We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel. Clean, well appointed (modern), fee wireless internet, friendly staff, wonderful dinner at Silks. The beds are not particularly comfortable( on the hard side, ) rooms were smallish but this is Europe so it's expected. There was no clock in the room, so if you don't bring one with you, you will need to depend on your watch or cellphone. It would have been nice to have a pool on site but again not popular here, so not really expected. The only thing I would have changed if I could was the location...it is at least a 20 min walk to the edge of town, or you need to take the transit - there isn't very much in the near vicinity as far as restraurants or shopping without going into town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Cashmra,
Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. It is good to learn you enjoyed the hotel facilities and stay, besides some small inconveniences. With regards to the size of our rooms, you may be interested to know we offer one of the largest hotel rooms in the city of Amsterdam.
We also offer a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes close to teh central station, maybe this is an option should you decide to stay with us again?

Thank you again and kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    1,095
    244
    82
    40
See reviews for
447
1,390
133
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

It is a 5 min walk to amsterdam centraal, the rooms are clean and well kept, it is on the river, pretty quiet when not on of those big ships (Queen Elizabeth) was actually pretty amazing) is mooring just next to the hotel. We had a room just next to the elevator, that was a slight annoyance. The food in the restaurant was ok, nothing overly exciting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Regibie,
Thank you for your positive remarks ergarding your stay this month. We are pleased to learn you had a satisfactory stay with us, but apologize for any inconvenience regarding your room being close at the elevators.
Your kind remarks regarding our quiet location, clean rooms and short walking distance are much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund, Sverige
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A great hotel with a lovely view from the top floor and a great staaf. Choose a executive room, even though it's a bit more expensive. They have a great view on the 20th floor, a ok lounge and you can have a breakfast in a quiet place in the morning. The hotel is not in the city center but we though the location was perfect by the water.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Henke_721,
We are pleased to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Room.
We are indeed located on the banks of the river "IJ", giving beautiful views and ensuring peaceful nights.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed stayed at this hotel before embarking on a Viking River Cruise! The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and all the hotel staff were great. Our room had a lovely view of the waterway. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and more than adequate! There was a huge selection of food, very good and very well presented! The hotel is close to central station, public transportation which was easy to use. Not too much close to the hotel but we used public transportation and also walked to some places!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Hardtofindnow,
We thank you for your time to share your positive review and hope your River Cruise has been a beautiful one.
It is good to read you has such a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our great variety of breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms and splendid views.

We defenitely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very clean hotel with great staff....we have requested and were granted early checking ( 8 am )...room was ready and we were invited to a great breakfast buffet. Our room on 19th floor had a great view of port, central train station and down town. We stayed there 2 nights before our AMA cruise and because it was raining, our concierge arranged tickets to main museums ( Van Gogh and Rijk's ). The hotel is very close to public transport and city is pretty compact to get around

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear RenePavol,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and besides the rainy weather you explored the interesting museums in Amsterdam. Your kind general remarks regarding our good facilities, fantastic views and tasty breakfast and easy to reach location are much appreciated.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at the Movenpick Amsterdam after finishing our Viking River Cruise. perfect location just had a brief walk or you could get a transfer to the hotel if you did not want the walk. Check in was smooth room was great lovely view out over the docking area and central station. Close to public transport, which works really well in Amsterdam. or you can walk to central station. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sheree H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are pleased to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and hope your Viking Cruise has been enjoyable as well.
Our location is indeed perfect for starting or ending your cruise, but also ensures peaceful nights due to our quiet location on a walkable distance to the city center.

Please book our hotel again next time your plans bring you to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The accommodations and the staff were great at this property. We opted for an executive room on a very high floor overlooking the water and it included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous.
There was an incredible array of food, from smoked fish to a wonderful selection of Dutch cheeses, and all sorts of delicious choices and pastries.
The room was very modern, nicely styled and very comfortable, with nice linens and a very nicely planned bathroom..
The public areas were top notch and everyone at the front desk were most helpful.
I thought the rate of under $250 a night, including breakfast was a very good deal for a city like Amsterdam,
I felt we were a bit removed from the center and charm of the city of Amsterdam itself, but at this great price, we opted to take reasonably priced taxis to the historic charming center of the city.
We were there for two nights pre river cruise, and thought this would be a great location since we were next to the port.
However, as it turned out, this could have been a problem. A very large cruise ship had docked behind the hotel, meaning we were going to have to walk a bit to the dock nearby for our smaller river boat. Luckily, we had packed very lightly for this trip with two 20 inch suitcases and two small rolling totes, as we had to walk a few blocks to the boat with all of our luggage As it turned out, we were too close to the dock for any taxis to take us, as we would have done if we were in the city center.. If we had taken our usual large suitcases, we would have had a fairly difficult time getting to our dock loaded down with all of our travel gear.
Overall, however, this hotel was a good value.

Room Tip: Try to get deal for executive room on high floor including breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear robinlynn47,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback with us regarding your stay. We hope your Boat Cruise has been an enjoyable one. Your more than positive remarks concerning our friendly staff, public areas and rooms are much appreciated. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered by carrying your luggage, and due to the fact our hotel not being far way enough for the taxis.

We do hope to have a chance again to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.