We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD 4 STAR HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
bedlingtonshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A GOOD 4 STAR HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just had 5 nights at the Movenpick as a cultural break in amsterdam.
An executive room on 19th floor magic views river and city.
Breakfasts and complimentary mini bar as part of expedia deal a very good choice.
It is slightly out of city centre but better for it no noise or traffic problems,tram stop 200m walk or about 700m to central station on foot.
Food very good and all you can eat breakfast to set you up for days walking.
Everywhere in hotel spotless and very organised staff faultless and very pleasant at all levels.
From our room on 19th floor saw a Peregrine falcon take a little gull and land on the nearby ferry terminal roof (pic attached).
In all a good break and amsterdams intergrated transport system a gem when compared to the uk clean ,on time and nice staff .
We never felt once at risk in city day or night

Room Tip: High floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear willygan,
We are very pleased to read you had such a beautiful stay in our hotel and appreciated our quiet location, magic views and all extras which come included when booking an Executive Room.
Our large variety of breakfast is a good start for exploring the city of Amsterdam.

Please feel free to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    878
    191
    62
    33
See reviews for
356
1106
121
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a weekend at the Moevenpick through TravelBird to celebrate my partner's thirtieth birthday. Due to a mistake with my booking (Travelbird's fault) we were upgraded to an executive room on the 20th floor. Good job we were.

This hotel is like a fancy Premier Inn. Fairly generic with no real character. The staff are nice enough but not overly friendly in any way. Our room was a nice size with a fantastic view overlooking the river. But if you didn't have this view, the hotel would be nothing special. We had free drinks from the mini bar and free Wi-Fi, both of which you don't get in a standard room. The television didn't work, which we reported but no one came to sort it out. Not a big deal as we didn't come to watch tele...but still. Good toiletries etc. in the bathroom although bring your own hairdryer! Theirs weighs a tonne and I burnt myself quite badly as it became very overheated.

The hotel is geared towards Americans who are stopping on their way to a river cruise, for which this hotel is perfectly situated. We were definitely one of the youngest couples there at 29 and 30. The breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection although very busy. We didn't use the restaurant or bar though, why would you when you have come to see the city?!

The main issue with this hotel is that it is a good 15 minutes walk from the train station and town. It doesn't sound like much but when you have spent the whole day walking around Amsterdam, trudging an additional 20 minutes back to the hotel can be a little tiring. They do offer a shuttle service but you have to book in advance. We are pretty fit but found this exhausting so I have no idea how the largely older population of the hotel managed this daily.

Overall, nothing special. It didn't take anything away from a great trip to Amsterdam but it didn't add much either.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to an executive room is you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Wingy642624,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review with us.
It is good to know you in general enjoyed your stay in our modern hotel but regret at the same time did not meet up to your expectations.
Should you reconsider staying with us again our team is more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always pride myself on my fairness when reviewing hotels. I accept things go wrong when you are dealing with dozens of guests every day and it's how you deal with them that counts.
So there's a big lesson to be taken for the management at the Moevenpick in Amsterdam - where we experienced the rudest front desk staff ever on our travels.
If there are any Faulty Towers fans out there, do you remember the episode where Sybil leaves Basil and he tries to convince friends she is sick in bed, doing all he can to stop them going to her room? That was a little like our check in.
We arrived at 10.30am following an early flight and we were allowed to register but told our room would not be available until 3pm. That was fair and we went for a walk around the city centre until 3pm promptly, when we got to the front desk.
There were two sets of guests arguing with staff there. One couple appeared to have had their room cancelled and another group of three men were having problems with their reservation for a triple room.
We had booked an executive room - as breakfast was included in the price - and this package gave you access to a larger room with views, free mini bar and access to the executive lounge.
When we went to pick up our room keys we were told there was a five minute delay as our room was being cleaned. We waited and after 10 minutes the room still wasn't ready and the woman on the check in disappeared into the back. She came out after another delay and said the problem was our fault. We had requested a king size bed and she said there was only one on the whole of the executive floor. If we wanted it, we would have to wait. At this point we challenged this - Expedia had given the option of a twin or king bed on that floor. We didn't believe there was only one - she insisted there was and if we wanted it, we would have to wait. She then started to say, rather rudely, that she didn't have to honour our request for a king and if we wanted one we would just have to wait. She said late check out, at 2pm, was allowed with the executive package and if we wanted this room we would have to wait. It was now 3.30pm and we asked to speak to the manager. She went into the back and returned with someone - who we later found out was pretending to be the manager. We said we understood the late checkout policy but felt the hotel really needed to get the right systems in place so that guests rooms were available on time, whether they were in an executive room (which costs more) or not. If they wanted to offer late check out facility, fine, but it didn't mean we should be inconvenienced. He didn't apologise but then we were told our room was ready, so we were handed the keys and headed to the lift. After a few minutes the woman who checked us in ran over, muttered something about upgrading us and took the keys from my hand. They were returned five minutes later (with the same room number on them, so no upgrade and another lie!) and we went up to our room. You can imagine how happy we were to enter a room which hadn't been touched since the previous occupants had left. Dirty bedding was strewn everywhere, towels on the floor and rubbish in the bin. We traipsed downstairs again and asked to speak to the manager and a different person appeared - this time the genuine front of house manager (although we did ask to see the general manager). We complained about what had happened and the lies (upgrade) and rudeness we encountered and he took us up to another room which was being finished off when we arrived. Strangely, this had a king bed too after being told there was only one in the whole hotel. He did sincerely apologise for what had happened - it was gone 4pm then and we had originally registered at 10.30 - and brought us a bar of chocolate, some jam and a drinks voucher by way of an apology (there were free drinks in the exec lounge any way so that made little difference) but in fairness he wasn't rude towards us. He explained the hotel had been overbooked and there had been some problems - all of this fair enough but no excuse for the rudeness and lies we experienced on check in. I was actually very annoyed that the assistant thought we were so stupid that we couldn't see through this. In truth, the whole situation could have been so easily avoided if they had just told us there had been a delay when we got there at 3pm and offered us a coffee on the house while we waited. Instead we were left feeling really stressed out by what should have been a positive experience. After getting into the room, we then had to wait for the mini bar to be restocked, so all in all we lost one and a half hours to this chaos.
All of this aside, there are a lot of positives to this hotel, the executive rooms are a great size, spotlessly clean (when you finally get to a room which has been cleaned in between guests) and it is in a good location (just one team stop from the centre of Amsterdam). The rest of the staff we encountered during our stay (with the exception of the staff checking your room numbers at the entrance to the breakfast room) were lovely in fairness.
However, first impressions count and I don't think I would ever step foot in this hotel or any other Moevenpick for that matter after such an horrendous check in experience. Any hotel that employs front desk staff who are so lacking in basic customer service skills that your experience feels like a comedy farce, doesn't deserve my custom.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Artdecolou,
Thank you very much for sharing your extensive feedback with us. We sincerely regret to learn about your unpleasant experiences, please accept our apologies. Unfortunately your room had not been ready at our guaranteed check in time, and due to misunderstanding you were given another room which had not been prepared yet either. Please be assured we have this further investigated within our related teams to prevent this from happening again.
Besides this it is much appreciated you highlighted the positive aspects of your stay.
Should you have the chance to visit our hotel, please do not hesitate to conatct our hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful! Rooms were clean and their was amazing views of the city and sea from our room which was on the 18th floor. There was a complimentary shuttle bus to the train station which ran every 30 minutes from the hotel and there was a taxi rank outside. The hotel was very close to the city centre. We rented bikes from the bike hire just outside the hotel for €20 pp for 2 days and used this method to get around for the two days we were there. If we ever return to Amsterdam we will use this hotel again and would highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sian-Wales89,
We are happy to read your two night stay met up to your expectations (and more!), and you are considering staying with us again and you would recommend our hotel.
Good to read you explored Amsterdam by bike like the Dutch do!

