We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay except for a few things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #40 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay except for a few things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Movenpick hotel made our stay a comfortable one by having friendly staff (including the intern who brought up our luggage), good breakfast buffet, spacious rooms and a breathtaking view of the port. What concerned us was the fact that there were less staff when we arrived in the afternoon than in the morning. We needed two carts for our things, and my brother had to push the other on our way to the rooms. And I felt bad for the guy at the concierge who had to man the station and surprisingly had to drive us to the Centraal Station using the hotel's free shuttle service. The management really had to add more people cause these guys are overworked; but are very friendly nonetheless.

Room service is quick and cleans our rooms well. Nice facilities and really the view is amazing. They just have to remedy a few things and after all that I dont mind returning here for another stay.

Room Tip: If it isnt too bad for your wallet get a room with a view of the port. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear AwesomeKiwi,
We are delighted to read your stay at our hotel has been such a pleasant one, and you valued the beautiful views from your spacious room as well as the tasty and extensive breakfast buffet.
Thank you for your constructive remarks regarding our staff. It can indeed get very busy during certain moments of the day, this has our highest attention. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered by this.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again one day.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    917
    209
    68
    34
See reviews for
369
1,167
125
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time staying in the movenpick Amsterdam both times we have been over to join in and celebrate Kingsday (the first year it was Queens day) the hotel is very clean and the rooms are very spaceious and modern with a lovely view of the canal, but as for the location of this hotel I would rate this poor. It's a long 15min walk to and from the city centre which is a lot when you have been out sightseeing and shopping all day. There is however one shuttle bus which collects from the train station and takes you to the hotel and vice versa but this has to be booked in advance and there is only one 8seater shuttle bus for the whole 20floor hotel bearing in mind it's a 4* hotel. We have tryed to book this shuttle bus many times and been unable to get a seat. One time in which we had to walk from the station after being told that the shuttle bus was full which actually turned out that it wasn't and it drove passed us (we were walking) with only two passengers in it. If you are wanting a quiet holiday away from the city centre to eat and sleep or don't mind a long walk to and fro this Hotel will suit you other wise I would recomend a hotel situated closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear WJAF,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We hope you enjoyed the celebration of Kingsday this year and thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time.
However, we are sorry to hear our location does not meet up to your expectations, and apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered with our shuttle service. Eventhough our bus is fully booked and reserved, sometimes people do not show up. Unfortunately we are not always informed on time.
We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at the Moevenpick for five nights, in an executive room. This gave us a larger room, free mini bar, access to the executive bar and breakfast included.
The hotel was a ten to fifteen minute walk to Centraal Station, meaning that you got a good nights sleep, whilst being close to all that the city has to offer.
Breakfast was plentiful and the hours catered for early birds and late risers.

The outstanding this about this hotel are the staff. We found every one of them friendly and committed to making sure we got the best from our stay at the hotel and from the city itself.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are on high floors, so you get great views, as well as a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear DianaL068,
We are very happy to read your 6 day/ 5 nights stay at our hotel has been such a pleasant one, and you appreciated all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Suite.
Your compliments regarding our always friendly and committed staff have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

Please feel free to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a really enjoyable stay in this hotel and would certainly consider staying again on our next visit.
We used the concierge to book a couple of trips and that was dealt with very quickly and efficiently. We were told that the coach would pick us at the hotel and although we were there ten minutes early we mistakenly waited outside the main entrance. The coach actually left from the rear of the hotel. Fortunately the shuttle was about to leave and we caught up with the coach in the city. Next time we will wait in the lobby!
That was the only occasion we used the shuttle. By the time you have waited for the usual latecomers it's probably quicker to walk into town. The shuttle drops you off at the rear of central station anyway and you then have to fight your way through all the crowds to get to the front entrance. It took us 10 minutes to walk from the hotel, don't bother climbing the steps up to the road. Keep to the lower level and go to the right as you leave the hotel. Then just go under the road and railway bridges. It's a pleasant walk and very quiet. Beyond that point though be careful of the cyclists, there are thousands and it seems they have right of way.
If you intend visiting Anne Franks house it would be worth pre booking if they offer that option. We went at 9am and the queue was already so long it was pointless waiting. Fortunately we had been on a previous visit so we went exploring other parts of what is a truly fantastic city.
Service in the hotel was generally very good, especially the bar. It's one of the best hotel bars I have been in regarding speed of service.
Lounge and breakfast were also very good and you were always greeted with a smile no matter how busy they were.
The only negative thing I have to say was that on one occasion my wife went to clarify something about a canal trip with the concierge and he was abrupt to the point of rudeness. I can only imagine he was having a bad day. We had never dealt with him before and all the others were very friendly as you would expect them to be. It would not put us off returning though and I think that gives an indication of how good everything else was.
Taxi back to the airport was €65. Security in the airport is just before the departure gate so no worries about taking drinks in with you past passport control. Amsterdam airport is much more efficient than either Gatwick or Heathrow. There are hardly any queues. I wish the people running it would take over ours.......

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
DearChrisSG,
Thank you so much for sahring your positive and extensive review regarding your stay in our hotel.
This is a great help for our future travelers and also for us, as we care a lot about your opinion.
We apologize to hear one of our staff members did not provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us. Please be assured this has our highest attention.
Otherwise thank you for your overall kind remarks.

Please stay with us again next time you visit our country.

Kind regards,
The General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Picked this hotel only because it is ON the dock where River ships and Ocean Cruises leave from.
Its only a few hundred yards to the ships. Right in front of convenient tram stop also. Easy walking distance to Amsterdam Central train station for going to/from airport and off to other cities by train.
Nice modern hotel with friendly staff. Clean, modern rooms with great views of the city and harbor.
The prices can be high depending on dates however.
Many passengers book as part of a River cruise package, so the place is jammed with Americans going on River cruies.

One negative is there are not really any restaurants, bars, shops near to the hotel. You must walk at least 500 yards to go into the city to find these. Short walk, but not right outside the hotel as you might expect in a city center.
I would recommend this hotel for ship travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Bruce4fun,
We hope your cruise has been a pleasant one, and thank you for staying with us.
Your review is much appreciated. Our hotel is indeed a great start or end for your cruise, but also attractive if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful place to stay, after exploring the city of Amsterdam. Our hotel offers a free shuttle to the Central Station (advance booking needed), there is also a tramstop (26) just opposite our hotel.

Thank you again.
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I visit Amsterdam very often and have stayed in the city centre hotels, but they all suffer from being small rooms with limited facilities. The Moevenpick is a five min walk from central station and has good river views, more space than city centre hotels, but as a new hotel has no character that the older, smaller, city hotels have.

Room Tip: From the airport take the fast train to Amsterdam central then the hotel is a short walk, exit from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Roy I,
We are happy to have provided you such a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our spacious rooms and beautiful views.
We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel and its facilities were great. Price was expensive but all hotels in amsterdam were expensive as well. The only drawback is the hotel's location although the hotel offers free shuttle bus to the center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Michalis P,
We are pleased to read your stay has been an enjoyable one. Good offers many times can be found on our own website, or through Travel Agencies.

Thank you again, we look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.