We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Arrived at central station for a three night stay, and followed directions to meet the courtesy mini bus for the trip to the hotel. This was at 10.00 in the morning, so too early to check in we thought, but no, checked in by a very efficient receptionist to save time later when the room would be ready. Bags were taken to a secure room, and a receipt given.
We spent the rest of the day in the city before returning to the hotel in the early evening. We were on floor 15, room 30. A corner room with superb views of the port and the city.
The room was as you would expect, clean, functional, with all amenities, and a larger than average bathroom.
We had pre booked breakfast, which allowed us a discount from the 24.50 each, down to 18.50 each. This sounds a lot until you see the buffet on offer, absolutely superb. This was the same for our evening meals, relatively expensive, but very good quality and well presented.

All staff were, without exception, a credit to the management, and could not do enough for us.

One of the highlights was waking up to find 2 cruise ships outside our window, I suppose this is a benefit of being close to the water.

A minor downside is the distance to walk to the city, about 20 minutes brisk walk.

All in all a very good stay and will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear sufftrog,
Thank you for sharing your positive and extensive feedback with us.
It is good to learn you were able to have an early check in and appreciated our location on the banks of teh river "IJ' giving you beautiful views.. and also viewing the large cruise ships.
Thank you for your kind compliment regarding our more than helpful staff.

Please stay with us again next time your travel plans include Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    894
    201
    63
    34
See reviews for
363
1,128
123
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Moevenpick Hotel...it was one of the best hotel experiences of my life! I don't understand why it is not in the top 10 of Amsterdam hotels. We stayed in an Executive Room situated on the top 2 floors (with great views). The additional cost of an Executive Room was worth every cent - free Wi-Fi, free breakfast buffet, turn down service, free mini bar (replenished daily), and every evening from 5 to 7 there were free hot & cold snacks and drinks in the Executive Lounge. The staff all spoke perfect English and were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and quiet, the shower had good water pressure, and was pleased to see the eco-friendly measures regarding towels. The breakfast buffet was great - cheeses, meats, pastries, fruit, cereals, breads, eggs, omelet station, etc., etc., etc.. Yes, the hotel is a 5 to 10 minute walk to Centraal Station, but I liked the fact the hotel was away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown core. I would not hesitate at all to stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in an Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear TorontoGuy2,
We are truly pleased and proud to learn we have been able to make your stay such a memorable one, and you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Suite. Your positive remarks concerning our friendly and well spoken English language, our quiet location just as you well describe, but still easy to access, great variety of breakfast are very encouraging. Your opinion is highly valued.