Please feel free to contact us directly for your next travel plans to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good hotel, super busy all the time though. Receptionists are efficient; I guess they are used to cruises, airline crews and many many guests.
Hotel is big, but also has a personal touch and romance in it. Rooms are spacious with beautiful view on Canal and Amsterdam. City centre is 15 min walk, but there is also a complimentary shuttle bus that takes you there if you don’t want to walk.
Café bar is also very good with great breakfast and good choice of drinks.
Good place to be.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear fabioinmontreal,
Thank you for sdharing your kind feedback with us. It is motivating to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while our hotel has been so busy with many different guests.
Your positive remarks concerning our friendly staff, great views and good level of F&B are much appreciated. We look forward assisting you again with a personal touch. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from the 8th of August to the 11th.The hotel is a short way from the main central train station but is not in the centre of the city.This was not a problem as we got a taxi which cost ten Euro's (you can also get a tram to across the road from it).We found the hotel to be very clean and modern and the staff on reception were very nice and we had a friendly welcome.We did not eat in the hotel as we thought the breakfast was a bit expensive and we had our dinner in the city at night other than return to the hotel.The rooms were of a great standard.We did enjoy a few drinks in the bar each night and some snacks also.The bar staff were excellent and a credit to the hotel,they could not do enough to help and worked very hard always with a smile on their faces.I would return to this hotel if I was to visit this part of the world again.There is very little noise at night considering the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a tram ticket from the hotel and make use of the tram network to travel to the city centre and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Lemonstar70,
We truly appreciate to learn your stay at our hotel has been such an enjoyable one, and you valued our great standard of rooms, excellent and friendly staff and quiet modern hotel.
You may be interested to know, packages including breakfast can many times be found on our own website or via Travel Agencies. Should your next holiday bring you back to Amsterdam please feel free to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our European trip. Only two staff at reception when a number of people were booking in and out - they could have used more. Our room was quite spacious, a bit more modern styling than we are used to which was fine. However their bedding and towels left a lot to be desired. They were clean but the towels were so hard and grey tinged - one of the face cloths needed to be thrown out which I left a note about. They took it away but never replaced it. Then there was a hole about 1 1/2 inch square in the bed sheet that I left clearly exposed for housekeeping but it didn't get changed. I did mention this at check out and they were most apologetic but I would hope that the facecloth and sheet weren't used again. Breakfast was fine but breakfast room wooden floor was sticky on both mornings. Internet connection was a bit of a pain all the time so although you got 4 hours free, it really wasn't that great. Wouldn't stay here again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Late Travelers,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for taking the time to write this.
We sincerely regret to learn about your negative experiences regarding our facilities. This is defenitely not the service you should expect from us, please accept our apologies.
Extra attention will be given to your mentioned points. Besides this we hope the rest of your stay has been enjoyable with us.
Should you consider staying with us again, please contact our hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.