, the beds (apart from the third bed in the triple room) were comfortable, the views were excellent, and it was clean. Checking in and out was easy and hassle free. If I return to Amsterdam I'll definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, today
Dear Sam R,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your 3 night- 4 day stay in our hotel.
We enjoy to read you appreciated our views and easy to reach, quiet location, comfortable beds and clean rooms. Otherwise we regret to learn about your inconveniences regarding the third bed. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly for your next stay.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.