We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Moevenpick before embarking on our Rhine River cruise a few weeks ago and it was wonderful! The location was perfect since the canal boat and tram stops were a very short walking distance away. We had excellent panoramic water views from our room and enjoyed unwinding with a glass of wine on the restaurant deck each night. The hotel even served scrumptious breakfasts and dinners (an unexpected bonus). On top of all this, the staff was professional and very helpful throughout our stay. The next time we travel to Amsterdam, we would love to come back to the Moevenpick!

Room Tip: Definitely try to book a room on an upper floor with a River view. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Piatee,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel, and hope your river cruise has been a memorable one too.
Your more than positive remarks concerning our location, excellent room views, tastful breakfast and friendly professional staff have been shared within our entire team already.

Please notify us prior to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    878
    191
    62
    33
See reviews for
356
1,108
121
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel over the bank holiday weekend (UK) and found it to be very good. Some of the reviews about the staff / check in etc hadn’t been great and after my visit, I think that some of these are unfair. The hotel is a massive hub for cruise customers, a lot of them American and all we heard in the public areas, were Americans moaning and not letting the small things go. Ok so there wasn’t enough tea in your room, easily solvable. I think some people were being too demanding but anyway, onto my view.

We booked an executive room for two nights and check in wasn’t until 3pm on the Saturday. We had a very early flight and got to the hotel before 10am. We checked in but no room available but this was fine as you could see that they were clearly busy. The concierge was helpful and booked us onto the shuttle bus into town. We came back to the hotel at 1pm on the off chance that a room might be ready and it was. Given how busy the hotel was and how early we’d flown, we were really grateful for this.

Town is a ten minute walk, or a two minute tram ride. The shuttle bus doesn’t quite go all the way into town and I suspect it is most useful for the maturer guest. The room was comfortable and clean with a nice view. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower was strong and hot. I can’t stand a weak shower so I always like to comment on this. The minibar was included in the room cost but we only used this for soft drinks. Wasn’t enough water for my liking but not a big deal. TV worked fine but we only used it for Sky News while we were getting ready.

From a female perspective, the hairdryer was rubbish. You have to continuously press one of the buttons for it to stay on and it’s very heavy. I had my own but there are no plugs near any of the mirrors which was a bit annoying when trying to get ready but again, not a huge deal.

Also the bed was a king size but two duvets instead of one big one – I didn’t like this but I didn’t bother asking if this could be changed as it wasn’t life changing.

The happy hour in the executive lounge (actually two hours) is worth a visit for beer, wine and light snacks all included in room cost. The breakfast was amazing. Great selection of food available.

I can’t say enough how friendly the staff were, from the check in and check out, to restaurant reservation/recommendation and luggage storage. Nothing takes too long and nothing is too much trouble. We plan on going to Amsterdam again and will definitely be staying here. The staff make this place what it is.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear LisaJB19821971,
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are truly pleased to read you had such a pleasant stay with us and were able to check in earlier after a long flight. We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and services and are happy to see this pays off!
Our apologies for the hairdryer not being of your expectations.

Please contact us directly for any future assistance you may need should you have the chance to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights as part of an extension to a 15 day river cruise. Sited across from a tram station, a short distance from where the river cruise boats dock, and right next to the International Cruise Terminal which accepts the larger cruise ships. We had fun observing the Seabourne Quest, a luxury cruise ship, from our 8th floor window. If you feel the need to stretch your legs or sit and watch the sunset, you can walk out on the deck behind the hotel using a door from the restaurant. In the case of our room, it was quite comfortable with a couch and 2 single beds pushed together. Well laid out bathroom. Excellent water pressure on the shower. Food served by and service in the restaurant and using room service was great. Front desk was helpful with providing a free renewable Icepack after your author misjudged the edge of a tram curb, fell onto the tracks, and whacked her elbow and hand pretty hard. Free wifi was a bit frustrating. Only good for 4 hrs and easily lost if you went dormant during the 4 hrs. Nominally 1 Mbps but many times seemed a lot less. However you can set up free logins for as many devices as you want.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear CharTrav,
We hope you had a very enjoybale boat cruise and hope you have recovered in the meantime from your unfortunate accident with the tram. Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experiences with us. It is very motivating to learn you valued our well equipped rooms and excellent service. We regret to hear about your WIFI being dysfunctional during your stay.

