We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here after Baltic cruise. Came in VERY early and VERY tired and travel companion was not feeling well. Staff was awesome, went above and beyond to find us a room for early check-in. Room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Amenities were noteworthy and of excellent quality. Breakfast buffet (I don't really like Buffets) was amazing in its variety, quality and freshness. Staff was attentive, helpful and friendly. Will definitely return here when in Amsterdam again even though it caters to the cruise port, it is well located for business and leisure travelers as well. 5 minute, safe walk to the Central Train Station, variety of restaurants within walking distance although the one in the hotel is suburb. Concierge was knowledgeable and eager to help and worked with us to find alternatives to tours which were overbooked and did not accommodate our schedule and interests. A truly enjoyable vacation experience and well worth a visit. View from seventh floor room was spectacular. Could have stayed in room all day just watching Amsterdam go by.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear haboo1943,
Thank you very much for sharing your kind review with us. We are very happy to have been of such a great and helpful assistance upon your early arrival and for your companion not feeling well. Hopefully he/she did recover completely and your trip back home has been a good one.
Your more than positive remarks are very encouraging as we put a lot of emphasis on our service and quality.
Should you have the chance to stay with us again, please contact the hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    923
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
371
1,175
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for our pre- Viking river cruise Amsterdam extension. The hotel itself is nice enough, and if it were actually within the city center, I would have rated it 4 stars. But, sadly it is either a hotel shuttle ride (if you can actually reserve a spot) or tram ride away from the tourist area of Amsterdam. The only thing really going for it is that it is convenient for the cruise ships to book their pre-cruise customers as they can get away with not really offering people transfers to the ship, except for one 3:00 pm ride with the luggage- and walking is not such a great choice for guests that have mobility issues. So, now that i have gotten all that off my chest, the hotel had many good things going for it. The bar and restaurant are very nice. We had one very enjoyable dinner and two breakfasts in the restaurant. Breakfasts are buffet style and offer all the desired breakfast items. All our meals were excellent. The rooms are good sized, especially by European standards, and well maintained. The staff of the hotel is pleasant and helpful, although can often be overwhelmed when large numbers of guests decend upon them all at once. That said, even with 20 or 30 people trying to register all at once, the process was quick and efficient.

The hotel is basically accross the street from the tram stop that takes you to the city center and we used that a couple of times. This is probably the better choice than opting for the shuttle, as you need to reserve the shuttle both ways if you want to be assured of a shuttle ride back to the hotel. The trams are easy to use along with the hotel provided city map, and reasonably priced. All in all, except for its off-the-beaten-path location, we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Greg B,
Thank you very much for your extensive and informative review regarding your stay.
Our hotel is indeed located just outisde the (busy) city center, but with excellent connections as you well describe to all points of interest. We are happy to learn our large variety of breakfast met up to your expectations, as well as the friendliness of our staff.
Our entire team looks forward to assist you again next time you visit our city.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I would like to say thank you to all the staff of moevenpick hotel.everyone is very nice& friendly.we enjoyed our stay( 2nights).Thank you for giving us a nice view from our room.i recommend this hotel to everyone.a job well done to all & fantastic location..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Judaizkie,
We are truly pleased to read your kind, positive and friendly review regarding your stay with us.
Our staff is more than happy to welcome you again and make your stay a memorable one.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night following an Avalon River cruise. The hotel had a very diverse spread at the breakfast buffet and access to 3 PCs for Internet access. Close to the metro and the Central Train station. Walking distance to Starbucks at the Double Tree. Very quiet and clean.

Room Tip: You are near the old town but plan to do a significant amount of walking to get there. Check-in tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear kv1361,
We are happy to learn you had such a pleasant but short stay in our hotel and hope your boat cruise has been a wonderful experience as well.
Next time Amsterdam is on your travel list, we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of July. We were very impressed. The room was comfortable and very clean. We were on the 11th floor and had a great view over the river. Friendly and helpful staff. Short walk from the station.
We rented bikes from the rental shop in the hotel car park. This was easy and cheap at £9 a day. Bikes were safe parked here overnight and there is direct access to the hotel from the bike hire shop/bike park.
There is a free shuttle bus to the station very half hour.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear NattoAndDao,
Thank you for your kind and positive feedback. Your comments are much valued and have been shared within our teams for encouragement already. Should you consider to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact our hotel directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed for 4nights in an executive room which gave the added benefits of room on 19/20 floor with fantastic views, use of the executive lounge with complimentary access to hot and cold drinks all day and the use of the executive lounge and dining area.. Breakfast was very high quality and had the full range of options from full cooked breakfast to fruit cheese, cold meats , pancakes etc etc, too numerous to mention..
One of the best aspects of the hotel was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, nothing was too much trouble.
Fridge In room was restocked every day, again complimentary and chocolate left on bed each night with fresh bottle of water left at either side of bed.
Didn't use free minibus service to town ,except with case on way home, as tram stop opposite was very convenient and ran every 7minutes.7.50 euros for 24 hours from time you first use card with unlimited access for whole tram network.
Wiil definitely stay at Moevenpick when we visit Amsterdam again

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for executive rooms for all the included extras plus the fantastic views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear JohnBV3433YC,
We are delighted to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and enjoyed all benefits which come included while booking an Executive Suite. Your kind and positive comments regarding our high quality and good variety of breakfast, friendly and professional staff and good overal facilities are much appreciated.
Please feel free to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Front Desk staff always seem to be occupied & unavailable for guests.
Skip the hotel's dining and go for breakfast next to the Doubletree, orange sign café with great organic breakfast options.
Main door broken one night, reception guy tried to fix it before letting guests in... Very professional indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear danpb,
Thank you for your review. We regret to learn our hotel did not meet up to your expectations.
At some moments it can indeed get busy at the several departments, we apologize for any inconveniences.
Besides this we hope you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.