We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed with friends at this hotel on a long weekend with"Superbreak" after the overnight crossing from Hull. After being dropped off outside Central Station by the P&O buses there was a longer than anticipated walk with trolley cases to this hotel, which although can be clearly seen in the distance due to it's great height remains annoyingly out of reach due to the confusing configuration of canal channels and railway tracks that have to be negotiated in order to reach it. My advice would be to take a taxi, it'll only take 5 minutes tops but will save a lot of aggravation.
On arrival check in was chaotic due to numerous river cruise passengers joining the ranks. Although they had arrival and departure desks things were not properly organised and in the hot and humid conditions tempers began to fray. Things were not helped by staff ignoring the fact that we were in a party of 4 and insisted on splitting us up, leaving ourselves with no paperwork with which to complete the booking in process other than passports which were requested 3 times.
Condescending check in staff who insist on going through the mantras of hoping that you have an enjoyable stay etc etc with absolutely no sincerity in their appearance and voice only add to an already poor beginning. To cap it all the rooms were not even ready until 3pm which the receptionists take great pride in announcing meaning that another chaotic queue has to be joined to get rid of bags. Passports and other valuables then have to carted round as I had no faith in the staff following such a shambolic booking in process. Surely a checkout time of 10am instead of 12 noon would give cleaning staff ample time to ready a room in order to give guests arriving on short breaks chance to get into their rooms. Failing that why can't rooms be allocated in order to use the safes and get rid of passports etc?
Walking back into Amsterdam was another good 25minutes stroll as the shuttle bus only accommodates 8 people at a time and is booked up really quickly. Having managed to catch it once it only takes you halfway to the station, mainly due to roadworks and you still have to negotiate several busy road, tram tracks and cycle tracks taking your life in your hands as you go!
Once finally having hot into the room we found it spacious, clean and airy.
The bathroom was very good with over the bath shower, towels and complimentary toiletries.
A major let down was the one flimsy pillow, yes I know I could have got more from reception but after the chaotic start who'd want to go there again. Another gripe was the issue of 3 types of tea bag, one English, one Earl Grey and one vanilla together with 3 tiny cartons of milk, what use is that between 2 people. No biscuits and only 1 sachet of coffee. Penny pinching at it's most annoying.
A top tip we thought of due to the distance involved in this out of the way city hotel was to book the shuttle bus the night before,check out early and take our luggage to the Central station where we deposited our small trolley cases in the luggage department for only €7.95. This meant we were close by for the ferry pickup without having to trail all the way back to the hotel, therefore making the most of our short break. Didn't bother with breakfast in the hotel and found a great cafe Het Karbeel for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Tracey C,
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us ergarding your recent stay.
We regret to learn our stay and location did not meet up to your expectations. During high sseason it can indeed get busy at our several departments, our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. When booking your stay on the website of Superbreak you will find useful information regarding our hotel, such as the free shuttle bus we offer upon booking made in advance. Also helpful and detailed information can be found on our own website. This saves you the taxi, or needing to carry your luggage by walking. Our check out is at 12.00 hours and check in at 15.00 hours. Altough we are more than happy to allocate an early check in to our guests, we cannot guarantee this while it depends on our room occupancy and number of guests who are checking out. We note the arrival times of all our guests on their guest profile. Should you wish to have a guaranteed early check in, we recommend you to book an extra night. You may be interested to know, you may leave your passports at our Front Desk where it will be kept in a safe till your room is available.
Tram number 26 can take you easily back to our hotel after a long day of exploring Amsterdam.

It is good to read you found our rooms spacious clean and airy.

Thank you again,
Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Amazing hotel, modern and stylish.
Comfortable room and bathroom, great location, right on the waterfront. The restaurant was very good too. Tram stop just opposite the hotel which takes you to centraal station where you can connect a tram to anywhere else in amsterdam. If you walk it takes about 10 mins to get to Centraal Station but it is a nice walk along the water edge with great views of the boats passing by. Great hotel to come back to and relax.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear wayne p,
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us regarding your stay last year.
This is much appreciated!
Your overal compliments have been shared within the related departments already.

Please stay with us again this year and feel free to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel absolutely fantastic 10 min walk from city center and the rooms was out of this world best hotel we stayed in by far . The staff carnt do enough for you the service was grt and the food and drinks was lovely left a envelop with money in in the safe when checked out but when we returned for suitcase I asked at reception and the maid had handed it in thats what you call trustworthy staff. We will be staying in this hotel next year for certain.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear cazsmith42,
We are truly happy to learn your stay met up to your expectations (and more!) and you recovered your left belongings. We put a lot of emphasis on our service and quality and it is encouraging to see this pays off.
Please contact us directly for your next stay.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Slightly further from the rail station than anticipated; about 15 minutes dragging heavy cases on arrival in showery weather. The arrival checkin was handled very efficiently by a smiling and knowledgeable receptionist. Unfortunately her customer skills were not reflected in the elderly concierge and a couple of other staff who were rather less professional when handling queries.
Breakfast was of a good standard but is rather expensive for a family.
Bike hire is available at the hotel and is recommended if you wish to see as much as possible in a short time.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if you like watching passing shipping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear bluey74,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to learn you in general enjoyed your stay with us, but regret to hear you did not experience our friendly service in each department. Our apologies for this. You may be interested to know there is a tram number 26 which can take you from the Central Station to our hotel. Our shuttle can also pick you up from teh Double Tree Hotel upon advance booking. More useful information can be found on our website.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.