We defenitely look forward welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a very late review. Stayed here for 3 nights prior to our Scandinavian Cruise. This hotel is situated just next to the cruise terminal and about 10-15 minutes walk from Central Station. Hotel offers free shuttle to Central station that runs every 30 minutes. The room is big and clean with a fantastic view of the river from room window. This is a good choice for cruise passengers because it very close to cruise terminal, only about 150 yards to the ship. Celebrity Reflection was berthed right next to the hotel. Transfer of luggage from hotel to ship was convenient and easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear cherryd1028,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us last May. We appreciate the time you took to share this with us, and are happy to find out your stay met up to your expectations.
Our hotel is indeed ideal for cruise travelers, as well for those who are looking for a quiet location outside the busy city centre, but with excellent connections to all places of interest.

We look forward welcoming you back in a near future.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very modern hotel overlooking the port of Amsterdam and the city. It's about 1km from Central Station and the hotel runs a courtesy shuttle bus to and from the station area.
The breakfasts are great, the rooms are fine although a lot of people were complaining about the air con not being too clever at cooling rooms.
We got a deal for an Exec room with free mini bar and free use of an exec lounge which featured 2 hours of free drinks and nibbles. It was a nice extra.
Apart from a couple of occasions when house keeping let the side down - nothing serious but niggles like bins not being emptied, empty tissue box ... this is a very good hotel with friendly smiley staff. Hit the spot for us.

Room Tip: Higher up gives great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Geraldo_Bonzo,
We are pleased to learn from your review your stay met up to your expectations (and more!),
and you took benefit of the extras which come included when booking an Executive Room.
We regret to read about the cleanliness of your room, our apologies for this inconvenience.
Please be assured this has our highest attention.
Our friendly staff looks forward to make your next stay a memorable one again.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel for two nights as part of a Viking Cruise pre-extension. We found the hotel to be very comfortable and in a great location. It is only a few minutes walk to Amsterdam's central station. The hotel is clean, well-managed and very quiet. We especially enjoyed the king bed that is actually comprised of two smaller mattresses - after several flights from the mid-West USA totaling 11 hours, including an overnight flight where we didn't get ANY sleep, the two-mattress system allowed us each to sleep as long as we needed without waking the other up. The buffet breakfast was also outstanding - by far the best I've encountered in all my travels. I would caution other travelers to call ahead and request an early check-in, if you need it - our flight arrived at 10:40 AM, and after being awake for nearly 30ish hours, I would have appreciated the room being available but it wasn't ready until 3 PM. Overall, we were very pleased and would definitely stay here again - a great value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear St._Louis_Ladybug,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed and kind feedback regarding your stay and hope you enjoyed your boat cruise. Your positive remarks concerning our clean and quiet rooms, easy to access location and comfortable bed is much appreciated and encouraging to read.
Please allow me to explain teh early check in procedure. We are depending on guest to check out on time, to have rooms clean, especially when we are fully booked the evening before. As our check out time is 12.00, we cannot always guarantee an early check in, of course we will always do our best to give a room to our guests as soon as possible.
When many guests know that there travel arrangements will bring them to their destination earlier than the general guaranteed check-in time of most major hotels, they will often book a room the evening before arrival to guarantee that a room will be empty and available for their early arrival.
This is unfortunately the only way to guarantee an early check-in when hotels are operating at high or full occupancy.
We look forward welcoming you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to get to our Amsterdam destination one day ahead of our planned River cruise and chose the Movenpick based on Trip Advisor reviews. We arrived at the airport early morning and was transferred to the hotel for check in. We were very early for our 3p.m. check in time so the hotel personnel held our big luggage on the luggage carts separately and actually had them in our room when we returned several hours later. We left our hand luggage also and it was locked in a room near the check in desk and we were issued a claim ticket to pick it up. So rest assured your luggage will be safe. The room was clean and well taken care of. There was plenty of room for the two of us. The bathroom was just fine also. We were absolutely worn out after almost two days and nights of preparation, flying and sight seeing all day in Amsterdam that we just wanted a nice clean comfortable bed to collapse in. The Movenpick fit all our criteria. It has a very good restaurant on site and it is very close to the docking sit of our Avalon River Cruise Ship. It was also easy walking distance to The train station and Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear JM2323,
We hope your river cruise with Viking has been a beautiful one, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive feedback. Reading your comments makes us proud to have made your stay such an unforgettable one, thank you for your kind appreciation concerning our general facilities.
Should you have the occasion to stay with us again, please do contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.