We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, for tram, train, cruises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, for tram, train, cruises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Large modern room with excellent views of river and lifted our flagging spirits after a long flights.Tram 3 minutes away, then one stop to Tram Hub and Central Rail Station. Friendly staff with helpful advice for city sights. Breakfast very good, but expensive. we found out later that you could obtain a reduced price when booking in, but this was not mentioned to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible. Ours was on 18 th floor - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jan1355,
Thank you for sharing your kind experiences with us regarding your stay in our hotel.
It is good to read your valued our easy to access and quiet location and friendly staff.
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon and hope you can enjoy our tasty and reduced prebooked breakfast.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    1,095
    244
    82
    40
See reviews for
447
1,390
133
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel in the future. We were taking a Viking River Cruise and did a pre-cruise 2-nights in Amsterdam. Viking booked this hotel for us and we are happy they did!
The room was clean, modern and comfortable. We had 2-twin beds put together to form a king and this worked fine. Plenty of closet space along with a safe, mini frig, desk and couch. Loved the large shower and over sized towels.
We also had a great view of the harbor area and enjoyed watching the ships.
The location of the hotel was within walking distance of the Central Station, canal tours, great eating and shops.
Even though the hotel was very full, it was a quiet stay.
The staff was very helpful and took care of all our needs.
The breakfast buffet was everything anyone could want and presented well.
We would stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear luvthecaribbean,
We hope your boat cruise with Viking has been an enjoyabel one, and appreciate you are taking the time to inform us about your pleasant stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to read we have met up to your expectations (and more!) Your overall compliments have been shared within our entire team already.
Next time you have the occasion to stay with us again, please feel free to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very clean nice hotel. The whole staff went out of their way to make our trip great, from the man that took care of our luggage to the concierges to the desk clerks. The breakfast each morning was exceptional. The shuttle to Central Station area worked well. Would stay there again if we ever got to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear D S,
We are truly pleased by reading your short and positive review, we have been able to make your stay such an enjoyable one. Our entire team looks forward to have the opportunity to make your next stay a memorable one again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were treated very nicely. Very nice hotel. What was really great was that we had left some money in the safe in the room. We emailed them from the United States and they very promptly returned all our money. That was excellent

Room Tip: We had a room on the 17th floor and had excellent views of the city--and the beautiful supermoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed in Movenpick hotel for one night before I was going back to HK. I like this hotel, the location of this hotel is quite good, it is situated in the pier of Amsterdam, it is just about 10-15 minutes walk to china town and central station. It has spectacular view that you can have a whole picture of the Amsterdam city. The price is reasonable given I booked it in the last minute and in the summer peak season. I would consider to stay in this hotel next time i come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kate L,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are happy to learn you have had such an enjoyable stay with us, and you are considering to stay with us again.
Should you have your next travel dates reday, please contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Modern style hotel not too far from Central Station. Nearby tram stop useful for city navigation. Although not so old it has already been updated and renovated. Bedrooms are a good size mostly with various Rhine and city views. Clean airy and spacious throughout. Staff warm and friendly especially the barman late afternoon. I'd come back here

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear martin14,
We would like to tahnk you for sharing your kind review with us. It is good to learn you valued our modern hotel close to the Central Station enabling beautiful views over the river "IJ".
Your overall compliments have been shared within our teams already.
Should your next travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam we look forward to assist you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Movenpick for one night prior to our Holland America cruise and one night afterward. We initially booked this hotel because our cruise was scheduled to leave from the Passenger Cruise Terminal, right next door. But Holland America, in its wisdom, changed the terminal to Felison. However, we did enjoy our stay here and found all of the staff to be outstanding. The view from our room was wonderful. Additionally, we had dinner in the bar and found it to be great also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear ellie990,
We hope your cruise has been a beautiful one, thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us. Your comment regarding our outstanding staff has been shared within our entire team for motivation already.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.