We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Movenpick in Amsterdam prior to taking a river cruise. It is right on the river in the port area where cruise ships also dock. The room was a good size by European standards. Quite basic but with a small couch. The room and bath was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. Perhaps it is standard in Europe, but the queen size bed had 2 individual duvets on top which took a little getting used to. Free WI-FI which was great and an amazing buffet breakfast was included. Great location for walking. We walked everywhere and took the hop on - hop off canal cruise. Great value. Very safe city to walk in. We never worried even at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Travelforever60,
We hope your River Cruise has been a beautiful one and we are truly proud to read your stay left you with such good memories. Our extensive breakfast is a great start for exploring our beautiful city of Amsterdam.

Next time your visit brings you to Amsterdam we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    922
    209
    68
    35
See reviews for
370
1,174
126
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel. Clean, well appointed (modern), fee wireless internet, friendly staff, wonderful dinner at Silks. The beds are not particularly comfortable( on the hard side, ) rooms were smallish but this is Europe so it's expected. There was no clock in the room, so if you don't bring one with you, you will need to depend on your watch or cellphone. It would have been nice to have a pool on site but again not popular here, so not really expected. The only thing I would have changed if I could was the location...it is at least a 20 min walk to the edge of town, or you need to take the transit - there isn't very much in the near vicinity as far as restraurants or shopping without going into town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Cashmra,
Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. It is good to learn you enjoyed the hotel facilities and stay, besides some small inconveniences. With regards to the size of our rooms, you may be interested to know we offer one of the largest hotel rooms in the city of Amsterdam.
We also offer a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes close to teh central station, maybe this is an option should you decide to stay with us again?

Thank you again and kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It is a 5 min walk to amsterdam centraal, the rooms are clean and well kept, it is on the river, pretty quiet when not on of those big ships (Queen Elizabeth) was actually pretty amazing) is mooring just next to the hotel. We had a room just next to the elevator, that was a slight annoyance. The food in the restaurant was ok, nothing overly exciting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Regibie,
Thank you for your positive remarks ergarding your stay this month. We are pleased to learn you had a satisfactory stay with us, but apologize for any inconvenience regarding your room being close at the elevators.
Your kind remarks regarding our quiet location, clean rooms and short walking distance are much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund, Sverige
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A great hotel with a lovely view from the top floor and a great staaf. Choose a executive room, even though it's a bit more expensive. They have a great view on the 20th floor, a ok lounge and you can have a breakfast in a quiet place in the morning. The hotel is not in the city center but we though the location was perfect by the water.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Henke_721,
We are pleased to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Room.
We are indeed located on the banks of the river "IJ", giving beautiful views and ensuring peaceful nights.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed stayed at this hotel before embarking on a Viking River Cruise! The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and all the hotel staff were great. Our room had a lovely view of the waterway. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and more than adequate! There was a huge selection of food, very good and very well presented! The hotel is close to central station, public transportation which was easy to use. Not too much close to the hotel but we used public transportation and also walked to some places!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Hardtofindnow,
We thank you for your time to share your positive review and hope your River Cruise has been a beautiful one.
It is good to read you has such a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our great variety of breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms and splendid views.

We defenitely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very clean hotel with great staff....we have requested and were granted early checking ( 8 am )...room was ready and we were invited to a great breakfast buffet. Our room on 19th floor had a great view of port, central train station and down town. We stayed there 2 nights before our AMA cruise and because it was raining, our concierge arranged tickets to main museums ( Van Gogh and Rijk's ). The hotel is very close to public transport and city is pretty compact to get around

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear RenePavol,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and besides the rainy weather you explored the interesting museums in Amsterdam. Your kind general remarks regarding our good facilities, fantastic views and tasty breakfast and easy to reach location are much appreciated.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at the Movenpick Amsterdam after finishing our Viking River Cruise. perfect location just had a brief walk or you could get a transfer to the hotel if you did not want the walk. Check in was smooth room was great lovely view out over the docking area and central station. Close to public transport, which works really well in Amsterdam. or you can walk to central station. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sheree H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are pleased to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and hope your Viking Cruise has been enjoyable as well.
Our location is indeed perfect for starting or ending your cruise, but also ensures peaceful nights due to our quiet location on a walkable distance to the city center.

Please book our hotel again next time your plans bring you to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.